We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got married here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beggars Reach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
pembrokeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Got married here”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After months of looking for the perfect wedding venue we finally found the beggars reach..living in hayscastle/haverfordwest all my life I'd never heard of the place.(which was weird). As soon as we saw the place we fell in love!! The grounds were stunning rooms were just right , the size of the place was fab too.. On the 29-03-14 we got married here, from start to the end of day Gillian, William and all there staff made our stay the warmest and most welcome ever
.we felt right at home all weekend..William couldn't do enough for me on the day ( I was extremely nervous u see!! Lol) they were absolutely fab.food was stunning and plenty of it. All the staff were very helpful , rooms were lovely our suite was a lovely size! The grounds are absolutely stunning!! Will defiantly be recomending beggars..what a lovely place and also a lovely couple!! Thank you all and well done x

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kelzPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We enjoyed looking after you both and your families and it is always such a privilege for us to be a part of such a happy occasion. It was great getting to know you both in the months and weeks before the wedding and we hope that now you have discovered us , you will be back to see us again soon !! Thank you again K and our best regards to your new husband R - may you have a long and happy life together from all of us at Beggars Reach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    69
    34
    25
    22
See reviews for
88
71
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have decided to keep the narrative review purely factual as to allow others to make their own mind up. I will only score the rating.
I had read the reviews before booking and the ratings for service and in particular food were very good so I booked.
We had a meal on Easter Sunday in the restaurant, I had a mixed grill that had raw pork chop and liver so mentioned this to the waitress. She asked if I would like anything else, so I left what I could nt eat having swallowed some raw meat by mistake and said that we would like some desserts. A supervisor then came over to our table and said that she had been informed that there was a problem with the food, so I pointed out the raw meat to her, the plate was then taken away. We then got desserts to which we happily eat thinking that they were a replacement for the meal I couldn't eat.On settling the bill when departing the hotel I noticed that we had been charged for the meal that I could not eat and also the desserts and there was no refund or discount applied. The hotel did not offer a refund when I had pointed out the raw meat, but I was lead to believe that we were getting free desserts as a replacement as she had asked if I wanted something else. In summary the hotel charged for food I could not eat and not offered a refund, replacement or discount.

Room Tip: Premier rooms in the block we stayed in have either a view to a brick wall on the ground floor or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sorebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Manager at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and first of all we are very sorry that this incident occurred.
We can assure you that incidents of this nature happen very rarely if at all and we have made a thorough investigation with the staff concerned as to why are monitoring procedure that we have in place had broken down on this occassion.
We further apologise that the gesture the supervisor made was some how not communicated to all the staff that night and that the charge was made to your account in error.
We have since spoken personally to the guest to reiterate our apology
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed overnight at this hotel, there was a wedding on that night, we hardly slept due to the noise, there was nowhere for us to sit quietly for a meal so ordered room service. The food was Luke warm bland and overpriced. we tried 5 times to contact reception but no answer!
There was no heating on in the room and it was very cold. In the morning there was no hot water to have a shower. Breakfast is between 8 and 9am (on a Sunday..ridiculously short time) we missed it due to lack of sleep the night before!
I emailed the manager but he really was not interested as he had taken
Our money he really appeared not to care... Awful service dreadful food, cold room, cold shower.. Do not waste your money!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Manager at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay and we are naturally disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel. In this particular instance, the person making your booking did call the hotel on two occasions and at both times was told about the wedding and the noise disturbance that would be experienced. A special rate was offered in view of this and an extended cancellation policy was also offered in the case of a change of heart. When learning from the person making the booking as to the reason for your visit it was advised that the following weekend might be a better alternative.
We always advise bookings made directly with the hotel of any event taking place so that informed choices can be made prior to booking.
In most cases, we are able to offer accommodation in an anexe so that even if we have an event taking place, any noise is kept to a minimum. We are always able to offer dining in an alternative restaurant as we have several dining areas. This was the case at the time of your visit.
We always strive to ensure that a guests experience of the hotel is enjoyable as possible and we are very sorry that on this occasion your expectations where not met. We have reiterated this in our personal response to the guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to find a family room at this lovely hotel when planning a very last minute trip to Pembrokeshire to visit Oakwood and the Blue Lagoon.
The hotel is an old farmhouse converted into a very comfortable and homely hotel. Our room was very large and our family of 4 had plenty of room, all of us in full size beds. Well equipped bathroom, very clean all through and even an iron and ironing board. The room was in the main house but we had no problems with any noise. In fact we could hear nothing as the rural location is so peaceful you can rely on getting a good nights sleep. The hotel is a very popular wedding venue so it may be different when there is a wedding. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the staff really friendly. You can be in Pembroke in about 15 mins and on a really good beach in not much more. Dont hesitate to book if you are coming to the area. We would also have to say the value for money is most excellent and cheaper than the nearest Travelodge with far greater luxury.Thankyou for a lovely break!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pierremad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Went here for my friends wedding this month.. Lovely looking hotel in a gorgeous location. We stayed from Friday to Sunday... Was extremely impressed with the dinner included with the room price on the Friday - good variety and cheap drinks!!! On the first night we felt a little let down as we had forgot our toothpaste (i imagine this happens a lot) an there wasn't a travel kit in the hotel room or any at reception and secondly our room was right above the conservatory and another unexpected wedding was taking place meaning we couldn't sleep till 1am - we did complain but was told that our wedding guests had all the rooms so we couldn't be moved which was annoying. But by morning this was all forgotten when we had the amazing breakfast (which we had everyday & had a good choice of food). will and Jill made an effort to go out and fetch us some toothpaste! Very accommodating. After the wedding service we had drinks dinner & dance at the hotel. The staff at the hotel were beyond attentive - will made sure our glasses were never empty and Nathan made sure our stomachs were full before dinner serving some amazing nibbles! Dinner was delicious - hog roast and BBQ food!! Cooked to perfection! Coming home felt like leaving a week away! & the best part was when the bill came though judging on how drunk we was I was a bit scared to see the outcome... But I was delightfully surprised!! An absolute bargain of a weekend couldn't have asked for more!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Beggars Reach has expanded steadily over recent years under the present owners, and now, by local standards, is spacious, and aspires to high standards. Should be just the spot to spoil a mother on Mothers Day, but our recent experience was disappointing ..Lunch was good Sunday lunch, no more, and excellent value . But numbers now in the recently extended Restaurant were simply too much for the mainly fresh-faced local staff, resulting in well below par service.Had to ask three times for glasses for the water, rolls but no butter, drink service very slow - and no gift, however small, for the mothers .No sense of special occasion at all, if anything we were just another table for an already overextended staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If I was asked about somewhere lovely to stay or just have a perfect Sunday lunch, this is the first place I would think of, We have NEVER been disappointed with the excellent service and excellent food in the wonderful restaurant. The owners, Will and Gill are fantastic hosts. We married here in October 2010 and it was such an amazing day, I didn't want it to end. It went perfectly. 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton
1.3 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
286 reviews
5.8 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
473 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
7.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
13.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggars Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggars Reach Hotel

Property: Beggars Reach Hotel
Address: Burton, Milford Haven SA73 1PD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven > Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beggars Reach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Village Rectory and now a beautiful hotel with 30 en suite double bedded rooms all with FREE WiFi. The hotel is a little Welsh secret waiting to be discovered ! The hotel is set in a tranquil and pretty spot near Milford Haven,Haverfordwest and Pembroke. It has 9 acres of attractive landscaped gardens and is surrounded by the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside. There is a bar, lounge and restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with locally sourced produce.The hotel has a very pretty Orangery and Terrace overlooking the hotel gardens and can also cater for conferencs and banqueting with space for up to 180+ for a large event or 300 informaly. There is free wifi and parking on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beggars Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggars Reach Burton
Beggars Reach Hotel Burton, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing