We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, best in Solva, good value, wide selection”
Review of The Cambrian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cambrian Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Solva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food, best in Solva, good value, wide selection”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were recommended to eat here by a friend.
During peak season you'll need to book a day or two in advance as there aren't many restaurants of this quality in the area and it gets fully booked quickly.

The range of food and prices on the menu is great.
The food was excellent, well cooked, well presented and tasted delicious.

The staff were very pleasant, attentive and service was quite efficient & timely.

Definitely one of the best restaurants in the St David's/Havefordwest area and one to try for anyone visiting the area. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnP_Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As newly arrived visitors to Solva we chose The Cambrian for our first day's lunch and what a good choice we made. The inside of the pub/hotel is very different from the outside and everything was so clean and comfortable we didn't mind waiting for our freshly prepared meal. The portions are so generous and everything was delicious. The staff were pleasant and the whole atmosphere was welcoming. I would certainly recommend The Cambrian to anyone with time to spend in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lochan421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,771 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 896 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a great place to stay! We (i.e. myself and two walking chums) stopped here overnight after the third day of six walking part of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. The outer facade was not overly promising, but boy were we in for a surprise.
We received a very friendly reception and found that the beers were all local and tasty. The rooms were very clean and comfortable (it was my turn for solo and I actually got the 'red room' in the photo to myself!). We opted to stay in for dinner which was excellent - I had whitebait and the welsh lamb pie - and breakfast was equally good.
A great find which will be well worth a repeat visit with my wife.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

staying in solva for a weeks walking and the cambrian was recommended. The food was delicious a step above normal pub food and the staff were welcoming and very effecient.We enjoyed it so much we returned later in the week and again had an excellent meal. Be warned the portions are large so make sure you have lots of room for the lovely food they serve here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McScotlandBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Called in here for lunch on Saturday. It is only a small venue, it was very busy.

The food was second to none. Service was good even though they were busy.
Just a word of warning, car parking there is limited
Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigwelshpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Everything was lovely. The staff were very attentive one example of this was that we booked a table for 6 and yet the table was only meant for 5 people and it was next to the door and when we got there one member of staff was concerned by this and asked if we would prefer to move (even though they were fully booked) but we declined this offer as we were more than happy with the table. The food was delightful and cooked to perfection. The only down side was the fact that the women's toilets weren't looking all that good and could do with a bit more care and affection. I would definitely eat here again and would feel welcomed and happy at the Cambrian.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdods42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We ate here after spending the day at st David's and solva and after having read the trip advisor reviews!! We arrived just before 6pm and they were fully booked but very accommodating and squeezed us in. So glad they did. Excellent service and excellent menu with lots of choice. We ordered breads and dipping oils to start with prawn cocktail for me and the mackerel pâté for my hubby. Delicious! Mains came next with steak and Stilton pie for hubby and chicken for me. We were not disappointed but unfortunately too full to squeeze a desert in!!!

We were on holiday and would def recommend but book well in advance as lots of people turned up later than us without booking and were turned away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solva
3.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haroldston House Art and Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian Inn

Property: The Cambrian Inn
Address: 6 Main Street, Solva SA62 6UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Solva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambrian Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Inn Solva, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing