We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location if you want to visit this lovely part of Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Dolwyddelan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location if you want to visit this lovely part of Wales”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed for a week at Elens Castle in May 2009, having stayed there the year before. It was just as good the second time around. The hotel is a three hundred year old building in a quiet village 5 miles from Betwys-y-Coed. It is ideal as a base if you like exploring the countryside in this lovely part of Wales. The village also has a railway station on the Conwy Valley line, with very reasonable fares, if you want to visit Conwy, Betwys, Llandudno, Blenau etc. and give the car a rest.

I found it very difficult to find anything to criticise. Elen's Castle's owners, Adam and Helen are very friendly, as are all the staff. The rooms I found better than expected bearing in mind the age of the building. The food really is excellent - try the cranberry and brie wellington, or the raspberry cheesecake if on the menu. It is clear that the owners are improving the hotel year on year - new double glazing as an example - while retaining the charm of the original building. Ok, so it's not 5 star - if you want to stay in a plastic hotel with muzak, then look elsewhere. If you like a place with character, an open fire, good food, and the personal touch then this is for you.

I will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    63
    24
    21
    15
See reviews for
50
102
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Came for a long weekend, 4 nights. Had read the reviews already published on TripAdvisor so had high expectations, we were not disappointed. Clean & tidy entrance hall and friendly welcome from Adam on arrival. Had room reservation, room key and dinner reservation on hand so no delay. Warm ,cosy bar area with wood burning stove, drink prices very reasonable. Waiting staff very good. Food was very good, welsh beef, welsh lamb, etc, all excellent quality.

Breakfast was very good, lovely bacon, I guess that was Welsh too but forgot to ask, so don't know for sure. It was always piping hot.

Went to the bar each evening for a pre-dinner drink and was soon being asked if I would my 'usual' !!

This is a lovely place to stay and will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Enjoyed our stay in Elen's Castle. Food was excellent, staff very attentive and friendly. Liked the bar area. Room OK for sleeping, changing etc but too small for comfortable chairs for you to sit in and read but then we came mostly to be out walking and sight-seeing, so not a problem for us. Toilet and shower rather cramped but again OK for us. Glad we had room at side of house as might have found traffic noise a nuisance in front bedrooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband & I stayed for 3 nights just before Easter & felt completely at ease straight away by the friendly welcome. We were very surprised and then delighted by the high standard of the 3 course evening meal for £17.50 each (special offer on at the time) the breakfast was excellent with no cheap cereals and absolutely delicious bacon. We stayed in room 6 which overlooked the garden, it was clean and comfy, the tele reception was poor on some stations but this did not bother us at all. The shower/toilet was very small but clean with lashings of hot water and perfectly good enough for our stay. We found staying in the village of Dolwyddelan an advantage as we were out of the hustle & bustle of Betsy co-ed and central enough for all the major sight seeing venues. We wish Adam & Helen lots of luck for the future and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4bearsWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

My wife and I stayed there from the 18-21st February 2009 for a chill out break away from it all. All of the staff are friendly and you feel like you've known them for years.

Nothing is too much of a problem and food quality is excellent and drinks prices reasonable. There was only one thing wrong with our stay and that was that we couldn't stay longer. A great location to explore North Wales and the scenic views from the front rooms are almost unbelievable.

It may have been our first visit but it won't be the last.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaxiJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerwent
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at Elen's Castle Hotel we had a very warm welcome on arrival and spent a very enjoyable two days. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was homely and freindly. The Hotel is situated in a good location for walking sightseeing and driving.

  • Liked — Clenliness, Food and Freindly Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Was'nt anything not to like
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notdoneroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at Elen's Castle with a group of friends to help celebrate my 40th birthday!

It's a lovely family run hotel - home from home type place - warm, welcoming, clean, comfortable and very friendly.

I stayed in room 2 - a four poster bed and immaculately clean en suite - the floor is a bit wonky, but what do you expect from a place dating back 300 years?! ... all part of the charm of the place. It does face on to the main road through the village, but it was very quiet and the view out the window beyond the road, probably rates as one of the finest you could wish for.

The bar is really cosy. There is a wood burning stove, ancient slate floor and everybody sits around chatting all night, before and after dinner. The food is really good - simple - but very tasty and plenty of it.

  • Liked — The friendly reception
  • Disliked — The rain
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 40thWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
4.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
738 reviews
4.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
10.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
170 reviews
4.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0EJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolwyddelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely historical inn with all modern comforts. Beautiful location in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Friendly and comfortable with excellent breakfasts and dinner. Family friendly with ideal family suites. Cosy bar with log-burning stove. Great Welsh castle just a short walk away. Stunning views. Free parking and high-speed broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elen's Castle Hotel And Restaurant Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing