We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location”
other travellers have booked this property
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds. Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds.
Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
A conservatory front and back
Views up the Lledr valley
The piano offers an unusual attraction loved by all our guests
Playing in the river
A large sitting room but still warm and cozy.
The beach at Borth y Gest is only 30 minutes away
A warm welcome, an electric 'real' fire
Loads of off-street parking
King size bed with spectacular views, loads of wardrobe space
Horse riding locally, great for all abilities
King size bed
Our own 'private beach' beside the river, absolute privacy
Double bed with spectacular views and great wardrobe space
One of the single rooms, room to put a second fold out bed or cot
The upstairs bathroom, also shower and toilet downstairs
The west facing conservatory, amazing views especially as the sun sets behind the mountains.
A fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining table can be expanded to sit 8
Spacious dining overlooking the garden, river and mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue332015
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found Pont Arenig very charming. As others have said it does need some T.L.C. and investment. It has 2 bathrooms not 3 but it is clean and for the price paid this was not an issue. It is located in a wonderful secluded location within 5 minutes walk of the village and is in an excellent base for visiting many places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
1 review
“VERY Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The carpets were stained and generally dirty, dangerous heavy light hanging over the dining table by its flex only, dry rot and wet wall surrounding socket, broken washing line, ancient cooker, shallI carry on. I have photos of the above. The games that were supplied consisted of dirty old playing cards, broken dominos set, chess and a couple of puzzles... not what was expected. A great deal of work needs to be done to this potentially lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your stay. I am a bit confused by the heavy light hanging by its flex over the dining table, since these things are checked regularly by a qualified electrician. I will investigate this further. The cooker was purchased in 2014 from new, I do have the receipt. However, it greatly saddens me that you found the house disappointing I will pass your comments on to the cleaning service who manage the property. I note from the house log, that the guests who stayed prior to your visit and subsequently have loved the house and praised the cleanliness and coziness of the place, so I'm sorry that you do not feel the same way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abura2014
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Distinct countryside house”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Pont Arenig is an impressive house with beautiful green fields. Its quaint furnitures and interior initially gave us a queer feeling. Nonetheless, we soon became accustomed to the place. My daughter mentioned that the house and its surrounding reminded her so much of the countryside home of her caring and doting great grandmother in our country.

On one particular night, the electricity went off for almost an hour. We were unable to cook dinner because the cooker was on electricity. Linens were supplied but we had to make the bed ourselves upon arrival and remove it and place near the washing machine upon leaving. It would help if the cooker uses gas, and bigger soup pots and towels could be provided. There is no internet access within the house but one can access it in the fields.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Dolwyddelan despite initially feeling a bit lost without a tv and internet access. We're happy to know that the management has overhauled the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Magnificent scenery
Liked least: The electric cooker and its utensils.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Since this guest stayed we have changed our housekeeper and there has been a significant overhaul. Beds are always made up and there is a welcome pack. There are large pots for cooking, there is also an emergency supply of candles and a primus stove! Power cuts are rare, however, if all else fails, the hotel in the village has its own generator and an excellent restaurant. Pont Arenig has to be appreciated for what it is: a magnificent house in spectacular countryside with outstanding views. There is no gas in the village (but we do have electricity, oil and water!), mobile and radio signals are variable, there are some 'hotspots' with excellent signal. BUT more importantly, there are trout in the river, buzzards sit in the trees, newborn lambs frolic in the fields and if you sit in the conservatory after a days walking, a glass of wine in your hand watching the sun setting behind the Moelwyns, there is no better place to be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcgriffit...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and great value”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

With a little investment this could be a 5 star property but the cleaning, carpets, decor, bedding and cooker lets it down. It has great views, efficient heating system and space. Perfect for a family or hill walkers.
Locally the pub is a nightmare but the hotel is acceptable. The shop is very good with lovely staff.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
This review coincided with the resignation of my cleaner. I have now employed a commercial cleaner who specialises in holiday lets. Already there has been a dramatic change. The house has had a very 'deep clean'. The laundry has been removed, the cooker given an overhaul, all carpets steam cleaned, every cobweb and bit of grime removed. Future guests will be met by a sparkling house, everything in its place, a welcome pack, beds made up, everything pressed and ironed. I'm extremely sorry that things were not up to standard. The last review in June 2014 stated how well looked after and clean the property was!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwfw67
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage surrounded by quiet fields”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this cottage at the last minute for 4 adults for a hillwalking weekend. I have to say how everyone commented what a lovely location it was in, and perfect for a quiet weekend away. The cottage itself is quaint and rustic and clearly been a well-loved family house that has been expanded over the years. It has 2 large bedrooms, and 2 single rooms. Bathrooms upstairs and down, and a galley-style kitchen with enough space for us to cook breakfast. It's not modern, but it is clean and looked-after and was just fine for our needs. Even better that it had no TV! The local pub and great cooked meal was just a 400m walk away down the hill. It was a hit will our hillwalking friends, and I expect we will come back in a few months.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing