We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at welcoming country pub.”
Review of Lydstep tavern

Lydstep tavern
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Lydstep
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food at welcoming country pub.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

While staying at nearby Tenby, we came across the Lydstep Tavern on our travels exploring the countryside. The welcome was very warm, as we found all Welsh hostelries to be and the food did not disappoint. My husband and son had the burger while i thoroughly enjoyed the lamb and leek curry from the specials board. My son wanted cheesecake for dessert and when it came i actually commented to the waitress that we had only ordered one portion not the whole cheesecake. We had never seen such a large slice for one person. For us, it was our last night but had it not been we would definitely have returned.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseduffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    94
    34
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great if staying at Celtic Haven, dog welcomed”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had 2 very good meals here having walked the 100 yds from Celtic Haven. We were made most welcome, the food was of a very good standard- crab salad particularly good- and the price very fair

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank westlowjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Not so great anymore”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For many years we have had great meals at the Lydstep , But times have changed and out last meal will be the last, When the meals arrived to our table my first thoughts was (Kids portions) and the food was not great with two of us choosing not to eat the fish, Also cheap ketchup in Heinz bottles says it all !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our second visit to lydstep tavern”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was the second time we had visited tenby and after such a good experience from the first time we headed to Lydstep tavern for our Sunday lunch, this time with our 1 year old daughter in tow.
There was a good choice of roasts available along with some of the normal menu, considering how busy it was the service was quick, food hot and very tasty. They even made a special salt free portion for the little one at a reduced price, which was much appreciated as most places only want to serve kids grease and chips. The desserts were also excellent.
Despite the mess left by the little one the staff were really friendly and it's good to see terry and his daughter still running the pub, we will definitely be back in the future!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Visited as a family of 3 on Fri 30 May, all the tables appeared to have reserved on them but the staff found us a table no problem. My son ordered the duck and he said it was a good as his grandmas which is high praise indeed. My hubby and I ordered rump steak with sides of garlic bread and onion rings, all delicious and cooked to perfection. For sweet we ordered ice cream for my son, choc fudge cake for me and mixed berry pavlova for hubby, all mouthwatering. This was our first visit to the Lydstep Tavern and we shall be returning again later this year when we are on holiday in Manorbier. To sum up great food and service oh and very clean throughout. 10/10 Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Ruthie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lydstep tavern also viewed

 
Manorbier, Pembrokeshire
 
Jameston, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Lydstep tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing