We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“61st Wedding Anniversary meal.”
Review of Stackpole Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stackpole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stackpole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stackpole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“61st Wedding Anniversary meal.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We visited 18th April for my parents Wedding Anniversary. We asked for a table for 4 and were promptly shown our table. There was one other table occupied in the restaurant. We placed our order and waited at least 30 minutes for our meal to arrive, by this time the restaurant had filled up. The food was very nice and well presented except for a lamb burger which arrived with just a burger in the bun and no garnish in it so it was very plain. The chips were very nice as they didn't taste frozen. Our only gripe was the service was terrible. We weren't asked if everything was okay , we weren't asked if we would like more drinks. When the girl came to clear our plates she didn't even asked if we had enjoyed our meal. There was NO customer service. We would of had pudding but could see there would be a delay so asked for the bill. We went to Saundersfoot to have an ice cream instead. When leaving the premises the Man who seemed to be in charge didn't even acknowledge we were leaving . This is not the first time that the service has not been good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    50
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
41
115
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in nearby CastleMartin and chose this restaurant on the basis of some excellent reviews. It lived up to all our expectations. A lovely building with a welcoming atmosphere, the interior decor had some nice touches including a roaring log fire. The food was delicious and to a very high standard and service was friendly and attentive at all times. From the presentation of the food to the way staff happily chatted to the guests, the Stackpole Inn felt like a place that cared.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Has the pleasure of two nights at the Stackpole Inn all the better with the March offer of second night free !
We stayed in room 3 of 4 available all of which are located in an adjacent block to the main Pub building.
Cannot fault the room much larger than your average hotel or B&B room and topped off by the nice touch of a free decanter of sherry !
We were lucky enough to stay on a Friday night with a charity fund raising event in the bar which made for a packed pub and great atmosphere topped off by the best fish and chips ever!
You cannot fault anything about the Stackpole Inn from the staff and service the quality of the food and the great choice of local ales and wines all very reasonable priced.
The icing on the cake is the fantastic location if you enjoy walking there is simply nowhere better with easy access to the Pembrokeshire coastal path and the stunning Barafundle Bay,Stackpole Key,Bosherston lakes and St Govans chapel right on the door step.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardTSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales, uk
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We love this area, so much to do, what with the incredible St Govan's Chapel, built into the cliff, otter potential at the Bosherston Lily Ponds, Stackpole Quay and Estate. However, not stayed in the area for a while. A £90 for 2 nights offer appeared on the website, we thought, great price, we'll take whatever it is and make the most of it. I still can't believe our luck !!!!

Such a pretty building from outside, heaps of character on the inside. The staff are amazing, very attentive, friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The food we couldn't fault at all, it was outstanding. Reasonably priced enough for us to have several courses over the 2 nights we stayed. Great wine choices made dining an absolute pleasure. Breakfast was 8-9, a teeny bit early for a weekend, however, the lovely lady arranged to have Sunday dining a little later so that was kind.

There are 4 rooms, 2 up, 2 down, they form an outbuilding just outside the pub, each with own entrance, each with ensuite. Beautifully decorated, quite quirky, very cosy and very warm. We had room 1 and so had 2 roof windows, we could lie in the enormous bed and look at the stars. Coffees, teas, hot chocolate and even a decanter of sherry on the dresser. The one issue I did have, was that the loo appears a little high. It caused some laughter between us, however, my feet had only the edge of my toes touching the ground. I'm not really tall, however, this hasn't happened to me before. This didn't detract from a fantastic stay. I was almost loathe to place this review as I don't want it to be booked up when we want it !! They deserve major credit for this lovely little treasure.

Room Tip: If you want the roof windows, rooms 1 & 2 are placed on the first floor of the outbuilding and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sn0wdr0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gower, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends on a special winter's deal. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Service top notch, friendly and attentive.
Rooms really nice, big and airy, cool crisp colours and very peaceful.
Breakfast very good with lots of choices.
Inn itself is old, full of character, wood burners, solid tables, beamed ceilings etc, but also modern touches.
Evening meal was delicious. We went for a full 3 course with each course well presented and tasty. As one guest wrote, chips are to die for......yep, agree to that! They are the best I've tasted, no white soggy greasy chips here.
The area is first class for walking, we walked from the Inn down to Stackpole Quay, along the cliffs to Barafundle Bay, on further to Broadhaven South Beach then to Bosherston Lakes, finally stopping for a rest at the Olde Worlde Cafe in St.Govans for tea and cake and being served by a dear old lady of 93.
Finally, we trekked back to the lakes and through the woods to Stackpole Inn. Round trip approx 5 hours.
Would I return.....without a shadow of doubt!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We found this place by chance exploring the area. We had a surprise when we entered as the traditional exterior conceals an up to the minute gastro pub. We received a warm welcome and were soon seated enjoying a first class lunch. My Hake with a Herb crust could not have been fresher and was cooked to perfection The chips were to die for. We shall return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellently located bar/inn/B & B serving well cooked gastro food - not greasy chip fayre but real food.
Welcomed in, choose a place to sit - 3 log fires, low wooden ceilings, tastefully decorated.
Bar Man(Manager ?) great service, excellent waiter and showed real emotion in our praise.

Choose Ham Hock/Soup of the Day - (broccoli and stilton and the most amazing bread)
Mains - Real Shepherds Pie with real meat - not minced meat and Sausage and Mash - with local produce - couldnt have asked for more.
Apple Crumble, and Carrot Cake for desert - with 2 coffees and all for under £40..

Ample parking, and ample seating - i always prefer to get in any food place when there are no guests - so service is attentive, and food is always hot.

Only downer was the weather - but thats down to the man upstairs!!

Certainly will be back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyntracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stackpole
3.0 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pembroke
180 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
22.6 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
240 reviews
12.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
8.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stackpole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stackpole Inn

Property: Stackpole Inn
Address: Jasons Corner, Stackpole, Pembroke SA71 5DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Stackpole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stackpole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stackpole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th-century traditional inn is a walker's delight, standing close to the spectacular Pembrokeshire coastal path, and set in pristine gardens at the heart of the National Trust's Stackpole Estate. Close by are Stackpole Quay, beautiful Barafundle Bay, the lily ponds of Bosherston and the stunning beach at Broad Haven. Our 4-star bed & breakfast accommodation consists of four high-quality twin/double bed ensuite rooms. Two of the rooms have pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal family rooms. The rooms are situated in a stand-alone building in the grounds of The Stackpole Inn. Facilities are available for walkers, cyclists, fishermen, climbers and of course those of us who just want to relax and do nothing! All can benefit from our award-winning dining facilities. Morning Advertiser “Best Food Pub Wales 2005 & 2006.” Pembrokeshire Food Produce Mark assuring local ingredients used wherever possible. Cosy and welcoming with traditional wood-burning stove. Real Ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stackpole Hotel Stackpole
Stackpole Inn Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing