We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Oldie worldie homely"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Dolwyddelan B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"Oldie worldie homely"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at Ellen's Castle Hotel, the owners were friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the double room with an on suite it was cosy, warm and very clean and had everything we needed. If you are looking for somewhere with tons of character and charm then this is the place to stay. Breakfast was lovely and the evening meal we had was excellent. This is a lovely quiet village with lovely views and an excellent base for people to stay who like walking and visiting the local sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    59
    24
    21
    14
See reviews for
46
99
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights and loved it.
We had a super king size bed which was huge and so comfortable. The Rooms are simple, clean and tidy. And exceeded out expectations. We ate dinner twice in the restaurant and loved it. Prices are more than reasonable and the quality of food again exceeds expectations! The breakfast is excellent and well cooked with quality ingredients. Fab location with stunning views, would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay and we will definitely return! Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clankyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Enjoyed our 3 day stay,good food and good company. Our hosts Adam and Helen were charming,friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Our room and onsuite bathroom were clean and comfortable.
A welcoming bar and Inn full of character.Plenty of parking.
We look forward to our next visit.
Thank you to Adam and Helen for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granonskates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Booked via the internet & found this to be a good base to explore Snowdonia. We had room 4 which has the 4 poster bed. This was more than adequate for 2 people. I've noted other comments about the ensuite facilities, our shower was excellent - strong flow & hot - what more could you want? The bathrooms are small but this was not an issue for us. The room is at the front of the Hotel which has a great aspect but be aware if you're a light sleeper this also fronts onto the A470 so there will be some traffic noise. The standard of the food was good, as stated by others the breakfast is very good (the sausages in particular). We had one evening meal where we both had the Steak Pie which was very tasty but our only minor criticism is that there could be more Veg served with the dish. The decor may not be to everyone's tastes but the building does have some old charm about it. We found the owners to be very approachable particularly when we had to cut short our stay due to sudden work commitments. All in all a nice place to stay which is very well placed for getting about the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building will get noise from the A470.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boudreaux1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Friendly enough on the phone, liked the breakfasts (we stayed a couple of nights) but tired and a little stained, fairly clean but attention to detail lacking. Dusty film on the milk in the jug, cramped room with just a double bed (comfy though). Shower was a poor dribble of variably temperatured water, no change of towels, make your own bed. Decor slips from ecclectic into confusing. The work of generations of DIY bodgers is showcased widely which some may find charming. Disappointing overall, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuzziBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomingHosts, Owner at Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are sorry that these guests were not entirely happy with their stay. We're not sure which room they refer to as none of our rooms have just a double bed. We do service the rooms daily which always includes making the bed and also includes a towel change where necessary or requested. Again, not sure about which room, so find the shower problem frustrating. We've never received any complaint before or since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very quiet location spoilt by a noisy room (8). Nice breakfast and restaurant which was reasonably priced. Bedroom a bit rundown with a very creaky bed..... Shower very small and your derriere was touching the shower curtain as it was so small.

Good location for exploring the Snowdonia National Park but very quiet at night in the village, only 2 pubs both of which were dead on a Friday night!

Room Tip: Not room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomingHosts, Owner at Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Again, it is great to receive compliments from our guests about our food - thank you.

Yes, the room and shower are small and we market this room as being our budget room because of this. As such the room rate reflects this. It seems harsh to book a 'budget' room and then complain about it being a budget room. With regards to the bed, however, now it has been drawn to our attention, it is squeak-free.

Sorry that you found the village 'dull' and lacking in night-life. Perhaps when you next visit the area, maybe a town such as Rhyl or Colwyn Bay would be more suitable for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed one night in the bunkhouse during August. It is has basic facilities, ie. 2 bunkbeds and a small ensuite but what more do you need or even expect with £10pppn. We had a nice warm welcome and were even given pillows after some of ours were damp from the night before.
Dogs are even welcome in the bunkhouse for no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
4.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
21.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0EJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolwyddelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely historical inn with all modern comforts. Beautiful location in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Friendly and comfortable with excellent breakfasts and dinner. Family friendly with ideal family suites. Cosy bar with log-burning stove. Great Welsh castle just a short walk away. Stunning views. Free parking and high-speed broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elen's Castle Hotel And Restaurant Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing