We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable base for Snowdon area”
other travellers have booked this property
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds. Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds.
Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
A conservatory front and back
Views up the Lledr valley
The piano offers an unusual attraction loved by all our guests
Playing in the river
A large sitting room but still warm and cozy.
The beach at Borth y Gest is only 30 minutes away
A warm welcome, an electric 'real' fire
Loads of off-street parking
King size bed with spectacular views, loads of wardrobe space
Horse riding locally, great for all abilities
King size bed
Our own 'private beach' beside the river, absolute privacy
Double bed with spectacular views and great wardrobe space
One of the single rooms, room to put a second fold out bed or cot
The upstairs bathroom, also shower and toilet downstairs
The west facing conservatory, amazing views especially as the sun sets behind the mountains.
A fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining table can be expanded to sit 8
Spacious dining overlooking the garden, river and mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ttxela
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable base for Snowdon area”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were very comfortable in this house for the two nights that we stayed with everything we could need, the garden is lovely. We had a mix of weather but sitting in the conservatory admiring the view was a pleasure whatever the weather.

We came to fulfil my wife's aim of climbing Snowdon after having cancer, we went up the Watkin path and down the Miners track.

Many Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your fantastic review. Your words brought tears to my eyes. I'm so thrilled that your wife succeeded in her ambition and is now recovered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachith D
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful time in North Wales”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful and well equipped house. All kids and adults enjoyed the time spent and it was very spacious and convenient. We also celebrated a birthday and the holiday spent here will remain memorable. The little walks around the farm and the neighbouring areas was breathtaking. Thank you for your hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely, positive review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSharpy
Millom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb holiday home”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well located just off main road, short walk to pub and hotel. Roomy four bedroomed house with great views of the countryside. Excellent base for easy access to Snowdonia and other local landmarks like Portmeirion and Zipworld! Overall a cracking place with off road parking. Definitely recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanadav
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic old house full of character we love it here the second time we have stayed this year. Well equipped comfortable and welcoming. A walk to the river through the field is a must . Simply stunning. Very well situated for beautiful snowdonia and all of its beauty. Highly recommend this house as a base or to just relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Many thanks, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer66...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice house with awesome views and facilites”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This house has everything and is close to most of the North Wales attractions. Positives are plenty of space, handy utensils & kitchen, nice bedrooms & Lenin. Piano, cards, chess board are also provided. No complaints about the heating and hot water. This house is very close the typical nature of with plenty of Green, Mountains and located right next to small canal which makes pleasant sound of water flowing. I really liked this country side experience. Many tables and chairs for our use.

I wouldn't say negatives but couple of improvements:
House has two bathrooms but the one on the upstairs doesn't have shower hose but tub is available. We are 6 adults and had to take turns for the shower.
Parking space is comfortable for a car but accommodates two at most but takes a bit of effort in case 2 cars for reversing etc.,

Overall our experience is awesome and I definitely recommend this provided with a shower upstairs as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities
Liked least: Lack of shower in the upstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thanks you so much for the positives. I'm flabergasted about the parking! For my father's wake 10 years ago we had 10 cars in the driveway!!!!! There are two parking bays both taking two cars, it is perfectly possible to manouvre out of these areas without other vehicles needing to move. Upstairs shower great idea, however, due to the sloping ceiling it would be impossible to install. I can certainly look into a shower/tap hose. We do have a very effective shower downstairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S
1 review
“A wonderful property”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have been here before and we were so impressed I brought my parents with me this time!

It's a wonderful, quirky property with great character. Ideally situated to explore Snowdonia and beyond.

We noticed the new carpets and good spruce up job on the entrance and hallway. There was new wall paper in one of the bedrooms at least from what we recall last time.

It has all the facilities needed and the fields behind that lead to the river are a children's paradise.

The only couple of negatives we could mention were the downstairs toilet appeared to have a small leak (possibly the seal?). Should be easily resolved.

There were also signs of mould on the walls in some bedrooms but most of this appears to have been treated already with the wallpaper then reapplied. Never an easy task to deal with a property of this age.

Overall though, this property is perfect for this location and a real gem to stay in.

A big thumbs up from us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
1 review
“Good....could be amazing. ....needs updating”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Location was perfect.
We found the Cottage very clean and homely set in its own beautiful grounds but in need of some maintenance however this would not stop me going back tomorrow (if I could).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review. I'm not sure what maintenance or updating you are referring to. The house was refurbished over the winter with new carpets throughout and extensive internal and external re-decoration. So please let me know. My gardener is now back at work after the death of his father. Also, sometimes guests damage things and it is impossible to deal with repairs immediately between changeovers. Currently a couple of such repairs are are being undertaken. The house should now be in perfect condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing