We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suitable for children/young families”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lydstep
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lydstep Beach Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not suitable for children/young families”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Im generally disappointed with lydstep beach. At first arrival we were given a caravan with decking that was 17 feet high off ground level, with broken bars in the fence. After paying for a platinum this was not acceptable. And with two young children (2 and 8) very dangerous. We were then told no other caravan was available, and waited over 2 hours to be moved to a lower grade van. In all fairness they did refund the difference without quibble. But the most dissapointing part of lydstep was the entertainment. There isn't any. A quiz after 9pm is the most you can hope for. My children spent most nights back in the caravan as there is no childrens clubs, or anything catered for children whatsoever. Not even some background music in the clubhouse. The bar staff act as if it is a chore to serve you, and god forbid you forget your passes. You will not even get a hot chocolate!! It is basically a park for owners, and holiday makers are not looked upon favourably. Very clean and well maintained surrounds however. Great for people aged 60+.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nurseelle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    33
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
123
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having Haven caravan holidays for several years, we just had our second holiday with Haven in Lydstep Beach caravan park.

This park was selected once more because it offers superb views and is a very quiet park in our selected holiday dates just outside peak season.

The caravans are top notch and the staff and facilities and also excellent.

For our first holiday with Lydstep in 2011 via Haven we had a full sea view of the bay (Caldey View), so on the basis of a high probability of receiving a similarly impressive view for this year's holiday (2013) we booked our Friday-to-Friday holiday whilst having our Haven holiday in 2012.

We booked through Haven and specifically asked for a similarly impressive view, given that the view experienced in 2011 significantly added to the holiday experience.

Now I'm aware that Haven can't guarantee views (fair enough); however, I have a problem with booking holidays in the future for this park with Haven (NB: I DO NOT have an issue with the park itself or the staff therein, as the park and staff are faultless) given that less than two percent of the caravans shown on Haven's park map are actually available for hire through Haven! There's a mixture of eight Haven owned caravans plus private caravans available through haven; the high proportion of the rest however are either available for hire privately (various web sites) or not at all.

This is a fact that WAS NOT made clear when booking either the 2013 or 2012 holidays - consequently and not surprisingly the location of this year's (2013) caravan was less than favorable. While not really a reason to pack up and go home, as the location of the park and other benefits more than made up for a lackluster view, it did however tarnish my perception of what in my opinion was the best Haven site currently available.

Had I known however that the normal practice for that caravan site was to book privately for the best view and possibly a cheaper deal, I would have booked direct straight away.

Caravan position aside however this remains probably the BEST location for any holiday, however you choose to book, and please be assured that we thoroughly enjoyed our week there with absolutely no other complaints. In fact, we'd return in a few years time, booking privately however!

Room Tip: Book privately with caravans having uninterrupted sea views, NOT through Haven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pokeadonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We booked through kylie direct with the caravan park. It was very easy and Kylie was very helpful. The caravan was beautiful, and the view was outstanding, right on the front row. The site itself is very well kept and there are loads for the kids to do. The manor house is also lovely and the food is very good value for money. We would definatley go again.

Room Tip: The caravans with the front row view are the best but most expensive. The caravans in other parts of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Not long returned from our fantastic holiday at Lydstep Beach. We have stayed here before and loved this place so decided to return. Once again it was a fantastic holiday!
This Haven site is beautiful, quiet, clean and a great place to enjoy family holidays.
We stayed in a Prestige caravan, which was very spacious and had a secure decking area, great for the kids and very close to the beach.
We were very surprised for the time of year the amount of activities that were available for the children, having stayed in May before we knew that not much is generally available for the kids but this time we were happy with what was on offer. There were ranger activities where the kids made arts and crafts, thoroughly enjoyed by the kids, even if the guy who was doing them needed a little more motivation whilst entertaining children.
Swimming pool clean and had very few people in it every time we went visited so great for us.
All in all would definately recommend this Haven site and we are already looking at making our booking for 2014!

Room Tip: Prestige caravan is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melskiallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A great site, this was our first visit to Lydstep we hired a private caravanfrom Eleanor at Caldey View. The caravan was great with a wonderful view of the beach. The only dowside was the pebbles on the beach but all in all a fantastic site, the Manor House was great good food also and the service was fairly good considering the amount of people there during bank holiday week. Swimming lessons for the children were excellent as were the staff on site. Steve who ran the entertainment was always fun and the children loved him. They couldn't wait for the kids bingo or the funny party dances.

A good time was had by all, a fairly quiet site but more up market than other sites around. We didn't want the holiday to end and look forward to returning again. Well done to you all. We only returned home yesterdayafter a week.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia7454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here in April earlier in the year, only just got round to writing a review! This site is well maintained, we had a lovely clean caravan - everything worked (we needed the fire on as it went cold of a night time)! We had a lovely view out to sea, could hear the sound of the waves breaking, I love that. The food was nice in the Manor house. Swimming pool was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely view of Caldey Island. Just a quick drive to Tenby and Pembroke isn't that far either. Plenty of attractions to see nearby. I have been to other caravan parks in the past but this place is by far one of the best ones! Would definitely come back here on holiday. Thanks Haven :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefaria666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The only downside from my trip here was that the beach was full of pebbles and stones. If the beach here was sandy then this place would be first rate and hard to beat. The staff are friendly and the club on this site is kept very clean. It can get a little bit packed in busy times, but we always come out of season to avoid this. This is most definitely one of the better parks in Wales.

Room Tip: Come out of season to avoid the many that use this park, if you want to use the on site club house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor-w20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydstep
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
1.8 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
2.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydstep Beach Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydstep Beach Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Lydstep Beach Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Lydstep Haven, Lydstep SA70 7SB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Lydstep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lydstep
Hotel Class:4 star — Lydstep Beach Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lydstep Beach Caravan Park Hotel Lydstep
Lydstep Beach Holiday Park - Haven Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing