We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WONDERFUL”
Boathouse cottage and original stone sun room. Access is via a quiet lane but plenty of room to park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boathouse cottage and original stone sun room. Access is via a quiet lane but plenty of room to park
The raised decked area with garden furniture is accessed from the house - great views for happy hour The delightful kitchen-diner with Pembrokeshire produce welcome hamper-use the basket for a picnic!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Boathouse cottage and original stone sun room. Access is via a quiet lane but plenty of room to park
The raised decked area with garden furniture is accessed from the house - great views for happy hour
The delightful kitchen-diner with Pembrokeshire produce welcome hamper-use the basket for a picnic!
Plenty of space for dining and a large map of Pembrokeshire to decide where to explore next
The kitchen is a dream to cook in, with plenty of utensils or why not use the barbecue area
Somewhere for the kids to hang their coats - but will they!?
The light and spacious lounge with plenty of books and DVDs-make it even cosier and light the fire
Room for everyone to do their own thing. You'll find books, DVDs and games in the cupboards.
The sun room with access to the garden is ideal for alternative dining-bright and airy
That table is ideal for table tennis! - you'll find a net and balls in the bookcase
A tide timetable is essential and we'll leave you a list of our top ten must dos!
The king-sized bedroom with en-suite  shower room and Melin Tegwynt throw - all very restful.
A cosy but uncluttered twin room with chest of draws and hanging space
Double bedroom also has a handy en-suite showroom and all bedding and towels are Egyptian cotton
Why not try your hand at making a driftwood tree - you'll find plenty of wood on Solva beach
Luxury soaps and toiletries with our compliments
Soft furnishings are by Emma Iles, Seaforth designs Solva; as seen in County Living September 2014!
You'll find a mix of antique and contemporary furniture throughout the cottage
Lavender bags made from Vanessa Arbuthnott fabric look lovely on this mahogany chest of draws
Oak stair case and warm carpets upstairs, oak and slate floors downstairs - just beautiful!
Croeso! For those that don't know means 'welcome' in Welsh. We look forward to meeting you.
Fabrics by Vanessa Arbuthnott, cushions by Emma Iles of Solva, as seen in Period Living Dec 2014
The lovely smell of a real tree
A generous welcome hamper for our guests
Drift wood tree with twinkly lights..... beautiful
A festive welcome
tastefully decorated for Christmas
Some lovely seasonal touches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Solva, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gwenny40
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a fabulous cottage, in a wonderful little village, we stayed for a long weekend from 11th November, the owner, Dolores, offered us the option of gaining access to the cottage earlier than we anticipated which was really helpful as my daughter was coming from a different part of the country and was able to get settled into the cottage before we arrived. thank you Dolores.
You have absolutely everything you need, I could not fault anything, even a beautiful welcome hamper for when we arrived.
The cottage was spotless, warm and spacious, clean towels, tea towels all supplied in abundance.
It is just a short walk to the bay and also the pubs for food and drinks.
The recommended pub The Cambrian was closed for refurb, so we ate in the Ship Inn, it has been taken over by new owners who have been there about 5 weeks, again we could not fault it, the food and the hospitality was excellent, definitely worth a visit.
The only negative thing I could say is that with 7 adults staying in the cottage and one being my father who is (albeit extremely fit for his age) 79, for us as a group it would have been a bit more convenient to have a walk in shower in the upstairs bathroom, but it really wasn't a major problem.
We had a little problem with the water heating on the second day, Dolores was straight onto it, it was sorted by the time we came back after a walk (and it was Sunday), you can't ask for more than that, these things happen but it is rare to have such a prompt response.
All in all we loved it and wished we could have stayed longer!
Thank you for a fabulous stay Dolores.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Dear Gwen, many thanks for providing this review and taking the time to write so promptly after your visit. There are some very helpful comments here and I will ensure that guests know that there are two ensuite showers upstairs but that the separate bathroom does not have a shower and the wet room is downstairs. I will pass on your lovely comments to the Ship and we are delighted you had such a good time. Best wishes, Dolores.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollyrose...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful stay at the Boathouse Cottage.”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I can't explain how much we enjoyed our stay at the Boat House, it's perfect in every way. Everything you can think of is catered for, and the cottage is very so light and airy with plenty of room for everyone. We enjoyed some lovely meals around the long table and cosy evenings around the fire. The kitchen is so well catered for and you will find everything you need to cook a full meal. All the extra touches were lovely from fresh flowers to a very generous welcome hamper of Welsh produce and hand made cakes. It all makes you feel really spoilt and your stay that extra bit special. All the bedrooms are cosy and beds are so comfy and everything is absolutely spotless. Solva is a special place with it's pretty harbour and cosy pubs and you are spoilt for choice if you like walking. White sands is one of my favourite bays and caer fai is definitely worth a visit. Take a flask and enjoy the views across the bay, there are some picnic benches there for you to use. the harbour Inn in is great place to enjoy a nice glass of wine and lunch after a good walk. Thanks again Dolores for making our stay a memorable one, we WILL be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire Kitchen and balcony looking over the sea
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Dear Amanda
We were delighted to have you as our guests again. Thank you for sharing all your tips about places to visit - I am very tempted to take out a flask myself to Whitesands on this beautiful sunny October day!. It is so encouraging to hear how much you appreciate how we do things at the cottage and we are most grateful that you take the time to provide such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion...
1 review
“The perfect place to stay in Solva”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Boathouse Cottage is a truly wonderful base for anyone who wants to explore the charms of Solva and the stunning Pembrokeshire coast. My wife and I joined four friends for a long weekend at the cottage and it ticked every box. We walked into the kitchen to find the owner's had left us a welcome hamper - containing local food and drink and essentials - which went way beyond the call of duty. The large kitchen/dining room is equipped with everything you are ever likely to need on holiday and the spacious lounge is terrific - I loved the art works - with comfy sofas and a log burning stove to make it extra cosy on Autumn nights. We used three of the four bedrooms - two with en suite - and they were all top notch. Everything was immaculate. The cottage is a fabulous mixture of understated character and top-of-the-range modern luxury. Outside in the garden a stairway leads to an ingenious crow's nest which boasts a terrific view of Solva harbour and the surrounding coastline. The crow's nest has decking and seven chairs and we found it was the ideal spot for breakfast in the sunshine and a late afternoon cup of tea. One day we walked from Boathouse Cottage to St Davids along the coastal path and saw more than a dozen seals including a baby being suckled by its mum. The walk took just over two hours. The cottage's location is also perfect for a gentle stroll down to Solva harbour. There's no need to use the car. What a place to stay!!! Hats off to Dolores and Frazer our very welcoming hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer pleasure of staying in such a lovely cottage.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay in Solva and Boathouse Cottage. It is lovely you appreciated the art work- all local artists. It is so encouraging to hear about the aspects of the cottage you really enjoyed - I love baking for the welcome hamper and you are right the view out to sea is so relaxing. Thank you to you and your friends for being out guests and we would love to host you again in the future. Diolch yn fawr Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly superb....in every way”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I have recently returned from a week at the Boathouse with my family. A stunning place and very comfortable indeed. The detail and thought that has gone in to this property is excellent. The owners have excelled in every area so the people that rent the Boathouse have nothing to worry about. The other thing to note is everything works in the Boathouse. There is nothing the owners have not thought of - so huge credit to them. It is ideally located for touring and a delight to come home to after a day in beautiful Pembrokeshire. You actually find you enjoy staying in too because it is so comfortable. The kitchen is a delight and a fabulous wet room is located off the kitchen area as well. Top marks for the Boathouse. Simply excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Dear Ian - thank you for the wonderful comments in our guest book and this fantastic review. It gives us great pleasure to hear how much you and your family have enjoyed Boathouse Cottage and beautiful Pembrokeshire; thank you so much for sharing you views - best wishes Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollyrose...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly amazing.”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The moment we walked in we were taken back by how lovely this cottage was. Beautiful decor, stunning views of Solva from the top Dec, which was the perfect spot to enjoy a drink. So well equipped and spacious, with by-folding doors to the patio area. so much attention to detail. The lovely welcome basket was very generous with the best bara brith I have ever tasted. In the evening we all sat around the fire which was very cosy and warm. Everything you could wish for and more. Bedrooms were pretty and had lovely comfy beds and pillows, the whole property was spotless. Solva has some of the best walks and lovely pubs on the front, we liked the Harbour Inn, which allows dogs. They do a good carvery on Sunday. Also white sands is a stunning beach and great for dogs which are only allowed on at certain months of the year. We also drove to the blue lagoon did a bit of seal spotting and good fun watching the coasteering. I have stayed in many cottages over the years and can say that the Boat House tops them all !! we were all very sad to leave but will certainly be back here, such a special place in a wonderful location. Thank you Dolores and Fraser.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top Dec and wood burner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Your review is very much appreciated. The Barabrith is from a friend of mine who is from Llanberis, and is filed in my recipe book as Mrs Jones' Barabrith. Some lovely comments about the cottage and very helpful tips for future visitors. We are pleased to report that we have just received 5 start from the visit Wales grading scheme- delighted!.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
923victor...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Cottage - Just turn up and enjoy your holiday”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a week spent at the boathouse. Excellent accomodation finished to a high standard with all you need to enjoy your holiday. For our stay there was four adults and a dog and we all had plently of space. The kitchen is well equipped with all mod cons with enough cooking equipment for a light lunch or full blown dinner party! Nice touches include fresh flowers in all rooms and a great welcome pack complete with local produce. Ideally situated - the village is a 5 minute walk down the hill where you can reach pubs and cafes serving good local food and access to the coastal path is also on your doorstep. There are several dog friendly beeches within 20 mins drive, which our puppy loved! The boathouse offers amazing seas views from a elevated deck. Friendly owners and locals on hand for any advise you may require. If you are seeking a high standard accomodation where you can take your dog then this is the place to stay. Please be aware phone signal is hard to come by for emergencies etc.... We had a fantastic stay and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
It is so kind of you to review the property and to mention all of the touches that you enjoyed. The home made cakes are going down a storm and we are delighted to have just been awarded 5 starts from the visit Wales grading scheme. Look forward to having you as our guests in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lashes100...
1 review
“Outstandingly beautiful and very well presented with everything you need and more !”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I have just returned home after a wonderful New Years break in the beautiful Boat house cottage in Solva, I left with a little tear in my eye as the cottage was so lovely I wanted to live there. The attention to detail in every room was very clear and nothing was forgotten, no expense has been spared with top quality equipment, crisp cotton sheets and fluffy white towels. We would love to return in the summer and enjoy another relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings . Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Boathouse Cottage, Solva. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your comments are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing