We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely First Class”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Solva, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

nsmalley2...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years but this was the very best. A beautifully furnished and decorated home from home with everything thought about. I did not want to go home. Elegant and relaxing, clean as it could possibly be, a welcome hamper with yummy goodies, attention to detail like I have never seen before. The owner popped in to see us and was really lovely, nothing too much trouble. I want to go back again and soon !!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you so very much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay in Boathouse Cottage. We are so very delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and meeting you and the family was a delight.
Your positive comments are so very much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future
Best wishes
Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into making Boathouse cottage a wonderful place to stay.It is equipped and furnished to a very high standard and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We found a lovely food hamper and Easter goodies waiting for us on our arrival and they were much appreciated. Pembrokeshire itself also has much to offer and we wholeheartedly recommend Boathouse cottage as a place to explore it from.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Dear John
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Boathouse Cottage. We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay the delights of Pembrokeshire. Your positive comments and expressed appreciation is so very encouraging.
Best wishes
Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris d
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cant believe how good this house is.”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for a week with our son/daughter and 2 grandchildren. The house was absolutely fantastic,with an Easter theme and Easter gifts for the children and a lovely local hamper.

The owner has gone beyond what is expected and we cannot overstate how nice our stay was as words can only describe so much but actually it was beyond that.

Attention to detail was superb and everything was available for a fantastic holiday.

We will be very sad to go home but there are plenty of times in the future where we can come down again.

A walk down to the harbour is a real treat,when the tide is fully out there is a large area of sand for the children and our dog loved it. From the house there are plenty of walks. For those wanting more than walks and locality Carew Castle is great for children, the Lifeboat at St Davids is new and well worth a visit. St Davids is only a 15 minute drive, a lovely City without the big store names ruining an easy going area. Cathedral very imposing.

Spent quite a bit of time on the sea wall with our grandson crabbing,most we caught in one session was 10.

Worth a million pounds in memories.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
This review is so lovely - thank you. We are delighted you loved the Boathouse Cottage so much and we really enjoyed preparing it for Easter for you. Your description of what you did really captures some of the wonderful places to visit, both around Solva and further afield, for a lovely holiday. The time you have taken to provide this review is very much appreciated and we look forward to having you as our guests in the future. Best wishes, Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missjenni...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I couldn't possibly fault this cottage, nor the location. Everything we needed for a cosy comfortable stay was there. Dolores had thought of everything. We even had a Christmas tree, Christmas decorations and a lovely hamper full of local produce on arrival. It's the first time my family and I had rented a cottage together over Christmas and it couldn't have been more perfect. Everything is clean and brand new with lots of space for storage and living. Two dining tables meant we could have our everyday meals together in the kitchen, but special occasion meals in a spectacular converted dining space with a grand pitched roof. There is plenty of space for parking and a utility room to hide suitcases out the way during your stay. I would happily recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to explore the coastline of Pembrokeshire or simply stay at home in lovely cosy surroundings. Our own private terrace with seaviews was a fantastic surprise. There are four pubs in walking distance. Thank you very much Dolores for making our Christmas so memorable.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Dear Jennifer , it was lovely to have you and your family as guests in Boathouse Cottage over Christmas. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I am pleased I was able to contribute to your festivities. I know you and your family travelled a long way and it is such good news that you appreciated the beautiful Pembrokeshire coastline and the lovely village of Solva. Happy New Year to you and your family and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Best wishes Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenny40
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a fabulous cottage, in a wonderful little village, we stayed for a long weekend from 11th November, the owner, Dolores, offered us the option of gaining access to the cottage earlier than we anticipated which was really helpful as my daughter was coming from a different part of the country and was able to get settled into the cottage before we arrived. thank you Dolores.
You have absolutely everything you need, I could not fault anything, even a beautiful welcome hamper for when we arrived.
The cottage was spotless, warm and spacious, clean towels, tea towels all supplied in abundance.
It is just a short walk to the bay and also the pubs for food and drinks.
The recommended pub The Cambrian was closed for refurb, so we ate in the Ship Inn, it has been taken over by new owners who have been there about 5 weeks, again we could not fault it, the food and the hospitality was excellent, definitely worth a visit.
The only negative thing I could say is that with 7 adults staying in the cottage and one being my father who is (albeit extremely fit for his age) 79, for us as a group it would have been a bit more convenient to have a walk in shower in the upstairs bathroom, but it really wasn't a major problem.
We had a little problem with the water heating on the second day, Dolores was straight onto it, it was sorted by the time we came back after a walk (and it was Sunday), you can't ask for more than that, these things happen but it is rare to have such a prompt response.
All in all we loved it and wished we could have stayed longer!
Thank you for a fabulous stay Dolores.

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Dear Gwen, many thanks for providing this review and taking the time to write so promptly after your visit. There are some very helpful comments here and I will ensure that guests know that there are two ensuite showers upstairs but that the separate bathroom does not have a shower and the wet room is downstairs. I will pass on your lovely comments to the Ship and we are delighted you had such a good time. Best wishes, Dolores.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollyrose...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful stay at the Boathouse Cottage.”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I can't explain how much we enjoyed our stay at the Boat House, it's perfect in every way. Everything you can think of is catered for, and the cottage is very so light and airy with plenty of room for everyone. We enjoyed some lovely meals around the long table and cosy evenings around the fire. The kitchen is so well catered for and you will find everything you need to cook a full meal. All the extra touches were lovely from fresh flowers to a very generous welcome hamper of Welsh produce and hand made cakes. It all makes you feel really spoilt and your stay that extra bit special. All the bedrooms are cosy and beds are so comfy and everything is absolutely spotless. Solva is a special place with it's pretty harbour and cosy pubs and you are spoilt for choice if you like walking. White sands is one of my favourite bays and caer fai is definitely worth a visit. Take a flask and enjoy the views across the bay, there are some picnic benches there for you to use. the harbour Inn in is great place to enjoy a nice glass of wine and lunch after a good walk. Thanks again Dolores for making our stay a memorable one, we WILL be back.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire Kitchen and balcony looking over the sea
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Dear Amanda
We were delighted to have you as our guests again. Thank you for sharing all your tips about places to visit - I am very tempted to take out a flask myself to Whitesands on this beautiful sunny October day!. It is so encouraging to hear how much you appreciate how we do things at the cottage and we are most grateful that you take the time to provide such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion...
1 review
“The perfect place to stay in Solva”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Boathouse Cottage is a truly wonderful base for anyone who wants to explore the charms of Solva and the stunning Pembrokeshire coast. My wife and I joined four friends for a long weekend at the cottage and it ticked every box. We walked into the kitchen to find the owner's had left us a welcome hamper - containing local food and drink and essentials - which went way beyond the call of duty. The large kitchen/dining room is equipped with everything you are ever likely to need on holiday and the spacious lounge is terrific - I loved the art works - with comfy sofas and a log burning stove to make it extra cosy on Autumn nights. We used three of the four bedrooms - two with en suite - and they were all top notch. Everything was immaculate. The cottage is a fabulous mixture of understated character and top-of-the-range modern luxury. Outside in the garden a stairway leads to an ingenious crow's nest which boasts a terrific view of Solva harbour and the surrounding coastline. The crow's nest has decking and seven chairs and we found it was the ideal spot for breakfast in the sunshine and a late afternoon cup of tea. One day we walked from Boathouse Cottage to St Davids along the coastal path and saw more than a dozen seals including a baby being suckled by its mum. The walk took just over two hours. The cottage's location is also perfect for a gentle stroll down to Solva harbour. There's no need to use the car. What a place to stay!!! Hats off to Dolores and Frazer our very welcoming hosts.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer pleasure of staying in such a lovely cottage.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay in Solva and Boathouse Cottage. It is lovely you appreciated the art work- all local artists. It is so encouraging to hear about the aspects of the cottage you really enjoyed - I love baking for the welcome hamper and you are right the view out to sea is so relaxing. Thank you to you and your friends for being out guests and we would love to host you again in the future. Diolch yn fawr Dolores and Frazer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.