We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B on the river”
Review of Argo Villa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argo Villa B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 St. Dogmaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Renews, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice B&B on the river”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice old house with lots of character. We had very instructive conversations with our hostess about the area and all its walks and attractions. Nice large twin room with a wood floor and a beautiful view on the estuary and a spacious bathroom with all the amenities. Lovely pub just across.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilleret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
48
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The ideal place to rest after hiking the Coast Path.A wonderful welcome & spacious room with all the comforts.Nicely situated just across the road from the Pub ( no driving) with great food.
Breakfast included some of Gills specials & home made goodies, a great start to the journey home.
I must go back>

Room Tip: Large room upstairs overlooking the bay was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A great B&B in exactly the right place (just as you finish the Pembrokeshire Coast Path). The hosts were very helpful and we loved the menu and the food! The menu provided some lovely choices for vegetarians and special diets. And the home made bread was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bctraveller701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at Argo Villa on a trip to see the dolphins in Cardigan Bay. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were lovely including homemade bread and fruit from the garden. Gill and Tosh are very welcoming and even helped us to find an alternative dolphin watching trip when ours was cancelled due to bad weather. I would definitely recommend it, especially to walkers and people who love the outdoors, and we are planning to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at Argo Villa for one night at the end of our Pembrokeshire Coastal walk. We received a warm greeting from Gill when we arrived, quite weary from our day of hiking. She brought in fresh milk for tea and gave us time to rest and settle in. The en-suite room was very comfortable and the house has an old-fashioned charm with a lot of information about the Pembrokeshire Coast and surrounding area. The hosts are involved in conservation initiatives in the area and we enjoyed hearing about this from Gill. Breakfast is served in a bright and spacious dining room and lots of options are available including some unique vegetarian items. We would highly recommend this quaint B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a lovely 2-night stay at Argo Villa while hiking the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and our bathroom was luxurious. Jill and Tosh were genuinely caring and friendly hosts. Jill makes the best homemade breads, and our take away lunches of cheese and homemade chutney sandwiches were delicious. Argo Villa's location is ideal for those who are visiting with or without a car, and may be hiking the nearby coast path. We would love to return for another visit, and give highest recommendation for others to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed for 3 lovely comfortable nights in July 2013, Gill and Tosh could not have done more to make us happy! Well appointed in every way and yet retaining a comfortable lived in feel about the place. Breakfasts were excellent. Beds comfortable, shower room well appointed, views lovely, our host so thoughtful and helpful. We woke each morning to the call of curlew and screams of swifts. Pub nearby convenient too.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good view, comfy chairs and no distracting TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downdilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
2.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
801 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#2 of 14 in Cardigan
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in St. Dogmaels
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argo Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Villa B&B

Property: Argo Villa B&B
Address: Argo Villa Poppit Road | Pembrokeshire, St. Dogmaels SA43 3LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Dogmaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the village of St Dogmaels, Argo Villa B&B is comfortable, spacious and overlooks the river Teifi estuary. Situated just 100m. From the start/end of the Pembrokeshire Coast Path we are on the Wales Coast Path and 1 mile from the start of the Ceredigion Coast Path. We are on the local and the walkers coast bus routes and suited for exploring the stunning and varied Pembrokeshire landscapes. All four village pubs serve food and the Abbey visitor centre serves food during the day. We have a guest laundry /drying facility and a cycle store. Vegetarian, Vegan, Dairy-free, Gluten-free friendly. There is a 15% discount for guests staying longer than 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Argo Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argo Villa B&B St. Dogmaels, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing