We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Old trade with a modern twist

Interesting visit. Difficult to find but worth the circuitous route as lovely shop, excellent cake... read more

Reviewed 28 March 2024
christina s
,
Windsor, United Kingdom
via mobile
Interesting place

Stopped by while passing through Solva and enjoyed a casual walk around the working area, as well... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2022
ChTaylor
,
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Read all 219 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
84
90
35
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
84
90
35
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water wheel cake tea room is interesting place working area lovely little cafe st davids weaving shop workings restoration woollens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Following the brown tourist signs from the A487 main road between Solva and St Davids, turning up the valley - after a mile is the old mill, with its recently restored overshot water wheel.

Thi sis the oldest working woollen mill in Pembrokeshire, with a working factory floor and a small cafe/tea room. It sells woven produce - lots of rugs - but other stuff as well.

An hour to 90 minutes max - but if its raining .................

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank oggiebedworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Been coming here for years and it's great to see the effort of the dedicated owners paying off at last. The new cafe is splendid. We have used it for breakfast when staying in Solva, and for tea when passing by.

The service is friendly and fast, the tea hot and tasty, the cakes moist, tasty and very well priced.

The core carpet products are joined by a range of really good quality and high design craft skilled products, mainly textile based. The heritage of the weaving mill is well worth saving, and they are now at last expanding the range of designs. We have selected the stair carpet, I've just got to rebuild the cottage!

Do pop in, if only for the cakes

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just popped in for 20 mins. Kids loved the water wheel. Lots of interesting products alongside the wool products. Cafe looked nice. Interesting to see the works.

Definitely worth a visit for killing time, buying random gifts, cup of coffee, seeing working machines.

Lovely people.

Short and sweet. Easily combined with a trip to a pottery place and the beautiful Solva - loads to do in Solva - shops, rockpools, boat watching, ice creams............

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank An0n-An0n0-An0n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Not much to see after a longish drive. Best bit is the cafe.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank Malcolm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Sited less than a mile from Solva village. Specialise in rugs and carpets but other products also on sale. Interesting designs (esp stair carpets/runners) and all reasonably priced. Tearoom.

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank MIchael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews