We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Lamb & Flag Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lamb & Flag Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Llanwenarth B&B and Inns
Bristol, uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just arrived back from a weekend 1 night stay. Stayed with a friend in a twin room. Room was very nice, very clean and very quiet. Clean sheets and a lovely hot shower, all you need after climing Sugar Loaf. They had tea and coffee in the room and when we asked for more milk, they were more than accommodating.The food was very good. We had Steak & Ale pie and it was amazing. I very rarely go out and enjoy a meal to that extent. The Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They really deserve the business as their customer service is spot on. Breakfast was excellent again. Cereal, Orange Juice, tea or coffee, full welsh breakfast and toast. (they do various other options). We will be returning as it was so relaxing and really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: They only have 5 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristol-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    29
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
30
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Despite the location on a main road this hotel was quiet which made for a good sleep. The views of the surrounding countryside make a nice accompaniment to a beer on the front verandah as the day came to a close. The restaurant has a wider selection than the normal x,y,z and chips and the beer and wine selection is good. Very pleasant and competent staff.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Althom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Lamb & Flag Inn on the A40 near Abergavenny.
Our room overlooked the Car park. Good size room, shampoo/hand was dispenser. Good shower but very slow draining away. Nice to have a top sheet which lots of accommodation in the UK does not seem to have these days. When it is hot like it was when we were touring the UK all you needed was a sheet over you. Lovely young lady serviced our breakfast which was included in the room rate. Lovely evening meal. I was happy with everything about the room & service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretandBobS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Lamb & Flag is a very pretty pub with several rooms upstairs. The rooms are en suite. Breakfast is included. The food was wonderful and the service excellent. The rooms were not especially pretty (they could use some fresh paint and some spiffing up) and the bed was too soft and the pillow too hard. The bath was fine and plenty of hot water. Still, we did enjoy our stay here. There were nice outdoor tables, a children's play area. It is a very pleasant place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had a 3-course lunch here on Friday. It was busy but booking probably wouldn't have been necessary. It was pleasantly warm and there was a nice atmosphere. The menu is very extensive so deciding what to have was difficult. Our order was taken promptly and we didn't have to wait long for any course. All the dishes were very hot, delicious, of adequate proportions and nicely presented. My wild mushroom ravioli starter and my wife's vegetarian tagine were especially good. All the waitresses were pleasant and professional. Pricing was reasonable. So, all told, a very enjoyable experience. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abergavenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently visited The Lamb & Flag on a busy weekend with my young family and cannot fault the service at all.
We were greeted by a warm, friendly staff member as soon as we entered and our booked table was ready even though we were a little early.
I couldn't get over how extensive the menu was and at good prices too! We didn't have to wait long for our order to be taken and in record time it was served at our table despite the restaurant being full!!
The food was fantastic, cooked to perfection and the staff were excellent and very attentive ensuring that we were enjoying our meals and making sure we all had drinks.
Needless to say our plates were cleaned!!
I thought that the Lamb and Flag was very clean and well presented and I would definitely recommend a visit whether it be business or pleasure.
This is our new favourite place to eat and we will most definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We visited the Lamb & flag on a spur of the moment sunday lunch time, as we imagined it was busy - but the staff greeted us with enthusiam and helped us find a table. We were with our friend's and their 2 year old son, they played with him, gave him a pack for him to play with and continuously made sure he was ok - to which he loved the attention!! The service was brilliant from start to finish, staff were checking we were ok, asking us for drinks - we were never left wanting... And the food was gorgeous! Even though it was busy, we never were left waiting for something. After we ate, the staff told us about the play area outside, which as it was a dry day - we decided to take our friend's son outside and he loved it!! there was so much for him to do as he has as most children a short attention span! I can honestly say the whole experience here was fabulous and we will definitely be returning... even if it's just to taste that chocolate cake again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayTay1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwenarth
1.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Plas Derwen
Plas Derwen
#7 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb & Flag Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb & Flag Inn

Property: Lamb & Flag Inn
Address: Brecon Road A40, Llanwenarth, Abergavenny NP7 7EW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Llanwenarth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwenarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb & Flag Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional coaching inn set at the foot of Sugar Loaf Mountain at the gateway to the picturesque Brecon Beacons national park. The pub features a bright conservatory, and a roaring log fire in the open-plan restaurant. Our restaurant is a renowned eating establishment where families are always welcome. There are lunch and evening menus and a set-menu becoming increasingly popular ? so do try to book in advance if possible. There is a versatile function room, seating up to 100 people, with its own fully stocked bar can be transformed into a ballroom, ideal for weddings and corporate functions. This is the perfect base for exploring the magnificent beauty of the National Park, and what better way to end your days of discovery than with a meal, drink and our traditional warm welcome. At the rear of the pub is a play area, and large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lamb & Flag Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb & Flag Inn Llanwenarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing