We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Wonderful "”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of RIVER VIEW

PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Safe River View Area
Left for Restaurant, Right for Communal room
large garden with decking area and BBQ area
Thai restaurant onsite!
Can be catered or self catered or a bit of both!
Large communal TV lounge
Commercial grade kitchen
2 singles or 1 superking...up to you!
single superkings and bunks!
modern comfortable bedrooms
Thai or English menu
River walks...at the foot of the garden!
canal walks...right outside!
A Cartref Holidays PERFECT VIEW property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Neath, Neath Port Talbot, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful "”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just had the most wonderful weekend at Riverview , We hired the whole accommodation for a party of 14. The service and hospitality supplied by Bob and his team was second to none.
I can not thank Bob enough for making this such a perfect weekend.

I would recommend this Hotel and restaurant to anyone who asked !

Looking forward to our next visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thanks so much. Our job is a pleasure when we can see everyone having a great time. Well organised weekend which we were happy to help coordinate and we look forward to seeing you all another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hosting and staff in a large, well kept and equipped, clean venue”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On 13/05/17, a group of 13 of us stayed at River View for one night, as part of a stag incorporating a day mountain biking in Afan Valley.

Off the bat, Bob and his team were incredibly helpful and accommodating with our plans. He was very flexible with our arrival time, dietary needs and (frustratingly!) fluctuating group size.

River View itself is excellently located for South Wales especially Brecon and nearby places. Bob and his team provided excellent food that went down superbly amongst our group with absolutely no complaints from any of us for either dinner or breakfast.

Facilities wise, the communal spaces are brilliant with ample space both in and out door for our group and more than enough essentials provided for our use such as glasses, mugs, plates, fridges, tea and coffee etc. The bed rooms upstairs are well sized and clean, each bed with power sockets and fresh linen and towels provided. There are, I believe, seven shower room and toilets all of which again are clean and well looked after.

None of our group had any complaints after our stay at River View, and I would be more than happy to strongly recommend it to other people - or to have stayed for more nights!

Bob is an excellent host who genuinely seems to aim to please his guests, and I wish him all the best for the future.

Thanks for your help with running the weekend, Bob!

P Clayton

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Reviews are so important to us and we do try hard to make your time, however short, enjoyable. Thanks for pointing out all the important points as this helps other group organisers trust us with their plans. It was a pleasure to host you guys and we hope you get a chance to visit another time. Maybe one of our fun themed winter weekend deals which combine indoor activities and great nights out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverleye...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simon's Perfect 50th Birthday”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the very first contact Robert was incredibly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and regular contact was made before the event.
We took over the whole venue and the Restaurant was solely for our usage during the evening.
During the afternoon we had free reign to prepare for the party, decorations and table settings welcomed.
The bedrooms were clean and comfortable......many laughs being created as bunk bed options were available!
Ample bathrooms and showers.
Clean towels and bedding.
The chef was incredible assisting people who had not eaten Thai before to make their choices.
The communal area allowed for people to socialise and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast was food a plenty!

A fantastic venue for a group gathering. Very laid back allowing flexibility for 'your own' party ideas.

Thank you Robert and staff. You made Simon's 50th Birthday a wonderful celebration and allowed us to make fabulous memories.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
You are all very welcome and thank you for bringing out all the aspects that we work hard to provide. Pleasure to welcome you and glad Simon's birthday celebration went so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thanks guys. It was a pleasure. Dont forget our fabulous value winter breaks with indoor activities included.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt D
1 review
“First rate group accommodation with a host who could not have been more helpful!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I had the daunting but honourable task of arranging a weekend away for a stag do with up to 25 guests. It had to be close to a good night out and have a good selection of activities. Having filtered the country by the group size, River View stuck out due to its location being both 20 mins from Swansea for a night out and 20 minutes away from the Afan Valley bike trails which we thought would be (and which was) a great activity!

As soon as I first spoke to Bob, the host, I knew that this was going to be a great place to stay, but I hadn't realised how incredibly helpful he would be in making my task easier. Firstly, they have a fantastic Thai restaurant which they happily closed to the public for us to eat at. They also provided food for the other night of our stay and were happy to stagger it as we arrived. Bob and his staff took care of pre-booking taxis, providing packed lunches for us and pretty much covering my back for anything I might have forgotten. I could not have hoped to find a more helpful and useful guy to help me run the weekend. He was extremely good with payment too, understanding how difficult it can be to secure money from each member of the group and giving me as much time as possible to settle up before the weekend began.

In the end we had about 20 guests, all of whom had a fantastic time and would have been as happy to write a similarly glowing review as I am. The garden was large enough for an enjoyable game of cricket and has a fixed BBQ and a decked seating area. The rooms are furnished to a reasonable standard, perfectly adequate for what we needed that reflected the price quite nicely. Everything was nice and clean and the kitchen and lounge area that is available to use by guests is comfortable and well equipped.

The house is located right by the river so some of us enjoyed some refreshing morning walks, it is incredibly picturesque and isolated enough to be loud late into the evening without disturbing the neighbours.

All in all, I would highly recommend River View to anyone with similar requirements to mine. I'd also recommend it for group weekends for churches, scouts or other community groups etc.

Thanks again Bob for a brilliant weekend!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
It was a great pleasure to take away any of the worries associated with organising for a large group and the guys were a pleasure to host. Thanks for such a full appraisal of the service we offer and the area in which we are located, especially the point of how diverse the area is and how easy it is to combine fun, activities and a good night out. Hope to meet you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahlfbu...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend away at a Brilliant Venue”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I booked Riverview House for my Husbands 30th Birthday as we had previously had a fantastic weekend away at Valley View (same owners) a couple of years before.
We were a large group of nearly 30 people and wanted somewhere where we could celebrate and relax without feeling conscious of noise and we weren't disappointed!!
From the first call made to Bob to leaving on the Sunday, I cannot stress enough how amazing and flexible the staff were. We had exclusive use of the house and restaurant for the weekend and were pretty much left to our own devises, with the exception of the Saturday night where they catered for all of us in the amazing Thai restaurant (more of that later)
The House - The communal areas were great and were the perfect size for our group. We were lucky enough to have use of the main kitchen for the Friday night, but the smaller kitchen in the communal area would have been sufficient if this wasn't available. Unfortunately the weather did not allow us to use the main garden at the back of the property however an all weather garden had just been finished with access from the Communal room, which was great for the smokers in our group (and would lend itself perfectly to be a small putting green) The Bedrooms were practical, clean and spacious and most importantly the beds were very comfortable and the showers were hot.
The Restaurant - We had exclusive use of the restaurant on the Saturday night and Bob and the team came in to cook and serve a fantastic Thai meal. Our group was 28 in total and included 2 people that required a gluten free menu (which was no bother at all) The food was amazing and came out quickly and piping hot. Our friends still rave about it.
I cannot recommend Riverview house and The Railway Thai table enough for Large groups. We are already looking at dates to return next year,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
What a fantastic review! Thank you. It was a pleasure to see you all enjoying a good old family get together and our job was made easy by the relaxed atmosphere you created. Terrible weather and my only regret...next time, great fun in the garden I hope! We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julip85
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We went here for a hen party and it was an excellent location, rooms were very clean and spacious. The best part was the owner, he was so friendly and accommodating, he did everything to make sure our stay went well and we had a good time, he helped organise taxis to Swansea and even went above and beyond and took us to tesco when we were in a situation. The food at the attached Thai restraunt is also amazing and very handy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your valued review. It was no trouble to help when needed...all part of the service!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing