We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Night Break In North Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Dolwyddelan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here from 12th to 15th July 2014. Very friendly and helpful Owners Adam and Helen. Excellent food, breakfast and dinner each day. Lovely view of the scenery from the bedroom window and a very good location for exploring North Wales. Nice walks right from the hotel. Comfortable bed and clean room. Very good value for money. Slight negatives which didn`t spoil the stay, right on a fairly busy road and a general redecoration would enhance the hotel considerably. Will stay there again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the best view but may suffer more early morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bob1946ltfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived on Sunday 29th June until Thursday 4th July and spent a wonderful few days rest. The food was excellent and location very scenic.
Great base to travel around Snowdonia.
Adam & Helen are the perfect hosts and the hotel was traditional and cosy.
Our compliments to the chef for a perfect steak pie

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

my family called in on monday 26th may for a meal, car park had 2 cars in it, asked at the bar if they had a table for 4 and was told they had none available, this place is in the middle of nowhere and it was far from being busy, i put it down to the fact we are english as i found this to be the case for most of the weekend in north wales!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
10  Thank trueblue10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomingHosts, Owner at Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

This is NONESENSE!!! WE ARE ENGLISH!!!!! We find this review UNBELIEVBLE. Are you sure you have the right place? I am from Staffordshire and my husband is from Derby. We are the MOST UNDERSTANDING and WELCOMING to any English people. If you did get the right place then the reason you were turned away is because our restaurant was GENUINELY FULLY BOOKED. Yes, we are in the middle of nowhere but we are often fully booked as our award-winning restaurant is popular. If you are ever in the area again, please call on 01690 750207 to book a table in advance and we will do our very best to fit you in. IF YOU ARE READING THIS REVIEW, PLEASE NOTE THIS MUST BE A MISTAKE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just had a weekend here. Same as every year.
Our group stay here every year as a base for walking, sight seeing. We always have great service, friendly atmosphere & wonderful food. Photos are too big to upload.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, choose a room at the rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Didn't stay here, but stayed in a cottage down the road. We enjoyed three evening meals in the restaurant and drinks afterwards, we found Adam and Helen to be perfect hosts. Very friendly and hospitable, small, cosy & quaint. The beef pie from the menu was to die for and the chocolate fudge cake was very good too! Would definitely consider staying in the hotel if we visit the area again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tracyk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Booked two nights, hotel not to our standard internet pictures unrealistic decided to leave after one night, hotel management insisted we paid for two night even though the rest of hotel was half full, we were recommended best room as it has best view coat of two nights in there best room was £180 in my opinion should have only been charged one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ANN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from four nights at Elen's Castle with my kids. As an experienced TA reviewer I know this could go anyway depending on the reviewer. The fussy & pernicaty (real word?) could find fault but in my opinion the faults I could elaborate on are not worth the bother, lick of paint, bit more hoover action, so what. Food not Le Manoir but who needs to pay £90 a head, small menu which is always a good thing, we trawled most of it without complaint, when my kids are happy I'm happy, and they were. Staff friendly and when I couldn't get a taxi on Easter Sunday Adam responded above the call of duty by dropping us off and picking us up when called, and dropped at the station when we left, cost - £0. This place is not a 5 star gastronomic heaven but I have no complaints and would recommend without question.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zarniwoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
4.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
788 reviews
3.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
696 reviews
4.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0EJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolwyddelan
Price Range: £71 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely historical inn with all modern comforts. Beautiful location in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Friendly and comfortable with excellent breakfasts and dinner. Family friendly with ideal family suites. Cosy bar with log-burning stove. Great Welsh castle just a short walk away. Stunning views. Free parking and high-speed broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elen's Castle Hotel And Restaurant Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing