We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shh.. Keep Cardigan Bay a secret to be shared only with your best friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at Cardigan Bay for a week just before Oct half term. We had booked Cardigan (basic) caravan and as weather had turned colder, was worried that we were in for a miserable time. When we arrived (5pm) we had a warm welcome and was delighted that they had upgraded us to Poppit. The shop was also welcome as we were able to get a few bits and pieces (wine!). The caravan was lovely, clean,spacious with plenty of storage space. They even provided us with a blower heater for the bedroom and there was a gas fire in the front room. The shower cubicle was spotless (no sign of any mould) and spacious enough to accommodate both of us and there was lots of hot water. There was a separate toilet. As there was only two of us, we did not need to use the 2nd bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped with a full size cooker, grill, microwave, fridge freezer,toaster, kettle. The welcome pack tea & coffee was appreciated. Although the weather rained during the nights during the day it kept reasonably dry and we were able to go down to the beach (10 minutes walk) or go for walks or to explore the area. We did walk into St Dogmaels one evening (50 minutes) and had a meal in Ferry Inn(nice) but we were happy to relax in our caravan after using the wonderful swimming pool and hot tub in the tropical pool complex. The hot tubs were the best I've used and it was nice in the swimming pool too. Unfortunately the complex closed at 6pm due to Health & Safety. There was no overpowering smell of chlorine in the waters. We had some really nice meals (lobster and crab) prepared by Mandy in St Dogmaels in our caravan and we were not bothered as to whether there were evening entertainment or a bar/restaurant facilities. The caravan site did not feel cramped or concreted and very clean and green with plenty of trees. Staff are friendly. There's only about 100 caravans and they were spread out so that you are not on top of another. This was the first caravan holiday that we've really enjoyed and would love to return again. We have no hesitation in recommending this park to those who appreciate peace and quiet and its uniqueness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The cottage was spotless and the hot tub was really nice to relax in with a glass of wine. The swimming pool and changing facilities were spotless as well. We went to relax and that was what we were able to do. Kitchen was great and had a full size fridge/freezer (plenty of room for the beer/wine). Beech is only a short walk away. Mobile phone coverage is poor in the area, wife was able to get a signal on EE. You can get free Wi-Fi in reception. Tesco is only about a 5 min drive if you need to stock up on food & drink. The staff are very friendly and had plenty of advice on where to go and eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just back from a fabulous week away at cardigan bay holiday park. The park is fairly small, perfect for a quiet, relaxing family holiday with our small children. Lots of lovely walks in the area, which we enjoyed whatever the weather! Coastal footpath starts at poppit sands, which is only a very short and beautiful walk from the campsite. Perfect beach, lovely for dogs and children alike! Swimming pool was just amazing, clean and actually warm! Hot tubs were wonderful! Staff were helpful and friendly. St.dogmaels is a lovely little village, although we found the main road a little too busy to walk, but there are some lovely alternative routes, using our os map! Farmer's market day is Tuesday and well worth a visit for some tasty local treats! The abbey ruins were free to look round and the children loved it. Nice little cafe and museum there too. Main recommendation for any future visits is orange pay as you go SIM card! There was no signal for O2 whatsoever. Wifi is available, ask at reception. Really lovely, campsite and area, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic trip to "Poppit Sands'. We chose this holiday park as it had pet and family friendly caravans, and had an indoor pool should the weather be typically British, as it was! The kids loved the pool and spent many hours in the pool and hot tub. The nearby beach was fab and in easy walking distance.
There was lot to go and see nearby, we had a fab host trip whilst we were there too.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and everything was clean and tidy, idyllic.
We are already planning our return trip and it really didn't matter that it was wet and windy, there was still lots to do.

Room Tip: We are contemplating staying in one of the cottages next time as they have there own hot tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kagzebartez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Excellent park, with very clean caravan. The swimming pool was fantastic as were the hot tubs which could also be used in the same complex. Just a short 10 minute walk to Poppit Sands which was a lovely beach with great views. Short drive to Cardigan which has a Tesco and Aldi which was great for buying stuff to cook in the caravan rather than eating out. Overall we would return to this park again, especially out of season as it is so peaceful and relaxing. We paid to stay another night we liked it that much.

Room Tip: Free WiFi in the Reception/Bar/Shop complex. Expensive WiFi use can be paid for via Paypal for use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed in the Smugglers Cottage, just my husband and I trying to recupurate after spinal surgery. House was fab even with limited mobility - wheelchair fitted around all rooms downstairs. Hot tub did us the world of good and we were delighted with the gazebo that the staff put up to stop us getting wet if it rained! Really was a fantastic holiday - great park, great pool, location, facilities and especially the people who were so friendly and helpful. If you need some peaceful relaxation surrounded by the beautiful sounds of nature this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lion4255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is an exceptional holiday destination for a quiet dog loving, peaceful location that has brilliant helpful staff and all the facilities for a pleasant holiday. There are wonderful eateries in the local area and beautiful beaches for yourselves and your pets. Please be responsible and clean up after your adorable cherubs! Geoff and Maureen.

Room Tip: Tha caravan sight is out of range of all mobile providers with the exception of "Orange".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
10.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Teifi Netpool Inn
Teifi Netpool Inn
#5 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardigan Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardigan Bay Holiday Park

Address: Poppit Sands, St. Dogmaels SA43 3LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in St. Dogmaels
Price Range: £73 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cardigan Bay Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park is set in a peaceful and secluded south facing valley which is situated just 300 yards from the golden sands of Poppit Beach near to the town of Cardigan. The park is graded 5 star by Visit Wales and is the perfect base to Relax and Explore the surrounding area. It has recently been awarded the UK Seaside and Blue Flag Award and is one of the leading caravan parks in south walesPoppit Sands is a charming a place as the name suggests, the extensive natural sand dunes and boating jetties perfectly frame this pristine sandy beach. The views of:Cardigan BayTeifi estuaryThese are simply stunning and will literally take your breath away. Poppit is an ideal location to enjoy a full range of water activities or spend days on the beach with the family. The demanding waves make good sailing and surfing and the beach is safe for swimming with lifeguards present during the summer months. The northern end of the Pembrokeshire Coastal path begins here where an array of picture perfect views, panoramas and a rich variety of landscape and wildlife can be enjoyed. The unspoilt coastline is a haven for seals, porpoises and even bottle-nosed dolphins. Our park has been designed to offer you and your family a safe and fun experience. Our unique tropical heated pool complex " The Cove" has a retractable roof which allows you to enjoy the facility whatever the weather, making Cardigan Bay the ideal location for a short break, holiday or even a second home of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cardigan Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park Hotel St. Dogmaels
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park St. Dogmaels, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing