We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly hosts and lovely property”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Kitchen 'hub of the home'
Kitchen ' Hub of the home'
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Orchard
The Green Bridge of Wales is within walking distance
Freshwater west a 5 minute drive away
The famous Barafundle Beach is only 10 Minutes drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlemartin, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
17renub
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and lovely property”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here during the Easter break as part of a large group, 4 adults, 4 children and a dog. The house is located on a rural lane so a car is essential. The property is very impressive from the road and has bags of curb appeal.

The owner Amanda greeted us and was really welcoming. The house has been undergoing renovation and as you enter you see what an impressive and extensive job that has been done.

The location of the house is brilliant we were close to all the must see places, everything tends to be reachable in 30mins and under. Pembroke castle and Barfundle Bay were definite favourites for us.

Amanda and her husband are really knowledgeable of the area and pointed us in the direction of a couple of key places to visit.

There were a couple of things during our stay which we noted, which is why I have given this a 4/5. Firstly we struggled with the heating system, it was on a timer which came on at times which for us weren't quite right, especially with having little ones, all credit to Amanda she popped over to explain how we could override the system to allow us to have the heating on. I just think that that could do with tweaking to allow guests to put the heating on when needed, understand however that may not be possible. Secondly there are a number of bulbs that need changing, in the kitchen there is only one bulb working which made it a bit dark especially in the evenings and in the smaller double neither bedside lamp worked. This I accept is quickly resolved, but we did miss having a night light.

I would definitely stay again and would like to see how the house looks in another 6months as Amanda and her husband continue their work. Thank you for a lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Thank you for the lovely comments, it was a pleasure to welcome you to The Golden Plover . We have taken you comments regarding the heating on board and will review the process. It is a shame that you were not able to let us know about the kitchen lights, we would have ensured that they were replaced straight away. We are pleased you enjoyed the location it certainly is a lovely part of the world and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Ke...
Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr and Mrs ”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Having grown up in the area and visited the house on a number of occasions in the past, i was looking forward to staying there with our four teenagers and we were all delighted with its spaciousness, character and superb location . This 200 year old house was formerly a school where my granddad attended and has at different times been a village pub, an art gallery and a family home. It is immaculately kept and lovingly restored and a perfect location for the stunning beaches and Pembrokeshire coastal path. Mandy and Shaun were very hospitable and we would certainly love to come and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Take care and wish the guys good luck with their exams xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilary h
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal home for a family get-together”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Golden Plover had 2 large sitting rooms and 4 large double bedrooms, and so was ideal for our getaway with siblings and their partners for a long weekend of reunion and reminiscing. The place was well furnished and spotless, and the owner was both welcoming and helpful in providing extra pans and cookware needed to cook dinners for 8 adults with healthy appetites. The location was ideal - just a 5 minute drive to lovely coast walks and a pretty beach at Freshwater West - just the thing for blowing away the cobwebs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: separate spaces, if we wanted it
Liked least: 8 people need a large table, but it made the kitchen rather cramped when cooking and serving meals
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your time at The Golden Plover and look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmorrel...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The magic of Wales”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family and I enjoyed the most splendid of holidays at the magical Golden Plover.
Amanda is a charming hostess and her welcome was as warm as her smile.The cottage is a dream and my grandchildren were delighted by the beautiful quirkiness of it.
A wonderful time was had by us all and many cherished memories were made to add to our family reminiscences.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you so much the review has brought tears to my eyes. It was such a pleasure to have you and your lovely family stay here at The Golden Plover and look forward to welcoming you back again xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny P
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Incredible place set in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Golden Plover had a lot to live up to after the rave reviews we read before booking. But I'm pleased to say that it absolutely did. The house was beautiful - lovely rooms, comfortable beds, gorgeous well equipped kitchen, modern bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and in pristine condition. The garden was also lovely, safe for the children to play in, peaceful and a real sun trap for the parents.

Mandy and Shaun were very welcoming and extremely helpful, but they never got in the way. There was lots to do and see in the surrounding area - beautiful beaches, Pembroke Castle and lots of lovely days out around the area.

All in all, this was a wonderful trip and I cannot recommend The Golden Plover highly enough. Thanks Mandy & Shaun (and Lucas of course!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, comfortable house, fantastically equipped
Liked least: Dreadful wifi signal, but that's not their fault!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review guys and we hope to see you back again soon. Take Care xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Braughing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great House in a peaceful and quiet location.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Nice and roomy house in a peaceful and quiet location. Very clean and well kept. Garden was secure and a good size for our two boys (3 and 5) to run around and play. The main reception room is a really good size, and the second reception room is handy. Bedrooms and bathroom are all a good size too. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Would have no hesitation to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you soon, Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewTrave...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from a weekend at the Golden Plover, and I wish I could turn back round and stay forever. It's a superb location and property and the owners could not be more friendly. We will definitely be booking again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you all for your lovely review. We look forward to you all staying at The Golden Plover again in the future.
Take care
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing