We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Dogmaels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have just had our first week long holiday at Croft Farm staying in the Stable cottage and it wont be our last! We had our 10 month old daughter with us and it was great having travel cot and high chair provided at no extra cost. It was lovely to be able to stay in such great accommodation and be able to bring our dog too. The cottage itself had more than enough room for us all, was clean and well equipped with all that you may need. Our daughter was slightly too young to take full advantage of all the activities and facilities on offer, but we know that she will be able to enjoy them all next year. We were really lucky weather wise when we went so made use of the swings and trampoline most days and while we didn't make it out to feed the animals in the morning, we would go visit them later in the day. The soft play area and swimming pool were great for the overcast days, all were very clean and well maintained. Every time that we went we had the whole place to ourselves. We ordered fresh bread, pizza dough and pain au chocolat from Patrick and it was all delicious, would highly recommend placing an order during your stay. We ventured out every day for walk with our dog and didn't have to travel far to access great walks, most of them weren't suitable pram for however. The staff were all really friendly and knowledgeable about the local area so if you have any questions just ask. We've had such a lovely time and can't wait to book another trip. Would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: We chose Stable cottage as it allowed dogs and bedrooms were of a good size. The outside seating ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kf1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftFarmCelticCotts, Owner at Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your holiday here with us earlier in the Spring. It was good to read that you had such a good holiday with your daughter. Like you we feel sure that she will be able to appreciate the facilities more next year when she is more mobile, you may have trouble keeping up with her energy levels then! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have just got back from week staying in 'The Stable', our first stay at Croft Farm. What a wonderful place run by a wonderful family. The whole place is set up to make children feel relaxed and happy and our 22 month old son had a wonderful time - regular trips to the play barn and soft play area and hugely excited for animal feeding and egg collecting each morning! Cannot rate this place highly enough, we will definately be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Talar Aur for Christmas as a family of 8, 3 of which were our children all under 5. The house is lovely and there was plenty if space for all if us. The living accommodation was spacious and the kitchen was so well equipped that we managed to cook our entire Christmas dinner without a hitch. The on site activities really made our Christmas. We specifically chose to be away at this time to avoid the hell if bored kids during the bad weather and the swimming pool was a huge hit. A great space, clean, modern and we had it to ourselves most of the time. The kids loved feeding the animals and the playbarn was fab for burning up some energy while we cooked dinner. Towels and linens were lovely, the cleaning standards were great and the beds were comfy. There is an outdoor play area which would be great in summer, as well as BBQ areas and lots of grounds to mooch around. Andy is really friendly and helpful and we wish him and his family well for the New Year. I think we will pay a visit in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holnic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the cottage Talar Aur, a delightful cottage that had all we could ask for. The reception was welcoming and even when the pool on-site lost it's heat they were right on it sorting the problem out swiftly and letting us know what was happening. The wood burner was a treat on the rainy windy nights making the cottage cosy. On site there was plenty to keep us entertained having a go at a game of pool or ping pong or air hockey or the fore-mentioned swimming pool which was ideal. We took to taking in the sites with some long walks around the coast and tried out some dining in the nearby town of Cardingan, the Indian on a boat 'Shampan' was a delight. If your looking for some relaxation with options then your sure to find something for you. The site has an array of animals that will interest the younger ones, we got quite used to the local cats popping over for a daily hello to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We found The Barn a wonderful cottage we stayed for a fortnight and loved the peace and quiet. The wood burning stove was great and lovely and warm and my husband really enjoyed lighting the fire every day. It was great to find somewhere that accepts dogs, and she really enjoyed herself. Cardigan was handy for shopping and we didn't go anywhere else because we wanted to just chill. Enjoyed the swimming pool. I would like to thank Mal and co for the wonderful free range eggs. I found that there was no mop and bucket in the cottage to mop the kitchen floor because my dog is a very messy drinker and within about half an hour of asking about it one turned up at front door. We will certainly be booking The Barn for the same time next year

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Cartwheel cottage with my 9 year old son and his two friends.
My son was having swimming lessons with Ian Cross of Swimming without Stress, who uses the Croft farm's indoor swimming pool to teach, so that was the reason of our stay there.
Incidentally Ian was fantastic!
My son went there fearful and a non-swimmer but, after 3 days, left as a swimmer and able to enjoy the water. It was money well spent.
The cottage and farm itself were great. We found the Cartwheel a pleasure to stay in for the 3 days. It was warm and cosy and very clean. The kitchen had everything you would need for a short stay, you just need to bring your groceries. I managed to make a cooked breakfast for 4 every day with ease. The living room had a digital tv and DVD player and there was free wifi throughout the cottage for any devices you may have. Beds were a little hard for my liking but then my mattress at home costs a months salary. Having said that, it was fine for 3 days. The kids loved the bunk beds!
The farm itself has a little petting zoo with a variety of animals. There is also a trampoline and some playground apparatus. Next to the pool room there is a chill out lounge with a pool table and some games. The boys had a look around the petting zoo, and played in the chill out lounge a few times, but they were mainly larking about in the heated pool.
We had our lunch and dinner outside for the 4 days that we were there. If the weather was better, I'm sure it would be nice to have a barbecue at the actual cottages as there are lovely little gardens with seating and barbecue equipment. The nearest town is Cardigan, we ate there every night. To be honest there isn't too much choice of establishments as it's a very small town. Also the quality of establishments wasn't great, but again, I was with three 9 year olds who weren't that fussed about the food so it was ok. We had a Chinese (ok), Indian (good) and Fish'n'Chips (ok) for dinner. Lunchtimes we ventured out to Carmarthen where they got their McDonalds and KFC fix (it was a holiday after all). I wouldn't venture out at night beyond the local town though, it's like driving in complete darkness on some trail road through the woods. Lots of tiny crazily winding roads that also have lots of steep gradients and lots of opportunities to scratch and dent your car on the variety of foliage and fauna that is a centimetre away from the sides if your car. When we first arrived at the farm it was during the night. It took me 1 hour to drive the last 20 miles on the dirt tracks, I didn't fancy doing that every night.

I can only judge a place by the consensus of opinion and that opinion is "Great!" The kids really enjoyed it. They loved the road trip from London to Cardigan, they loved the cosy cottage, the heated pool, the petting zoo, the spooky pitch black countryside at night, they loved their little holiday at Croft Farm.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place for a family holiday. Ben (our 2yr old) loved feeding the animals and collecting the eggs every morning. He also thought the swimming pool was great. The Diary was a lovely apartment, very comfy and spacious for the three of us. We very much look forward to returning in the near future!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
0.0 mi away
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in St. Dogmaels
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Celtic Haven Cottages
Celtic Haven Cottages
#1 of 2 in Lydstep
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Teifi Netpool Inn
Teifi Netpool Inn
#5 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argo Villa B&B
Argo Villa B&B
#3 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages

Property: Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages
Address: Croft Farm Croft | St Dogmaels, St. Dogmaels SA43 3NT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in St. Dogmaels
Hotel Class:5 star — Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These luxury child friendly holiday cottages rest in fabulous countryside sandwiched between two Blue Flag beaches of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, minutes from Cardigan and Cardigan Bay. Beautifully refurbished indoor heated pool with sauna, spa pool and gym; the 8 acres of space, friendly farm animals, adventure play ground, toddler swings, football and superb indoor family play barn. There are barbecues, glorious gardens and a sun terrace by the pool. Relaxing massages are available in your cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Croft Farm And Celtic Cottages
Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages Hotel Pembrokeshire
Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages St. Dogmaels, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing