We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush!”
Review of The Cambrian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cambrian Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Solva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lush!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Friend of mine told me they had a great meal in this place in Feb, so had to try it out, we were not planning on staying but we had such a great time in this little village, good choice of Pubs, that neither my boyo or me wanted to have to stay of the pop, so had a few drinks in The Ship nice locals place and then had a fantastic fish and chips served in a really cool mini frying basket thing (hard to describe properly but looked as good as it tasted), at The Cambrian, Si had the Steak, and we both got a little merry on a lovely house wine, forget the name but recommended by one of the staff which was nice to see that not everywhere trys to push the expensive stuff. Anyway long story short we asked if they had a spare room and luckily we did not even have to leave the building (it was lashing it down outside). Nice room, clean bright and the breakfast was just what we needed, Matt the chef was a star when we did not show up till almost 10am, he did not let on if he was a bit peeved (we over confidently said we would be down by 8!) and we stayed on in the village till our heads felt better for the drive back to Cardiff. Very lovely, even more so because it was totally unplanned.

Room Tip: Think ours was room 3, pic attached if I got it to work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kez P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    29
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Arrived at short notice and provided with twin room and second night upgraded to room with Kingsize bed. Nothing was too much trouble for staff. Food was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had heard good things about the Cambrian, as it has recently changed hands. But our experience overall was of an average meal for premium money. I ordered the chicken with gravy, which was nice, but not a gear up on your average chippy, yet it was over £10! If it hadn't been for the gravy it would have been rather bland.

My friends ordered a variety of dishes and although no-one complained, the wow factor was definitely not there. Desserts were good though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ101A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is fairly local to ourselves and we are always looking for places to treat ourselves to some fine food and wine. We were not dissapointed as the food was fantastic clearly making use of the abundance of fresh local ingredients.

Presentation of each course was just a breath of fresh air and the staff were professional and courteous throughout, we will be returning for a family outing on Mother's day - can't wait !

This is a true gem in Pembrokeshire , one not to be missed..............

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonesyboy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Went for a meal a couple of weeks ago and were "wowed" by the changes to the interior and the atmosphere overall, so much more contemporary and inviting than before. The food was fantastic although the gravies just a little over salted for our taste, but thats a minor comment. We will definetly be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

A lovely comfortable and calm setting to have a gorgeous meal be it a romantic occasion or with family and friends. The little details compliment the attention paid to each plate of scrummy food! Freshly caught seafood a real treat! Staff are attentive and ensure the evening is a pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cleddauv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brislington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Didn't stay but booked in for supper and had lovely meal. Small menu, which is always a good sign. Fresh food cooked well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solva
3.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
174 reviews
3.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
312 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
Bank House
Bank House
#3 of 7 in Solva
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haroldston House Art and Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian Inn

Property: The Cambrian Inn
Address: 6 Main Street, Solva SA62 6UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Solva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambrian Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Inn Solva, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing