We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous spot”
Review of Cafe on the Quay

Cafe on the Quay
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Solva
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spot”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This little cafe is situated right on the quay side with splendid views of the estuary. Seemed to serve a range of pannini's, sandwiches and baguettes. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc etc. in fact we enjoyed a glass of wine! Limited selection obviously, but nicely chilled and smart glasses. Staff were genuinely friendly. Short flat stroll along the quayside to get to the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visited at lunchtime & ordered 2 paninis plus drinks. Although service was reasonably swift my coffee had already gone cold when our food arrived. I think the filling had fallen out on route from the kitchen as it was non existent. We then decided to share a cream scone but that was a mistake as the scone was like a lump of floury dough & we were given one little plastic jam portion & about a teaspoon of cream. Very expensive for what we had.....such a shame as the location is lovely. The coffee was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainGirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee, unbeatable setting, friendly and efficient staff”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Located right on Solva Harbour, you can't beat the setting for this lovely cafe. Outdoor seating on a wooden balcony overlooking the picturesque little fishing harbour. Even on a cooler day, the balcony catches the sun for most of the day. Nicest coffee I've tasted in a while and the cafe is also dog friendly, a real bonus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“did not visit as thought it was a private club”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had seen this placed on TA beforre our trip to Pembrokeshire but on our walk down the harbour could not find it. We did find the local boat club, and assumed it was private. I bet we are not the first to do so either.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieH011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of the harbour whilst you drink your coffee”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Friendly staff, delicious coffee (or a choice of teas) and scrumptious cakes. One of the best things must be sitting in the sunshine enjoying the view of Solva harbour, especially when the tide is in. Would recommend a visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jelica39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe on the Quay also viewed

Solva, Pembrokeshire
Solva, Pembrokeshire
 
Solva, Pembrokeshire
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Cafe on the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing