We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baglan
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, tired rooms”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for one night at Premier Inn Port Talbot. Very friendly lady on reception, but was expecting more from rooms. Although adequate and cheap, was expecting more from a premier inn, although i understand that it will be refurbished in August. Don't think Lenny Henry will want to stay here until it is!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeeh217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your feedback. We appreciate all your comments and use them to strive for the great experience we want to create for you.

I am very sorry that the way the hotel is now did not live up to your Premier Inn expectations. You are quite right though we will be receiving a refurb, which we are all very excited about.
It would be very nice if Lenny would come to try it out. Although we would prefer and very much like you to visit us again when we are all shiny and new so we can help mend the experience you had with us the first time round.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    102
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
107
73
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed here quite a few times. Always comfortable, and great value for money.Staff really friendly and always happy to help or answer any questions. Restarant/bar really nice ,food excellent. Close to motorway too, which makes visiting other towns and attractions easy... especially the Welsh national museum near Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you ever so much on such a positive review.

Everyone here at Premier Inn, in Port Talbot is very glad that you have such a great time when you stay with us.

It is refreshing to hear that you get to travel around when you stay with us and that you take full advantage of the many great attractions there are in and around the area.

We look forward to seeing you again and hearing about your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's a must to eat in the beefeater situated on the same site. The breakfast is hot and tasty and even better unlimited!
We found the staff to be very friendly and very helpful. Nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review of your stay.

Your equally positive comments regarding the restaurant will be passed on to the correct members of staff, I know they will be just as happy and as appreciative as we are.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

When arriving after a long drive no one was at the reception.We had to wait 10 minutes before someone arrived after ringing the bell a couple of times.The receptionist was friendly enough so no problems there.This hotel/room is dated and needs an update to the 'normal' expectations for a Premier Inn.I always stay at Premier Inns as i love the beds and always have a good night sleep.For the first time i did not, the room was stuffy and the bed was the older version not with the topper. It was a hot night and i had to have the fan on as there as no air conditioning.I would not like to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank meanwhatisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am disapointed to hear that we did not meet expectations. The team here strive to give you a great experience and on this occasion we let you down, for this I am sorry.

On a positive note, it gives me great pleasure to tell you that in August the hotel shall be having a full refurb, bringing the rooms right up to date with the rest of Premier Inn, the rooms will include brand new flat screen TV's, new carpets, bathroom suites and most imporantly the brand new pocket sprung mattresses. It's something the whole team here at Port Talbot are looking forward to and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards


David Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

An older premier inn so not as sparkly as some of the new ones, but as always friendly staff, clean and tidy with good sized rooms and everything you need for a nights stay. Only downsides were the lack of air conditioning at this particular hotel, and across the chain as a whole is the offering of only 30 mins free wifi during your stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

You will be glad to know that some sparkly will be added to the hotel this coming August when the hotel will have a full refurb!

Premier Inn are currently trialing free wi fi in some hotels and it's hopefully something that will be rolled across the estate, keep an eye out!!

Kind Regards


David Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

What did I expect for £39? I've tried characterful hotels with no parking and characterful noise ALL NIGHT, and the Premier Inn is much better. Straightforward, comfortable, clean, no airs and graces, Beefeater opposite with adequate food for a good price. Very convenient, and 5* value for money

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you took advantage of the low price rates that we can offer, and we are equally happy that you had such a nice time.

Premier Inn strive to ensure all stays are as good as this.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the not too distant future.

x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had stopped over in Newport on the way to visit my brother and his famiy, the Premier Inn was our first choice because you know you are going to get the same high standards wherever you stay.

The most comfortable bed I ever slept in....................................the reception staff were great and very friendly. Room was spotless and very quiet.

The hotel is sitauted in a very quiet area with just a Beefeater pub and a McDonald's for company. Don't worry about the parking signs, reception will give you a free ticket for your car. thoroughly recommended !!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words! At Port Talbot we strive to be the best and provide the best service. Your feedback was hugely appreciated by the whole team!!

We look forward to seeing you soon!!

Best Wishes


David Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baglan
1.5 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
1.6 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
3.3 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Address: Baglan Road, Baglan, Port Talbot SA12 8HY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot > Baglan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Port Talbot town centre and train station are only 1.5 miles away. Local attractions include Aberavon beach, Swansea Bay and Gower Peninsula. Our Port Talbot Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, en suite bathrooms and incredibly comfy beds in every room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel Neath Port Talbot/Baglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing