We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential - most of it wasted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beggars Reach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“So much potential - most of it wasted.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On first glance when I booked the one night stay here, I was so excited to stay somewhere with charm and character. Unfortunately, after a 5 hour drive we weren't given the warmest of welcomes, just handed a key and roughly pointed in the right direction. We were in the furthest block away from the main hotel - which looks fairly new. There was none of the character we were hoping for in the room at all - in fact it could have been a bog standard cheap hotel room anywhere in the country. The weather was lovely while we were there, but the rooms were baking hot, with no fans or air conditioning - we had to leave the window wide open but be disturbed by guests from the 50th leaving late at night.

During the day we had a couple of drinks from the bar, again there is no character here either as it looks like a bar from a 70s social club that has never been updated. Very few local drinks to be seen, just stocked full of WKDs, and other cheap yet overpriced products. The only thing I can say that was beautiful was the gardens! They have obviously spent a lot of money outside, but have wasted the potential of the actual property.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner and were looking forward to the fact, as stated on the website, that "the menu is written on a daily basis making use of the finest local ingredients available at the time to give a variety of dishes to our customers." Well it was a glorious sunny weekend, it was so frustrating to see the menu was crammed full of curry, pies, and roasts. No fresh fish, no light summery dishes - all really hot hearty dishes you would expect in the middle of winter. This was a massive disappointment, as it was one of the main reasons I had booked this hotel. While the food and beverage staff were on the whole friendly, they were a little unprofessional in terms of appearance and general service. I know everyone has to start somewhere, and I don't want to knock the young ones, but it just added to the already dismal stay we were having. Even the more 'experienced' sounding staff were unprofessional and not particularly welcoming - possibly in need of some refresher training?

The morning we were leaving, we packed up and headed for the included breakfast. Our food order was taken and then we were served toast - which had gone stone cold before the food had arrived, and there was no butter on the table anyway. Our drinks order was never taken we had to ask, then to find there was no milk on the table either. Basically - it had not been re-set properly after the last people had left. The best word to describe breakfast was 'scatty' with nothing coming in the right order, and the breakfast itself being below average with bland sausages (where is this local produce they advertise using?) and very undercooked eggs. Again a little bit of training can go a long way.

The final experience of this hotel, which is probably the main reason for the lengthy review, was the checkout. I have travelled round the UK and the world, and have never come across someone so arrogant and rude. I was thrown off by the percentage fee to pay on credit card, as I had not seen this when booking through booking.com and have not experienced for a number of years at any other establishments. He merely pointed to a notice on the wall. I explained I hadn't booked directly through the hotel, and was basically told I should have checked their own website. He also had the decency to tell me they have to make up as much money as possible because of the fees booking.com charge - this is not the customer's fault and I was shocked he actually said this.

After the poor experience we had already, this really was the tip of the iceberg and I would definitely not return. I am concerned that the owners boast 32 years experience in the industry - yet their hotel is one of the worst and overpriced I have ever stayed in. The potential of this place is amazing - and aside from all the other problems they need to fix - the worst part of it all is the amazing character and opportunity they are wasting....

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms in the main building are OK, but the block we stayed in was terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay in June and we are naturally disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on many points and are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience.We note all the comments made but the one that has prompted your review is that regarding payment methods.
We do display our preferred methods of payment online on our website, at reception and on our check in document signed by each guest on arrival. On this occasion , we could have more sympathetically dealt with this aspect of your stay and are sorry for any distress caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    72
    35
    26
    23
See reviews for
92
75
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is large and comfortable. Our room on the 1st floor had a spacious sitting area and a good sized separate bedroom. Room prices and B & B deals are very good. I suggest you 'phone to get a deal, I did and ended up with better than Late Rooms etc could offer. The food is certainly not 'gastro' level but is of a good quality and the portions are quite adequate. It is basic food well prepared and cooked. The bar provides a good range of beers and lagers and the wine list is pretty good as well. Cost? The food and drinks are biased on the expensive side. The venue itself is geared for weddings and I think that reflects in the bar prices, The grounds are amazing as a wedding venue, I was heavily involved in the wedding photography/videos/planning game some years back and this place is a gift as a wedding venue. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. I think we'll be back.

Room Tip: Phone them up and talk to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Three generations of our family had a lovely time at this hotel following a wedding. The service was smooth and efficient with nothing too much trouble for the owner and staff. I can not praise the hotel enough, the total stay was most relaxing with good food served on hot plates, comfy beds and wonderful grounds to walk in. The only complaint was that we could not stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that all 3 generations of your family enjoyed Beggars Reach for the wedding you attended. We are glad you enjoyed the Gardens - it has taken a number of years to develop and as time goes by and it matures, we get lots of very positive feedback. We have a wonderful dedicated team who strive to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we hope that you will be able to visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night with two children of 1 and 4 yrs. lovely big room with comfy beds, big bathroom and tea making facilities. Breakfast was lovely and staff were attentive. We were with a wedding party, and had a great time, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettifer_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review us on Trip Advisor - it is always so rewarding to have positive feedback and we know that "all the team" will appreciate your kind comments. Hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival all the staff were friendly and nothing was to much bother. The room was clean and comfortable the breakfast was excellent we will certainly be going back again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments - its very rewarding for us and all our staff to know that you have had an enjoyable stay at Beggars Reach and we hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the day before via laterooms.com and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and friendly with a great breakfast! When we drove past other (more expensive) hotels that had been listed on laterooms we realised what a bargain we had found! Great place! Diweddglo i wyliau arbennig! Diolch!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnderekrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning a break in Pembrokeshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After months of looking for the perfect wedding venue we finally found the beggars reach..living in hayscastle/haverfordwest all my life I'd never heard of the place.(which was weird). As soon as we saw the place we fell in love!! The grounds were stunning rooms were just right , the size of the place was fab too.. On the 29-03-14 we got married here, from start to the end of day Gillian, William and all there staff made our stay the warmest and most welcome ever
.we felt right at home all weekend..William couldn't do enough for me on the day ( I was extremely nervous u see!! Lol) they were absolutely fab.food was stunning and plenty of it. All the staff were very helpful , rooms were lovely our suite was a lovely size! The grounds are absolutely stunning!! Will defiantly be recomending beggars..what a lovely place and also a lovely couple!! Thank you all and well done x

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kelzPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We enjoyed looking after you both and your families and it is always such a privilege for us to be a part of such a happy occasion. It was great getting to know you both in the months and weeks before the wedding and we hope that now you have discovered us , you will be back to see us again soon !! Thank you again K and our best regards to your new husband R - may you have a long and happy life together from all of us at Beggars Reach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton
1.3 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
295 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
492 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
240 reviews
8.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggars Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggars Reach Hotel

Property: Beggars Reach Hotel
Address: Burton, Milford Haven SA73 1PD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven > Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beggars Reach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Village Rectory and now a beautiful hotel with 30 en suite double bedded rooms all with FREE WiFi. The hotel is a little Welsh secret waiting to be discovered ! The hotel is set in a tranquil and pretty spot near Milford Haven,Haverfordwest and Pembroke. It has 9 acres of attractive landscaped gardens and is surrounded by the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside. There is a bar, lounge and restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with locally sourced produce.The hotel has a very pretty Orangery and Terrace overlooking the hotel gardens and can also cater for conferencs and banqueting with space for up to 180+ for a large event or 300 informaly. There is free wifi and parking on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Beggars Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggars Reach Burton
Beggars Reach Hotel Burton, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing