We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most enjoyable holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Dogmaels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were a group of 12, including a 5 and a 2 year old staying for 1week at Croft House. The house and accommodation were beyond expectation. We were greeted by spotless rooms and bathrooms, fresh flowers, a bottle of Mead, Welsh cakes, milk and tea on our arrival. We anticipated the animals, but, what animals! The hens, chickens and ducks, the pigs, small and large, never ending eating carrot donkeys and horse; fluffy, friendly rabbits and guinea pigs could be taken out of their cages to be stroked. This area and other areas had hand washing facilities after you had played with the animals. The lucky goats even had their own trampoline! Just lovely. The swimming pool, sauna, gym, table tennis and children's indoor playhouse, trucks, toys were amazing. There were lots of outdoor tables and chairs, a barbeque and a gate to close making the area secure for very small children. One would never need to leave this house - it was so terrific!

What was a really lovely touch was that the children could collect the eggs and EAT THEM without charge!! The kitchen was supplied for us cook for 12, a huge fridge freezer to accommodate gallons of chilled white wine. The house and gardens were safe as cars parked in another area thereby making it very safe for children of all ages.

There was sadness on our departure. The staff and owners are just lovely and our thanks goes to them all for a wonderful holiday but more so for the love, care and thoughtfulness they have put into Croft House and the farm development.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Happylady999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in The Farmhouse for 8 days and what a fabulous holiday we have had!!
To start - the farmhouse is wonderful - tucked away with its own garden and bbq area. Everything you could want is provided - from a drying rack for that wet swimming stuff to washing up liquid and stair gates. I think the farmhouse has recently been renovated and everything is really lovely, from the leather 3 piece suite to the flooring and shower! The welcome tray with mead and welsh cakes plus pint of milk in the fridge was a nice surprise after a long drive.

There are so many on site facilities it is hard to know what to rave about first. My 9 year old animal mad daughter absolutely loved the animals and the extra large trampoline. From the 4 mini pigs (adorable) to the fluffiest guinea pig we've ever seen that we named Mr Fluff we fell in love totally! The animals are all really friendly and happy to see you, especially if you arrive bearing cabbage shaped gifts!

My 11 year old son was really happy with the table tennis and pool tables and the large football goals and both children and me spent many happy hours in the heated pool every day. There is enough to keep children of all ages busy and happy and entertained for hours.

The whole site is extremely tranquil and beautifully maintained and all of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and you really can't ask for more. I just wish I had discovered this place years ago but we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All properties are unique and suit different sized groups. The Farmhouse is tucked away at the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftFarmCelticCotts, Owner at Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
What a lovely review about your holiday here in The Farmhouse and all the things to do at Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages. Thank you! We are really touched by the title you chose for it too!
Its great that both your 9 year old and 11 year old had fun and want to return as much as you do! We have put in lots for all ages from soft play to table tennis. We have raised our own family here and have learnt a lot from them and what they like over the years . We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Talar Aur, a lovely 4 bedroomed house. The 2 single rooms are excellent for kids as they get a good nights sleep without disturbing each other. We had the twin room made up as a double and the bed was HUGE.

Even though the owner is going through a difficult time at the moment, this had no impact on our stay whatsoever. The place is kept beautifully clean, tidy and the facilities are all in working order and great for the kids. The animals are well kept and I am totally in love with the baby goats Billy & Dave and their 4 piglet friends. We fed the animals on our own for the last couple of days which was great fun.

I highly recommend ordering a meal from Patrick - we had lasagne, garlic bread, salad and a lemon drizzle cake and it was lovely... And took away all the hassle of shopping for ingredients and cooking ourselves.

We will be visiting again, can't wait!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagpuss_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftFarmCelticCotts, Owner at Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for this lovely feedback, and with photos, about your stay with us here in Talar Aur at Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages. It sounds like it was the perfect choice of accommodation for your family.
You sensitively touch on our recent bereavement in your review. We're really glad to read that your holiday wasn't overshadowed in anyway - our priority is your holidays. We have wonderful staff who
help us to achieve this too.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great week at Croft Farm with our 2 year old. We stayed in the Stable which was lovely and had all the amenities we needed, including a travel cot and highchair. The activities on the farm are fab and include feeding the animals, holding the guinea pigs, indoor playbarn with ride ons, play houses and slides, outdoor playground with trampoline and an indoor swimming pool. So much to do - we loved it. It's also a great location for exploring great beaches like Poppit Sands and day trips to Folly Farm. Friendly owners who always made sure we had everything we needed. We'll definitely be coming back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftFarmCelticCotts, Owner at Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for writing about the lovely time you had as a family on holiday here in The Stable Cottage at Croft Farm with your daughter. And also for taking the time to upload some lovely photos. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited Croft Farm in May 2014 for the second time. We had previously visited in May 2013 and loved it so much we had to come back.
The first time we visited as a couple with a 1 year old and rented The Stable which was a perfect size for us.
The second time we brought grandparents (x4!) and hired Croft House.
We love Croft Farm for the following reasons:
- The people - everyone who works there (including Andrew and Sylvie the owners) are so friendly and happy to help
- The accommodation - Croft Farm especially feels like a home from home. Accommodation is clean, welcoming, well laid out, well equipped.....
- The facilites - My 2 year old loves going to feed the animals every morning and visiting them through the day. The indoor play area was a welcome retreat in the rainy Welsh weather. The swimming pool is lovely and we tried to get in there every day if we could! We didn't take advantage of the outdoor play area but I'm sure as my son gets older we will.
- The local catering - We can definitely recommend Patrick's cooking (local business who deliver freshly cooked meals, bread, puddings, cakes.....) Yumm yumm yumm.
- The massages - We booked Claire (recommended by Croft House) who came to the cottage and gave wonderful massages.

Really looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our fourth visit and the second time we have stayed in the cartwheel. Our three year old thoroughly enjoyed herself and was very sad to leave. We will definitely continue to visit here and we are sure our four month old son will love it when he is bigger. The cartwheel is an excellent choice for families as it has it's own little garden to burn off those last bits of energy at the end of the day. Everyone makes you feel really welcome and the whole atmosphere of the place is very relaxed.

Room Tip: All three of the cottages we have tried (the barn, the granary and the cartwheel) have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftFarmCelticCotts, Owner at Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your fourth visit here - this time in The Cartwheel Cottage. Its lovely to read how much your daughter enjoyed playing on the lawn, which the cottage opens onto. We agree that your little boy will also enjoy holidays with us as he grows. we look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in the lovely Farm House for a week as the result of booking a Swimming without Stress course. Both were fabulous.

The cottage was a real home from home, very clean, comfortable and welcoming, with all the facilities you need (including a lovely "home-cooked-meals-delivered-to-your-door" service!)

The kids loved feeding the animals, collecting eggs and playing in the play barn, the adventure playground and the swimming pool.

The owners are very welcoming and always happy to help with any queries. The farm is ideally located to access a beautiful part the country and wonderful beaches. Definitely worth a visit. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLKevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
0.0 mi away
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in St. Dogmaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Celtic Haven Cottages
Celtic Haven Cottages
#1 of 2 in Lydstep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#4 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Teifi Netpool Inn
Teifi Netpool Inn
#5 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argo Villa B&B
Argo Villa B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages

Property: Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages
Address: Croft Farm Croft | St Dogmaels, St. Dogmaels SA43 3NT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in St. Dogmaels
Hotel Class:5 star — Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These luxury child friendly holiday cottages rest in fabulous countryside sandwiched between two Blue Flag beaches of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, minutes from Cardigan and Cardigan Bay. Beautifully refurbished indoor heated pool with sauna, spa pool and gym; the 8 acres of space, friendly farm animals, adventure play ground, toddler swings, football and superb indoor family play barn. There are barbecues, glorious gardens and a sun terrace by the pool. Relaxing massages are available in your cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages Hotel Pembrokeshire
Croft Farm And Celtic Cottages
Croft Farm & Celtic Cottages St. Dogmaels, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing