We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good....could be amazing. ....needs updating”
other travellers have booked this property
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds. Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds.
Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
A conservatory front and back
Views up the Lledr valley
The piano offers an unusual attraction loved by all our guests
Playing in the river
A large sitting room but still warm and cozy.
The beach at Borth y Gest is only 30 minutes away
A warm welcome, an electric 'real' fire
Loads of off-street parking
King size bed with spectacular views, loads of wardrobe space
Horse riding locally, great for all abilities
King size bed
Our own 'private beach' beside the river, absolute privacy
Double bed with spectacular views and great wardrobe space
One of the single rooms, room to put a second fold out bed or cot
The upstairs bathroom, also shower and toilet downstairs
The west facing conservatory, amazing views especially as the sun sets behind the mountains.
A fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining table can be expanded to sit 8
Spacious dining overlooking the garden, river and mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
1 review
“Good....could be amazing. ....needs updating”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Location was perfect.
We found the Cottage very clean and homely set in its own beautiful grounds but in need of some maintenance however this would not stop me going back tomorrow (if I could).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review. I'm not sure what maintenance or updating you are referring to. The house was refurbished over the winter with new carpets throughout and extensive internal and external re-decoration. So please let me know. My gardener is now back at work after the death of his father. Also, sometimes guests damage things and it is impossible to deal with repairs immediately between changeovers. Currently a couple of such repairs are are being undertaken. The house should now be in perfect condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valf26
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great chill out”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great location facilities excellent everything you need for a peaceful break, lovely clean fresh bedding, plenty cooking pots and pans, river and stream in grounds great for the kids to play in.
Went to Barmouth about an hour from cottage but worth it beach was fantastic, kids done crabbing on harbour.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: stream and river in grounds
Liked least: sofas in lounge to low for me
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dagnallcl...
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect get away.”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A beautiful cottage in the perfect setting. I stayed with teenage children and we had a lovely relaxing stay. Lucky enough to have fantastic weather. The children fished, paddled and swam in the river and played games!! No mention of television or facebook!! I would really recommend this for a relaxing break and will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your great review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlie L
2 reviews
“Beautiful house! ”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for the bank holiday weekend and had a brilliant time, the house is absolutely lovely. Plenty of space, everything you need is provided for you and the views are breath taking. Lovely to wake up and look out over all the mountains, it's truly one of a kind and all the original features, pictures and furniture add to the charm of the house. The river running past the front of the house is another added bonus and even though we had poor weather, we were able to make the most of the views sitting by the big windows overlooking the river and in the conservatory that looks out over Snowdon.
I absolutely recommend this lovely house and we will stay again without a doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Many thanks. I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday and liked the house. It is a real pleasure to share it with people who love it as much as I do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in an amazing location”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Not our first stay in this property and certainly not our last.
It is a large, but warm and comfortable holiday home with a lot of character in a fantastic location, ideally placed to get to almost anywhere in the national park or trips out to the coast.
Despite being near a village with a pub that serves food and a great, well stocked, little spar shop that is open long hours if you need it, the house is almost totally isolated from any neighbours and set in beautiful surroundings with its own river running past the front. It is set well back from the road, which is fairly quiet anyway and has plenty of space and parking outside in the grounds.
Even in winter it is great to sit in the conservatory in the warm looking out onto the misty snow topped mountains that surround you.
The central heating is excellent and the property is very warm throughout. The kitchen has basic but very clean and functional equipment including oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle etc. so it is easy to be self sufficient, or you have a choice of the local pub/hotel or several take-aways in Blaenau just a few minutes away.
There is no TV, but the place has windows where you can see the real world instead and if that isn't enough then the broadband is fast enough to watch Netflix, ITV catch up, BBC I-player etc.
The decor is not the most modern, but it is in keeping with the place and gives it character. On all our visits it has been meticulously clean and tidy throughout, but it has a sort of lived in feel where you are not permanently worried about walking on brand new expensive carpets, and it has a great hallway with radiator and coat hooks where you can get in out of the weather to remove your boots and hang up your coats before you go into the main hallway.
It has a downstairs bathroom with toilet and shower which is handy, and a nice bathroom with large bathtub upstairs too.
The beds/bedroom layouts mean it is pretty flexible accommodation for couples, with/without children or groups of friends. There are spare fold up beds, bunkbeds in one room and plenty of space throughout.
Finally if you are thinking of staying here then you probably already know about the great walking, mountain climbing, mine exploring, zip wires, mountain biking and so much more that goes on all around the area. This place provides a great comfortable base for all of those activities and more and I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, isolation and character of the place
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for this fantastic review. I'm delighted that you love the house as much as I do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue332015
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found Pont Arenig very charming. As others have said it does need some T.L.C. and investment. It has 2 bathrooms not 3 but it is clean and for the price paid this was not an issue. It is located in a wonderful secluded location within 5 minutes walk of the village and is in an excellent base for visiting many places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
1 review
“VERY Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The carpets were stained and generally dirty, dangerous heavy light hanging over the dining table by its flex only, dry rot and wet wall surrounding socket, broken washing line, ancient cooker, shallI carry on. I have photos of the above. The games that were supplied consisted of dirty old playing cards, broken dominos set, chess and a couple of puzzles... not what was expected. A great deal of work needs to be done to this potentially lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your stay. I am a bit confused by the heavy light hanging by its flex over the dining table, since these things are checked regularly by a qualified electrician. I will investigate this further. The cooker was purchased in 2014 from new, I do have the receipt. However, it greatly saddens me that you found the house disappointing I will pass your comments on to the cleaning service who manage the property. I note from the house log, that the guests who stayed prior to your visit and subsequently have loved the house and praised the cleanliness and coziness of the place, so I'm sorry that you do not feel the same way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing