We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent resort, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Celtic Haven Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent resort, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently had our wedding reception at Celtic Haven and ourselves and family members stayed in a number of cottages. We stayed in Gatekeepers cottage which was modern, clean and finished well with lovely views. A number of our friends stayed in the Manor House (sleeps 12) and this is a lovely big house with excellent rooms for couples and nice traditional finishes throughout. Lovely kitchen, lounge and dining room - has all that you need.

Every time we went to Celtic Haven in planning for the wedding and the wedding day all of the staff were excellent, great customer service and will look for ways to help...this applies to the managing director, kitchen and restaurant staff, reception and housekeeping staff...so quality from all departments.

The food on the wedding day was excellent and we stayed for Sunday lunch the day after the wedding which was very tasty - we will be returning for Sunday lunches and meals in Waves in the future,

The attitude of all staff, quality of accommodation and the excellent food convinced us that it was the right place for our wedding reception and our expectations were exceeded on all fronts. Would highly recommend Celtic Haven as a place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Haven Cottages, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments! It was our absolute pleasure to be a part of your special day and we're so glad it was such a memorable one for you.

We wish you both every happiness for the future and hopefully we'll see you soon.

With kind regards,

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    64
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
155
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently returned from a 2 night stay in Flemish cottage at Celtic Haven. We took our 20 month old daughter with us and found the staff very helpful and friendly. We had a fantastic meal in The Waves restaurant which is on site. Would highly recommend for a stay and will be returning again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bongojasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is the 10th time we have stayed here so we obviously like it, the cottages are a little tired and could do with an update, we stayed in tackrooms this time with the enclosed garden which is ideal for dogs but the garden furniture was dirty and should have been cleaned, the curtains in the lounge were tatty and there was cobwebs all by the back door together with a bee nest in the roof eves outside.When we first started visiting 5 years ago they were a lot better maintained.

The restaurant food was first class and good value but the service was not the best the staff could do with some training, however as always the spa is fab, Hayley the therapist is very good at her job.

We normally visit twice a year but were disappointed in April this year when we were refused a cottage with a garden which you need with an energetic dog unless we paid an additional amount of £99 which is the first time we have been asked to do this, we refused and stayed in Lydstep Beach instead and walked up to the pub through celtic haven most days and the resort was almost empty so they lost our business on this occasion rather than compromise and give us a cottage with a garden which for a regular customer I think was bad customer service.

We will probably visit again this year and I will always recommend to anybody who has dogs and likes walking as it is so convenient and the location is so good . We have always found the staff helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: greenkeepers has a balcony overlooking golf course and fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family (which included my 14 month old Grandson and two Labradors) and I have just spent 4 days here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the Gatekeepers Cottage which is in an excellent spot. As dog lovers- we took the short walk to Lydstep beach each day where the dogs were welcome.
The amenities are superb and there is a fantastic play area for children, along with tennis courts and a golfing area.
Myself and my Daughter used the Spa and the lady that looked after us was absolutely lovely- as were all other staff that we came into contact with.
We were unable to visit the Waves restaurant on our first evening- and the great staff allowed us to order from the menu and then delivered our meals to the house.
The service is second to none- and nothing was too much trouble. Sarah was particularly helpful at all times and we will recommend Celtic Haven to our friends and family. We will certainly be back soon- as will other members of our family.
A great find and a great stay. A definite gem !

Room Tip: Gatekeepers cottage is at the end of a row of cottages and is a fantastic spot if you have dogs. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We decided quite last minute to go to Pembrokeshire for the weekend and found Celtic Haven after searching online. We were really pleased we did!! We were only really looking for somewhere nice to stay so we could walk some of the coastal path but we ended up spending quite a bit of time actually at Celtic Haven aswell. Our cottage was lovely and I had a really nice facial in the spa and we both had some nice morning swims in the pool. We aren't golfers so didn't play the golf course and we didn't have time for tennis but maybe next time as we'll definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightys79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Much has already been written about this well- situated, very good holiday complex. Old Forge cottage is one of the best positioned 2 bed cottages with its own balcony accessed via patio doors from the sitting room that also overlooks the golf course and eastwards towards Tenby and the sea. The cottage was very clean and comfortable and worked well for us and our dog.
The double bedroom is quite tight on space with access on one side of the bed so narrow that it was difficult to get to bed without the bed end blocking the closing of the bedroom door.
We thought the supply of crockery whilst adequate was a bit minimal, and the cutlery was of a very basic standard.
The 9 hole golf course is laid out on very hilly and side sloping ground that makes it a tough walk, carrying a few clubs is recommended rather than pulling a trolley. Two of the holes involve a steep climb to their tees. There are two really tough holes requiring blind shots. The fairways are cut to about 5 cms depth and the " rough" is about 10cms long which meant it is easy to lose balls and quite some time was spent searching for them on the blind holes. The greens are just more closely mown fairway, so putting is a lottery. At the time of the visit, some of the holes hadn't been recently cut so, the grass had overgrown the edges making the putting more difficult than necessary.
The pool, spa etc are very good. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. At the time of our visit the complex was. Quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Recommend either Old Forge or greenkeepers cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westlowjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport gwent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was booked by my husband as a surprise, and what a lovely surprise!!! the weekend started with a meal in the restaurant Waves, which was superb. We were booked into the Servants Quarters, which was really quaint, and the facilities were exceptional. Saturday morning we used the pool, and hot tub, which was relaxing. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, and it was a lovely weekend. We had a treatment at the Elemis spa and also put in a round of Golf. It was a perfect weekend, and sunday lunch was simply the best, it is by far one of the best places we have stayed in, in West Wales, it provided everything you could wish for, and more for a weekend away... anyone looking for that something special for a stay,.. book it, you will not be disappointed in anyway... we will be going back for another break hopefully very soon.

Helpful?
Thank lizandkev_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydstep
2.6 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.0 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Haven Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Haven Cottages

Property: Celtic Haven Cottages
Address: Lydstep, Lydstep SA70 7SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Lydstep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lydstep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would love to welcome you to Celtic Haven; our collection of charming self-catering holiday cottages on the picturesque Pembrokeshire coast near Tenby. With pretty whitewashed cottages for two right through to the elegant Manor House accommodating 12 people, our thirty Pembrokeshire holiday cottages are perfect for couples, families and groups alike. Each property is finished to a high standard and is fully equipped (including bed linen and towels) so you can simply arrive, relax and enjoy your holiday in Pembrokeshire! We even have three 'easy access' properties with walk/wheel-in wet rooms so please contact us to discuss any particular requirements. Our on-site facilities include an Elemis Premier Spa, Waves cliff-top restaurant, a headland golf course with beautiful views, children's adventure playground and a leisure club with swimming pool, hot-tub, fitness suite and all-weather tennis courts. We look forward to extending a warm Welsh welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Haven Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Haven Cottages Hotel Lydstep
Celtic Haven Cottages Lydstep, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing