We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 St. Dogmaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a four night stay at the Webley. The room looked recently renovated and was everything we needed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom light and clean. We had such good food on the first night that we ate there every night from then on. Breakfast was as much as we wanted, full Welsh, pastries, croissants, cereals etc. The owners couldn't have been friendlier and the staff were all lovely, very friendly and welcoming. It was early season and I expect it gets a lot busier but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the location is stunning and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: An added bonus would be to have views over the sea/estuary.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for just the one night over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend. The weather was poor but it didn't dampen our spirits as we enjoyed our stay at the Webley.

The outside of the hotel isn't the best 1st impression and it made me apprehensive upon arrival. It could so with a new coat of paint and a more up to date and classy sign to save it from looking like something run down from the 70's. That said, the welcome upon arrival from the owner turned things around quickly. We were shown to our room, which had a great view of the estuary and it was fitted out well and looked clean and recently renovated.

We had a choice of eating in the bar or restaurant and although the restaurant had lovely views and looked appealing, we opted for the busier bar for atmosphere. The menu was the same and we enjoyed some fresh cod Goujons as a starter and Scottish mussels. We complemented this with a chilled bottle of prosecco and a bin end Sauvignon Blanc which represented excellent value for money.

We had a good nights sleep as the area and hotel was quiet. The mornings breakfast was very good with a large selection of cereals, local yogurts, continental items and extensive cooked to order Welsh breakfast.

The hosts were very attentive and pleasant and made our stay throughout very enjoyable. I would certainly recommend for a short stay in Poppit as the location is ideal and the hotel will add to your enjoyment of the area.

Room Tip: The front is recommended as it has the views and although next to the road, it is a reasonably quiet...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel. The outside of the hotel doesn't look very promising, but at the inside we got a splendid bedroom with a huge and super-equipped bathroom with sea view.
At the very beginning of the season the restaurant was not fully operational yet, but no panic, the pub offers correct bar meals in a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front offer a great view over the bay Room 6 has an excellent (and huge) bathroom
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRCPAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived at the Webley Waterfront Hotel on Saturday 19th April and stayed for 3 nights. The double room has been recently refurbished and was very clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant every night, the menu providing enough choice for the three nights that we stayed and the quality of the food was excellent. The lamb and steak we enjoyed is bought from a local butcher and was farmed locally-delicious. The proprietor is the first to admit that the outside of the building is looking a little tired but is in the process of dealing with this. Apart from the excellent food, what sells this hotel is the location overlooking the River Teifi. Stunning views and well worth a visit. We will be returning :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We would rate this hotel as a 2 star, basic rooms, wallpaper coming away from the walls, plugs not all working and having to boil the kettle on the floor. A cold bedroom with an okay bathroom, again basic. Food quality average, at 4 star price. Owner trying hard but needs to look at the lack of a quality provision.

Room Tip: We had a good trip and met up with our friends who live in the area, but this hotel is not the best...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coronation11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night on New Years Eve receiving a very warm welcome from Simon.
The Hotel is in a beautiful setting right on the estuary and Poppit Sands.
Our breakfast on new years day was the highlight of our brief stay.
Freshly cooked full Welsh breakfast with a choice of cereals, pastries and even fresh fruits were on offer. We have stayed in lots of hotels over the years and this was the best breakfast we have experienced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rusticfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had to go to Cardigan with my daughter and we decided to stay in the Webley Hotel which is right on the waterfront on Cardigan Bay. We were immediately welcomed by Simon who was friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home straight away. We stayed in separate rooms, both of which were spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

We had drinks in the bar before dinner and spoke with a few of the locals who were also very warm and friendly. We decided we would eat in the bar instead of the restaurant and ordered our food. The presentation of the food was of a very high standard and my daughter ordered the scallops and said they were the best she had ever had (and she eats out in top restaurants quite a lot) so that was very high praise indeed. I had the salmon and it was cooked perfectly.

In the morning we came down to breakfast and there was lots of choice from the breakfast bar and freshly cooked Welsh breakfast and variants is on offer. I can't say how surprised I was at the very high standard of the food provided.

The hotel is in a lovely setting, well away from the hustle and bustle of nearby towns. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in that area and if I'm ever going near there again I will certainly book it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
1.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
450 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in St. Dogmaels
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel

Address: Poppit Sands, St. Dogmaels SA43 3LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Dogmaels
Price Range: £77 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park between St Dogmaels and Poppit Sands the Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel is set in one of the most beautiful places you will ever visit. Overlooking the River Teifi and Poppit Sands blue flag beach this is a traditional Welsh Hotel offering fully serviced rooms and has a wonderful locals' bar and a beer garden with inspiring views across the Cardigan Bay. Perfect for groups or couples. Croeso - Welcome everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Webley Waterfront Hotel St. Dogmaels
Webley Waterfront Inn And Hotel St. Dogmaels, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing