We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, excellent value and simply staggering views”
Review of Pen Y Banc

Pen Y Banc
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen Y Banc
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, excellent value and simply staggering views”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Headed back to Solva for our regular visit. First time staying here, hopefully it won't be our last. Really warm welcome, clean spacious rooms and OMG what absolutely staggering views. Admittedly, a short stroll into the village but it is really well worth it. After a nice evening meal and a few beers what could be better than a short walk back to work things off. Breakfasts absolutely fabulous also. Can't think why you would stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joneseeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennywilliams99, Owner at Pen Y Banc, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are very happy that you rated us so highly. It was a pleasure having you to stay as you were obviously having a great holiday. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just two rooms, so perfect for a quiet getaway. We stayed in Skomer room which has great views across the bay. The owners were welcoming, breakfast decent and a good location for exploring the area. Recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Londoner12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennywilliams99, Owner at Pen Y Banc, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had such a memorable day on Skomer Island - complete with thousands of puffins and the island swathed in bluebells. May is the month! Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of may in the Skomer view room. A cosy room spacious and clean, with great views out to Skomer. The breakfasts were lovely, the bed was really comfortable and Mike and Penny were perfect hosts. We highly recommend Pen y Banc for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennywilliams99, Owner at Pen Y Banc, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
It was very nice having you to stay with us! Hope you can come again maybe later in the season:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed in the Skomer View room for two nights in mid April. Luckily we had fantastic weather!
The view from the room was so nice and the property is well kept and feels like time and money has been spent on it.
The bed was very comfortable, with plenty of nice pillows. Good quality towels for the bathroom.
Breakfast was an amazing quality, quantity and choice considering the price of the room. Penny and Mike clearly put a lot of effort into the business and it shows. They are a lovely couple with a good knowledge of the local area.
The property is in a great location for exploring the coastline. There is a small, but varied selection of restaurants and pubs in Solva. Take a walk the scenic way (rather than the main road) down to the main street. Well worth it.

Really good value for money. Beautiful quiet spot, and great owners. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horizonx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennywilliams99, Owner at Pen Y Banc, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
High praise indeed! Thankyou so much. Now all we have to do is make sure we always live up to our reputation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just enjoyed 3 nights B&B, in the spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated Skomer View room with what may well be the highest window in Solva giving way to magnificent views across the sea. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection and plenty of choice. We were blessed with superb weather to enjoy fine coastal walking - the coastal path is very easy to access from Solva harbour which is a delightful walk down a pleasantly wooded slope from the B&B.
All in all, a very pleasant stay, thanks to Penny, Mike and Tristan.
Jules and Trevor

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennywilliams99, Owner at Pen Y Banc, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
What a lovely review! Also nice to have Tristan (our temporary resident adult son) given a mention as part of the team. It would be a pleasure if you visited us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a lovely place to explore the local area from, the room was extremely comfortable with lovely views out to sea. The breakfast was excellent and a good way to set you up for the day and Penny and Mike were the perfect hosts. If we visit the area again we would definitely stay at Pen Y Banc. Dave and Rose

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennywilliams99, Owner at Pen Y Banc, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
So glad you had a nice time with us. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A big thank you to Penny and Mike who made our stay very special by providing very comfortable rooms with lovely views. We stayed 5 nights in october enjoying great breakfasts with sea views too.(lots of choice and well sourced local food)
B&B is in a quiet setting up the hill from the harbour. Solva is a lovely friendly harbour village offering great places to eat, easy access to walk the coastal path near st-David's. Wild seas and watching seals just added to this special break.

Penny and Mike were great hosts being welcoming, friendly and very helpful if needed.
Mike had very interesting local knowledge to offer.
We hope to return one day and explore more of this beautiful part of the world.
Thanks again
Phil and Nicole

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennywilliams99, Owner at Pen Y Banc, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thanks for the great review. We really enjoyed having Phil and Nicole to stay. It is lovely when our guests are so enthusiastic about what Solva and area has to offer even in the off season. We also bask in compliments about our hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solva
2.9 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.1 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haroldston House Art and Accommodation
3.2 mi away
Ramsey House
Ramsey House
#2 of 18 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Banc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Banc

Property: Pen Y Banc
Address: 18 Whitchurch Road, Solva SA62 6TR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Solva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Solva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
£75 Per night for double occupancy - £55 for single occupancy. Pen Y Banc has lovely en-suite B&B rooms with fantastic seaviews. They are large, recently refurbished and very comfortable. Solva is a picturesque fishing village, within easy walking distance of the fabulous Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. Lovely local pubs just a short walk away. It is a perfect place to come and unwind and enjoy the sea and tranquil coastal path walks. Our breakfasts are of an extremely high standard with very free-range eggs provided by our own back garden/field chickens...Try them with smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen Y Banc Solva, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing