We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Dolwyddelan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is on a main, busy road, carparking across from it. a fine field for walking dogs with access from both ends of the village.
We were swiftly booked in by a tense owner...we felt this throughout our stay...
Evening meal was very poor as was the breakfast for the price we had to pay.
We asked for brown toast but he came back with an empty bread sack?...local shop is 2 min away!
This is a pet friendly place that's why we booked it and indeed she was allowed to stay with us in the room, we created a space for her underneath the window...had clothes peg with us to tie up and close the curtains so not too much light would wake her early....
All in all we were a bit disappointed but glad our dog could be with us in comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oraiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Check in was quick and easy for our break at Elen's Castle consisting of 4 nights - I would have loved to have stayed longer. Helen & Adam were very warm and welcoming to both ourselves and two rescue Westies Sammy & Lulu.
We chose the full breakfast which was very tasty indeed - plenty of choice of fruit and cereals available and great coffee. We also had 2 evening meals out of our 4 night stay and found this also to be tasty with plenty of choice on offer and of really good standard.
Our bedroom (Room 2) consisted of a Four Poster Bed that was really comfortable plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe - the room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean and offered a bath with shower over - nice hot water available too.. We slept like logs in this room - yes it was at the front of the builidng but was so cosy and comfy - and we slept with the window wide open and still no sound of traffic from the road outside.
The bar was quaint with lovely banter from both fellow travellers and locals who frequent the hotel bar and prices just like going to our local pub at home Overall it's a lovely place to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings that North Wales has to offer - some lovely sights and beaches all within easy reach.
Helen and Adam from the start (on booking) made us and our little rescue Westies welcome and would not hesitate to recommend to others looking for a great little place to stay -both owners very knowledgeable about the surrounding area.
Fantastic hospitality throughout our stay at Elen's Castle - we will be returning.
Sue & Rob Burford-Barbour with Sammay & Lulu

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I have such a great time when I go so I'm really looking forward to my next visit in October. And my Dog scruff will also be very Happy as she will have the chance to play on one of the lovely beeches not to far away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in the coach house, which was unbelievably cheap, with comfortable beds, clean sheets and a good shower. Perfect for a 3-man climbing expedition.

The bar was cosy, and authentic, with a resident retired climbing guide propping up the bar!! The owner was really friendly, and looked after us well.

The cooked breakfast we had each morning was really nice, and cooked as if the chef actually had thought about what it would be like to eat! an excellent fortifying meal before a day on the rock.

Much better than Bets - y - Coed (spelling?). A real gem, brilliant find. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Traveling through north Wales we happened upon Elen's Castel and chose to stop there for the night. We were warmly welcomed and given a choice of rooms. then our room was upgraded at no extra charge. Wonderful hospitality and great location make Elen's Hotel an excellent place to stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked Elens Castle Hotel as it was one of only a few dog friendly accommodations in the Snowdownia area. Situated in a tiny village the location is peaceful and the mountains and the seaside are a short car ride away. The Hotel is small and offers a small bar where dogs are allowed provided you book in advance. There is a separate restaurant where dogs are not allowed and breakfast is served in here and as dogs can't be left in rooms unattended then you have to leave your dog in your car. We stayed in the four poster room which had beautiful furniture although the room is a little tired and shows signs of wear. As the hotel is run by a family it
has more of a B&B feel as breakfast is cooked by the owner, who also runs the bar and takes orders. He was extremely friendly always welcoming and happy to engage in conversation. Breakfast was good provided you want a full English or some variation. As the owner has to cook it all there's very little variety. Evening
meals are prepared by a chef and are very good after a hard days walking! Overall it was a little pricey at £100 per night but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned home after a two night stay at Elen's Castle with our two dogs. We were welcomed and looked after brilliantly - nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was great - a good start to any day's walking. We had dinner in the bar, where Izzie and Jess were welcomed and fussed over by staff and other customers alike. The food was excellent (thoroughly recommend the deep-fiiled beef pie!) and great value for money.

The village is a lovely place to stay. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the homely and family feel of the hotel and found Elen's Castle a very good base for days out in the mountains and beyond.

We didn't manage to climb Snowdon due to adverse weather, but this means we'll have to come back to try again. Guess where we'll want to stay?

We will be back!

Paul and Karen

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rattypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
4.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
3.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
687 reviews
21.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0EJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolwyddelan
Price Range: £93 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely historical inn with all modern comforts. Beautiful location in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Friendly and comfortable with excellent breakfasts and dinner. Family friendly with ideal family suites. Cosy bar with log-burning stove. Great Welsh castle just a short walk away. Stunning views. Free parking and high-speed broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elen's Castle Hotel And Restaurant Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing