We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Dolwyddelan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Ate here twice during a weekend's stay in the village with friends. As we had our dog with us, we were offered a table in the bar which was compact and cosy. Food was reasonably priced, tasty and with generous portions. Good welcoming atmosphere with chatty owners and customers alike.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

My family, dogs and myself spent three days at this lovely place in early November. We were made very welcome despite our late arrival and were most impressed with our suite of three rooms and bathroom. The hotel manages to cater for a fascinating mix of locals and guests in the bar, good Welsh beer and conversation flowed freely every night, and it was particularly nice to chat with the owners who were attentive to customers and pets alike.
Breakfasts are perfectly cooked and plentiful, with fantastic mountain views from the dining room and books and maps on the shelves to inspire guests to think about the days' adventures.
Despite the dreadful weather during our stay, the rooms were cosy and warm with extremely comfortable beds! The evening menu was well thought out, well cooked and the portions were very generous.
In all, we were very happy with our stay and considered it to be a lovely little hotel offering great value, and the off-season 'three nights for the price of two' was a lovely surprise.

By the way, having read a few other (completely bonkers) reviews, anyone actually prepared to make the effort to find out the history of the building would then understand why it is called Elen's Castle. Its is quite obviously not an actual castle, but a helpful, friendly and pleasant place to while away a long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was meeting up with 8 photo club friends for a Snowdonia weekend and sadly I booked for us all to stay here ! We had booked for dinner x 3 nights but cancelled after the first night.

the lady of the establishment, was clearly p'eed off that we all sat having a drink in the bar, about the front window and the fireplace - as she has to pass by to get to her living room :( and our presence inconvenienced her.

the bacon was hardly cooked and we explained (to the husband cooking breakfast) we preferred ours nearly crispy and without the fat on.

In our room, I did not dare to use the electric twin socket, which was not fitted secure to the wall. The ensuite (the size of two RED telephone boxes) was ok if you were very small - we let taller and bigger friends have our bigger bedroom, with the proper en suite.

Bed linen was clean and room neat & tidy.

Betws-y-Coed is nearby with great restaurants and hotels and B & Bs

I shall refrain from saying any more, but beware!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chevvy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I've just had another lovely week in Dolwyddelan I really like this friendly Hotel, I had a nice room with everything I needed including internet access. My special reason for choosing this hotel is it's Dog Friendly. Adam and Helen and the staff work hard here and do their best to make your stay the best it can be. The Hotel is set in such a beautifull location. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at Ellen's Castle Hotel, the owners were friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the double room with an on suite it was cosy, warm and very clean and had everything we needed. If you are looking for somewhere with tons of character and charm then this is the place to stay. Breakfast was lovely and the evening meal we had was excellent. This is a lovely quiet village with lovely views and an excellent base for people to stay who like walking and visiting the local sites.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights and loved it.
We had a super king size bed which was huge and so comfortable. The Rooms are simple, clean and tidy. And exceeded out expectations. We ate dinner twice in the restaurant and loved it. Prices are more than reasonable and the quality of food again exceeds expectations! The breakfast is excellent and well cooked with quality ingredients. Fab location with stunning views, would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay and we will definitely return! Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clankyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Enjoyed our 3 day stay,good food and good company. Our hosts Adam and Helen were charming,friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Our room and onsuite bathroom were clean and comfortable.
A welcoming bar and Inn full of character.Plenty of parking.
We look forward to our next visit.
Thank you to Adam and Helen for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granonskates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
10.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
701 reviews
1 mi away
Lledr House Hostel
Lledr House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Dolwyddelan
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0EJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolwyddelan
Price Range: £79 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely historical inn with all modern comforts. Beautiful location in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Friendly and comfortable with excellent breakfasts and dinner. Family friendly with ideal family suites. Cosy bar with log-burning stove. Great Welsh castle just a short walk away. Stunning views. Free parking and high-speed broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elen's Castle Hotel And Restaurant Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing