We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home plus pool and hot tub.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Winterton Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
BBQ cabin interior
Places nearby - Solva harbour
Places nearby - St Davids Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Solva, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home plus pool and hot tub.”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We discovered the cottages on away with kids website, as we were looking to take our grandchildren somewhere new, near the coast and that had a swimming pool.
This was perfect, the cottage is so well appointed everything is there you would need.
The kitchen has every appliance you would have at home, and this was perfect for us as we tended to cook meals at night due to having bust daytime excursions.
Michelle and Andy have a provided a great place to be, indoor pool with Hot tub,
Barbecue hut and a shed with dvd library and lots of games.
If you need anything or information on things to do,nothing is too much trouble.
We liked it so much we have booked again for October and would recommend this for families and couples alike.
Thanks for a wonderful stay x

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great holiday and really pleased that pub will be visiting again in October. Look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Michelle x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daiw
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed for a long weekend at the end of October with husband, son, grandson and small dog. The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed and more that we did not need. The cottage was well heated. One great touch was the jar of really good Welsh Cakes. The pool was well used and the surrounding area was very peaceful, great place to relax and recharge the batteries for the long winter ahead.

Five minutes from the beach at Newgale which we used to walk our dog and he loved it. There is so much to see and do in the area or not do the choice is yours

Hope to return in the new year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
We are so pleased you had a lovely weekend. Would
Love to see you back in the new year.
Michelle x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cottage and amenities in a fabulous part of Britain's coast”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our first ever visit to Pembrokeshire and Hendre House cottages. We had a fantastic week's holiday with beautiful scenery, great weather and in a fabulous location from which to explore the wider St David's area. Winterton cottage was beautifully furnished and fitted out with everything we could need - and then some. It's not often there are 6 decent wine glasses AND 6 champagne flutes! (not to mention 6 proper pint glasses :-) The cottage, grounds and shared areas such as the large swimming pool and BBQ house were immaculately clean and well kept. The hot tub was great for taking the aches out of the joints after the long coastal walks (which were well worth it - we saw a baby seal pup and it's Mum close to St Justinians!). As a family we really enjoyed using the BBQ house to cook some incredible steaks from rare breed cattle that we picked up at the local farmers market. I've not come across anything like this facility elsewhere and it definitely made an impact. The other feature that we all enjoyed given we visited in late October was the opportunity for a real fire, with all the wood etc supplied.

The welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk and welsh cakes was much appreciated after a long drive and after making the effort to sample welsh cakes from just about every bakery and cafe that we came across, as a family we unanimously voted Michelle's as the best!\

A great deal of care and attention has clearly gone into the Hendre house properties to make the guest experience as relaxing and welcoming as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attention to detail - and the BBQ hut
Liked least: lighting was off when we arrived, despite alerting hosts to a late arrival. I drove the car into a rock and tripped over a low wall!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
What a lovely review. Thank you. We are so pleased you had a great stay and loved the beautiful Pembrokeshire coast. I have to say I'm chuffed to bits my welsh cakes came out tops! Secret recipe from my mother inlaw! We hope to see you again in the future. Michelle x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahGra...
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing week away”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved the cottage, perfect for myself my husband and our two children. They loved the pool, and the 'games shed,' my husband loved the BBQ hut, I loved the hot tub. All the little extras are wonderful. Great clean cottage, brilliant location, loads to do all around! Well worth a stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again.
Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRackley
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect family hideaway - with a great indoor pool - near the sea”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A great week spent with our young children (5 and 8) at Winterton Cottage near all our favourite bits of beautiful Pembrokeshire. The pool was fantastic! Super clean and well equipped with loads of inflatables and toys to please an army of children and adults alike! The cottage was spotless, and beautifully decorated and we all enjoyed the tasty welsh cakes left as a welcome treat. Thank you Michelle and Andy. Great location, you are only a short drive to the nearest beaches and Solva, St David's but you get the benefits of hearing the dawn chorus and watching the bats at twilight. The BBQ hut is really stunning. We loved our evening cooking sausages and toasting marshmallows. Cottage has everything you might need for a family stay. Very well equipped. We'd have loved a comfy king size rather than a double in the main bedroom and a power boost for the shower would be great otherwise - but these are just icing on the cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the BBQ Hut and the games shed
Liked least: The mattress in the main bedroom and the weak shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you for you lovely comments. We are hoping to have a power shower fitted soon. Hope to see you back soon. Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff l
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Cottage in Great Location”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a superb cottage, well equipped and perfect for families. (Pet friendly too! ). Situated in a great location, close to wonderful beaches, St David's and lovely countryside. The lovely indoor pool was a big hit with our children and a great way to start and end the day! Would definitely recommend and hope to come back again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, location, pool, pet friendly
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrustDavi...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven, it's like a retreat.”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

One of the nicest cottages we have stayed in in 18 years. An extremely warm welcome as well as delicious homemade welsh cakes! The swimming pool was so clean and a real hit with the children. The setting is beautiful, well kept and truly breath taking. Our two teenage children loved the outdoor space and the games room. We will definitely come back. It really is a little bit of heaven.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
Thank you Jane for your lovely review. We are so pleased your enjoying your stay and would love you guys to come back
Michelle x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing