We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base for walking in the area”
Review of Stackpole Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stackpole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stackpole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stackpole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This inn/hotel was recommended by friends.
It was very friendly and welcoming,staff very helpful.
Our room was really comfortable and the food was great. Also has a lovely beer garden
Stunning scenery for coastal walks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were looking for a little pub that didn't server the usual 'plastic burger & chips' and though we didn't think we'd find it this was exactly what we wanted. A lovely way to end our short break in Pembrokshire before setting off for home. We sat out in the garden, service was good, certainly not slow and the food was excellent (we ate off the Lite Bite menu). Simple quality food, beautifully put together. The interior of the pub was nicely done in a country/rustic sort of way. Would definately return and try the restaurant if we're ever down there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in view of fantastic location. Paid £90 for the night directly with them and first impressions were good. Room modern, clean, well appointed with free wifi. Had a great nights sleep which gave us the opportunity to fit in nearby Barafundal Bay (amazing), Bosherton Lilly ponds and Broad Haven plus Freshwater West. A great part of the world with lovely beaches and fantastic scenery.

We had a meal at the Stackpole Inn and were promptly seated with drinks arriving swiftly and our starter. Both had curried parsnip soup which was excellent. Then we waited for our main course and we waited and waited. Had to be nearly an hour between starter and main course which was not acceptable. I am convinced we were forgotten and I has to ask where our food was? When it arrived it was very nice, both had sea bass again which was great. Desert surprisingly was quickly served and again nothing wrong with the food, Tirasimu and gluten free lemon cake, which was very tasty.

Clearly they can deliver great food but reading other reviews lengthy waits for food seem to be the norm here. Must be a problem with lack of chefs given there were 4/5 serving staff and they could not have served more than 30 covers the night we were there.

Would stay and eat again but hopefully service would be better again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed one night in a very clean and spacious room with a seaside theme. The rooms are in a small building in the car park and are much nicer than they appear from the outside. The pub has a garden and a separate restaurant area inside. Although we enjoyed our dinner the breakfast was particularly special as they served Welsh lavercakes and good coffee. In the room was a very helpful guide to the local area-another example of the thought that has gone into making this a pleasant place to stay. Two tips that may be helpful-the rooms are available from 4pm and the pub opens at 6pm, and is located in a military area which means that some coastal paths may be closed when exploring such as the small ancient church.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymruambith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A lovely old inn in a pretty, quiet village. Clean, comfortable, well decorated room. Very well located for gorgeous walks through the Stackpole estate, especially the lily ponds, and a good hike to the beautiful beaches of Broadhaven and Barafundle where we enjoyed the best swimming we have ever had. The food was OK for a pub, but wouldn't go out of our way to eat there if it wasn't for the excellent stay. The Boathouse at Stackpole Quay is about the only other place to eat nearby for lunches and teas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debfisherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at the Stackpole Inn for mY birthday and had a fantastic time. The room was lovely and everything else spot on too. Our evening meal was superb and certainly worth every penny; breakfast was great too so we came back and had Sunday lunch which was certainly amongst the best I've had out. A lot of care and thought had clearly gone into the menus and presentation and this reflected the high quality experience we had. Gary and Becky clearly have high standards as owners and we found the service to be very good. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It is difficult to find reasonable places to go out for a meal in this very beautiful and dramatic part of the Pembrokeshire coast. After reading the reviews on trip advisor we left our holiday cottage feeling very positive. However, clearly our experience was very different from that of a number of others submitting reviews. On arrival we were shown to a table in what is a rather blandly decorated pub with tables with pale green plastic table cloths. Clearly this pub is set with an emphasis on dining so we were still hopeful. We were presented with menus that stated that we needed to be patient as it wasn't a fast food place and individually cooked meals took longer to cook. And then we waited, and waited and waited. After 30 minutes we went to the bar to order even though there was no indication that we needed to do so. We also ordered drinks at the same time. The drinks arrived promptly but were placed side by side at the end of the table where we were told that, "Here are your drinks." No attempt was made to ask who had ordered which drink. Then we waited and waited and waited. Then the meal arrived some 40 minutes later. While the plates were at least placed in front of us they were the opposite to what each of us had ordered so we swapped them over. As I had ordered a steak the waitress told me that she would fetch a steak knife. I didn't bother waiting and began my meal using a normal knife. Just as well as it took approximately ten minutes for the steak knife to arrive. Then a waitress wiped down an adjoining table and the waft of strong disinfectant was certainly not adding to the so called gastro experience. Well what about the food? The portions were certainly of a good size and it certainly wasn't cooked from frozen. However, it was the kind of food a family might prepare mid week. Perfectly edible but to see it in any way as a gastro experience is laughable, despite the liberal use of descriptors such as "Jus" on the menu. When our plates were cleared the waitress told us she would return with a pudding menu. Yes you guessed correctly! After another abortive wait we went to the bar to pay the bill. We paid £15 for one main course and £18.50 for the other.
So in summary:a characterless pub, serving indifferent food with staff who could benefit from the most basic of training. I would suggest sending the chef and staff on an internship to one of many gastro pubs in the country that are potentially at the same level such as the "Princess of Shoreditch" in London where food is at a similar price point but quality, ambiance and service are something else entirely. Or try a restaurant such as Prix Fixe in Dean Street London where food arrives quickly at good quality and far cheaper. The moral to the story is not to even have thoughts of "gastro" until the very basics are sorted out. This is being realistic and I not making any comparison with fine dining as after all this is a small country pub.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stackpole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stackpole Inn

Address: Jasons Corner, Stackpole, Pembroke SA71 5DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Stackpole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stackpole
Price Range: £55 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stackpole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th-century traditional inn is a walker's delight, standing close to the spectacular Pembrokeshire coastal path, and set in pristine gardens at the heart of the National Trust's Stackpole Estate. Close by are Stackpole Quay, beautiful Barafundle Bay, the lily ponds of Bosherston and the stunning beach at Broad Haven. Our 4-star bed & breakfast accommodation consists of four high-quality twin/double bed ensuite rooms. Two of the rooms have pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal family rooms. The rooms are situated in a stand-alone building in the grounds of The Stackpole Inn. Facilities are available for walkers, cyclists, fishermen, climbers and of course those of us who just want to relax and do nothing! All can benefit from our award-winning dining facilities. Morning Advertiser “Best Food Pub Wales 2005 & 2006.” Pembrokeshire Food Produce Mark assuring local ingredients used wherever possible. Cosy and welcoming with traditional wood-burning stove. Real Ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stackpole Hotel Stackpole
Stackpole Inn Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing