We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The BlueBell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The BlueBell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Love love love this place. We have family in Neath so we travel to Wales quite often. We always stay at the Bluebell and it never fails to impress, rooms are well equipped, beautifully decorated and the bar/restaurant serves great food at a reasonable price. Can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    88
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
53
140
8
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Mid week stay in this modern hotel. Set in the centre of town (Neath), we found the rooms clean, comfortable & very well decorated with good quality fixtures & fittings, usual facilities tea/coffee/ironing board etc. (Although the Wi-Fi reception was pretty poor).
The menu in the restaurant was very good indeed, covering all tastes & budgets.
All the staff were superb, a very happy well mannered friendly professional team.
The only problem at the hotel is the parking. There is space for a couple of cars in the underground car park & space for about four in the adjoining car parking area. Once these are full it's a case of finding a space around the town which is not great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank giantgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stylish boutique hotel in centre of town, couple of mins walk from station. Large well decorated rooms, great Spanish/Med restaurant and friendly staff. I was on business and everything you'd want, though saw little of the town seemed to be a decent range of shops and ruins of a castle

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself is to a good standard and very modern. A few things let it down. Parking is terrible though staff were helpful. There are only a limited amount of spaces so good luck getting one. On street parking is after 18:00 and you need to leave before 8:00. Noise outside was bad, even on a quiet night, boy racers revving car, bin lorry, etc. Noise from room above shocking, could hear them walking around at all hours. Shower held up with a sticking plaster! Breakfast was good, as was attached restaurant. I would recommend if you were visiting Neath itself and didn't need to park.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Atomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Bluebell in Neath after a day of canyoning in the Brecon Beacons: Smart, clean room; great cooked breakfast; tasty meal in La Mancha restaurant; really friendly staff, and comfy bed and lovely bath (much needed)!

Room Tip: Hotel parking was a bit limited, so might be worth calling hotel to see if you can pre-reserve a spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were visiting family in the Neath area and needed somewhere central. This hotel is just down from the railway station and we thought that could be a problem but the bed was so comfy that after the train around 11 pm we never heard a thing. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the room was clean and modern with good quality fittings. The breakfast was served in the restaurant and was lovely, as were the surroundings. Would definitely stay here again. Just one drawback is the very small car parks (one at the side and one underneath) but there is on street parking which we had to use but we had no trouble.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back. We had room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked with The Bluebell Hotel in Neath as it was the only hotel within the Swansea / Mumbles area which would accommodate the large group we were travelling with, 12 people. The hotel photos are a good representation of the hotel, the rooms were very nice and the beds comfortable. All of the staff were exceptional (including those working on reception, in the bar and the restaurant), very accommodating, friendly, helpful and very attentive. Upon arrival, very late Friday night, we were a little shocked by the area in which the hotel is based. Neath late on a Friday night is not to everybody's tastes. It was very busy with a lot of drunken antics, however once inside the comfort of the hotel the noise was blocked out and we had the option of staying in our own bar rather than venturing out into the Friday night chaos. One of the great benefits of this hotel is the 24hour bar for use by patrons of the Hotel. We all enjoyed the food and drinks which were available, all of which were served with great customer service. If you are planning on staying at the weekend we would definitely recommend getting there early as there is very limited car parking outside and very limited underground parking in the hotels basement. Parking is allocated on a first come first served basis and parking outside on the roadside with all the drunken chaos was less than desirable. The staff were very accommodating and moved cars around so we could fit ours in and also allowed us to reserve spaces for the next day. Although Neath was a shock to the system arriving when we did, in the morning it was a very different place, tidy and quiet. Also the Saturday night was equally quiet and we were informed by the locals that it tends only to be the Friday nights which are a little hectic. The Hotel is a great base to explore the surrounding areas but there isn’t a great deal in Neath itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Neath
253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.8 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
987 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
609 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BlueBell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BlueBell Hotel

Property: The BlueBell Hotel
Address: 14 The Parade, Neath SA11 1RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The BlueBell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquaint yourself with the Bluebell, Neath's only four-star boutique hotel, located in the heart of the town centre, within walking distance of the town’s key amenities and attractions. Our hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the stunning Neath Valleys, with its many scenic walks, and celebrated waterfalls. The hotel offers guests excellent hotel accommodation, superb dining facilities and secured on-site parking. The Bluebell Hotel is the perfect choice for those looking for something a little bit special in which to celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The BlueBell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebell Hotel Neath
The BlueBell Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing