We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beggars Reach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My son got married at Beggars Reach last weekend and what a wonderful occasion it was........ Will and Gill and all staff were excellent. The food was amazing, arriving hot and well presented and such huge portions, as was the evening hog roast and buffet. The service was fabulous and they were attentive at all times. We really appeciated their friendly but professional manner.
The grounds were beautifully kept and its in such a lovely peaceful location.
Our room was large, clean and very quiet. However some guests did complain about how hot their rooms were.
Breakfast was a little of a let down - only lasting from 8.00 -9.00a.m., quite an early finish after a late night wedding celebration! The quality of the food at breakfast did not match up to the wonderful fare of the previous day.
However, we would certainly return and could recommend this venue wholeheartedly for a fabulous wedding reception.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janlloyd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We attended for a wedding.The food for the wedding breakfast was very nice with huge portions.
The room we stayed in was nice but so hot we were unable to sleep.The breakfast however was terrible.there wasn't enough room for everyone as they only offer a small window for breakfast-8AM-9AM.Ridiculous after a large wedding.The quality of the food was poor-.the toast we were given consisted of crusts!Bacon greasy and over cooked and eggs undercooked.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sunshine48657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is set in a fabulous surrounding and definitely worth a visit. We were surprised that there wasn't a wedding on being a Saturday but glad as this was a last minute booking.

The food was lovely and cannot be faulted. There was a good choice of food on the menu, although the steak was quite pricey. The portion sizes were generous and I found myself feeling very full by the end of the meal. The food also came out quickly which I was grateful for as I was mega hungry!

My only negative from this hotel was that when the four of us sat for our meal we were clearly on the tables they use for weddings and found ourselves sat very far apart. The room was also quite quiet and we felt under pressure to talk quietly; some background music would have been welcomed.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel in July 2014 for a family wedding, my granddaughter stayed with us she is only 4, we were charged £15 extra for a little pull down bed, the night before we arrived I seen on line it was only £10 for children up 14, now I can't see a 4yr old eating the same breakfast as a 14 yr old!! I did complain when we arrived, and when I paid the bill, we were told £15 pound it is, they just haven't changed it online, so £15 extra we paid as we were at a wedding, breakfast was mixed buffet style cereals which was fine with hot breakfast served by waiter which was also ok, the best part of the hotel was the garden's great for the kids running around, and beautifully kept, the room we were in was a bit tired, beding was also a bit tired, there is also plenty of parking around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and cousin and two husbands booked to stay at the Beggars Reach because we were attending a Wedding breakfast which was taking place at the Hotel. We were impressed with the location and the grounds and the interior of the Hotel. Parking was easy and access to the hotel was great. The rooms were excellent, lovey and clean with enough facilities for any guest.
The food was really nice and plenty for the largest appetites. We had a lovely couple of days reminiscing my wife's Youth, she spent most of her early life close to this area. We would consider staying again if we are again back in Pembrokeshire a lovely hotel very central for visiting the many attractions of Pembrokeshire

Room Tip: Noisy if attending a wedding, but you can forgive anything for the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked this hotel as a last minute 3 day break with my parents and was not disappointed. I emailed the night before to book a table for my birthday meal on the Wednesday evening and was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel had upgraded both our rooms when we arrived. The rooms were really spacious and comfortable.

Throughout our stay we were well looked after by all the staff and the food was excellent and very well priced.

The bar was well stocked also I couldn't finish off our second bottle of wine, the staff were quite happy to place the bar in fridge until the next evening.
The choice for breakfast was excellent from cereals, yoghurts to the full Welsh Breakfast.

We were very lucky with the weather so each evening we sat outside in the immaculate gardens.

During the break they were preparing for a large wedding that weekend but we were not inconvenienced at all during stay there.

The hotel ideally situated to visits attractions in South West Wales, I would defiantly recommend this hotel and will certainly be back for another relaxing break.

Amply space in the Car Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HMG753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is set up for weddings with a massive car park and huge empty grass space in front of the hotel where I assume they erect marquees when needed.

The room we had in the annexe was rather small and the one window only opened a few inches.
As it was one of the hottest nights of the year this made for a very uncomfortable night and it would have been good idea if a fan had been provided.

Breakfast was very basic and the quality of the produce was very poor - what I would call 'pigs eyebrow sausages' for example and a totally uninspiring buffet table.

The most ridiculous thing of the whole stay was that when we went to the bar in the afternoon having checked in they were not serving any draft lagers as they were cleaning the lines. Why would you not clean the lines in the morning or last thing at night when you aren't likely to be turning away customers. As it was we walked down to The Jolly Sailors and spent our money there instead.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGS_11, Owner at Beggars Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review on Tripadvisor and we are disappointed naturally that you did not enjoy your stay.

We have taken on board the comments you have made. We do indeed have many weddings at the hotel but the gardens are designed not only for this but for all guests to enjoy whether you are visiting as individuals on a break or a corporate client. The car park as you say is "massive" and large enough to accommodate 80 vehicles so we are fortunate to have 9 acres of attractive lawned and shrubbed areas without having to create more car parking space

The weather has been very hot recently and you mention the windows only opening slightly. They are in fact hinged so that they may be opened slightly or fully opened like a door. We do wish you had mentioned this to us so that we could have demonstrated this.

It is necessary to clean the beer lines every week in order to serve products at their best. There is never a good time to do this but we most often do it on a quiet week afternoon. The process takes about 1 1/2 hours and is done usually between 2pm and 4pm when we do not anticipate demand. During this time, we can of course serve a range of chilled bottled beers and lagers from the fridge as well as a full range of other drinks not affected by the line cleaning process.
We did call you to advise that the process only had 15 minutes remaining before we could serve you any of the draught beers and we would have been happy to serve this to you in your room if you had not wished to come over to the bar.

We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay on this occasion and we have taken on board your comments and will review any shortcomings highlighted so that we can improve our service. Thank you again for letting your thoughts be known as they are important to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton
1.3 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
306 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
13.1 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
455 reviews
18.7 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggars Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggars Reach Hotel

Address: Burton, Milford Haven SA73 1PD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven > Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beggars Reach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Village Rectory and now a beautiful hotel with 30 en suite double bedded rooms all with FREE WiFi. The hotel is a little Welsh secret waiting to be discovered ! The hotel is set in a tranquil and pretty spot near Milford Haven,Haverfordwest and Pembroke. It has 9 acres of attractive landscaped gardens and is surrounded by the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside. There is a bar, lounge and restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with locally sourced produce.The hotel has a very pretty Orangery and Terrace overlooking the hotel gardens and can also cater for conferencs and banqueting with space for up to 180+ for a large event or 300 informaly. There is free wifi and parking on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Beggars Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggars Reach Burton
Beggars Reach Hotel Burton, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing