We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Einion House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Einion House
Ranked #1 of 2 Fairbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned from an excellent two night stay at Einion House. Everything was to a very high standard with exceptionally clean rooms. Breakfast was delicious - a great start to the day. Lovely to return at the end of the day to a cosy lounge with a small and reasonably priced bar area. Thanks to Alvin and David for looking after us so well. We are looking forward to returning with the rest of the family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aholmes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, which we greatly appreciate. Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope your onward journey through Barmouth and Harlech and the Llyn Peninsula was a very enjoyable one, and also brought back some nostalgic memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our first visit to Einion House was lovely. The accommodation, the welcome and attention during our stay were fabulous. The scenery, area and weather were stunning. Our room was clean, comfortable, had a beautiful view and the facilities were far more than adequate. The hospitality was warm and friendly and attention to detail was evident from the range of both written and verbal information provided. Looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paws4thawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to write this review which we greatly appreciate. We are both pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to also enjoy your visit to this part of Mid - Wales, and Cardigan Bay. We look forward to seeing you whenever you are next able to make it back. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We visited Einion house for a night during our wales tour. We stayed in the family suite. The room was better than expected, so we all think that pictures and reviews do not do it justice. Everything was very clean and facilities were first class. Even the toilet paper was luxurious-not at all common in hotels and b&bs.
It is in an ideal location if what you need is a quiet holiday or just a bed for the night.
The owners were very helpful and accommodating. Communication was amazing and they always tried to meet our needs. Breakfast was fresh and tasty, although breakfast scedhule may be a bit limiting.

Overall I would recommend Einion house to anyone, as I think that it is a great place to be around Snowdonia.
Many thanks to David and Alvin

Room Tip: family room may suit groups of friends and family perfectly and it is much more affordable than two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssmigol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your very kind comments; we both greatly appreciate it. We work hard to try and give our guests a home from home experience and so we were grateful to know your comments. We do also hope you managed to have a good trip through Snowdon and Chester and that you had an enjoyable trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have been visiting David and Alvin for a few years now and hope to continue to do so for many years to come. We try to visit 2 or 3 times as a year as we love it!!! The hospitality is second to none and because of their great attitude towards the way they run their business, and treat their customers, we have come to feel that David and Alvin are friends. A nice cup of coffee in the lounge on arrival is always a treat After a long drive. The rooms are spotless and we always feel like we are the First people to ever stay in there. I don't often have the full breakfast, as i love my morning porridge, however my fiancé always looks forward to them :) einion house truly is a home away from home for us.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watergate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we both greatly appreciate it. It was great to see you back here and we do both hope you all enjoyed being back. Fortunately the weather wasn’t against you which can be the case in February. We hope you enjoyed your Sunday morning going to Dolgellau Market and maybe even made it to Corris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I booked Einion House for a weekend away for my husband's birthday. We were actually the only people staying on the nights we were there (it was winter, and term time, so not surprising I suppose). Alvin met us at the door when we arrived, after a couple of hours' dark and rainy driving, and brought us tea in the residents' lounge, which is very comfy and has a lovely woodburning stove which gives out a lot of heat - very welcome!

Our room was at the top of the house - king size (very comfortable) bed, large bathroom with shower and bath, complimentary toiletries and Ferrero Rocher, and two large windows. We didn't see the views until the next morning, but (despite drizzle) the view across to the Mawddach estuary towards Barmouth was lovely.

Breakfast was very good - though I think we were a bit of a disappointment, because neither of us are really breakfast eaters - a good selection of cereals and fruit, plus a cooked English breakfast, with delicious bacon and sausage from a local butcher.

David and Alvin were very friendly and chatty, and gave us lots of ideas for walks and things to do with our days. We walked up to the Blue Lake, with very clear directions from them, which was an absolutely beautiful place. They also recommended a couple of places for eating out, including Indiana Cuisine Indian restaurant in Fairbourne (about 4 mins drive / 15-20 mins walk away) which was fantastic.

The house was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable, and we will definitely stay there again. Definitely the best B&B we've stayed in for a long time (probably ever!) - highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: King size room (room 7 I think) on top floor at the back of the house - lovely big room, with great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twomules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your very kind comments; we both greatly appreciate it. We are glad we were able to help you both have an enjoyable stay and your partner have an enjoyable birthday. You were certainly not a disappointment for not having had all the breakfast. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed the local walks.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have tried other places in this area as we have family living nearby but Einion House and Alvin & David never cease to amaze us. We had a different room this time, the one they have tried to get us to go in a few times before but we stuck to "our" room, now we have a new favourite room! Alvin must have a brain like a sponge as he remembers everything about all their guests (i found this out by evesdropping at breakfast) and Davids food and garden are a credit to him. If it was possible to have more than 100%, this place & those young men would definitely score it !

Room Tip: The views out the back are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyjoydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Alvin & David operate a first-class guest house, and were most accommodating and friendly. We appreciated being offered tea and coffee when our cousin arrived, and having our laundry done and folded neatly. The cleanliness of our rooms, the dining room and the common areas was impeccable. The breakfasts were wholesome, delicious, satisfying, and served with attention to detail. My husband and I along with our adult son appreciated the 2-bedroom accommodation with comfortable beds. It was lovely to look out and see the pastoral scene with the sea beyond. We would certainly return to Einion House on our next visit to the UK.
Clair, Val, & Ro

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your very kind comments; we both greatly appreciate it. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your first visit to Mid Wales to see your cousin, an enjoyable one. We also hope you managed to get some R&R, and see all that you wanted when visiting Britian. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Einion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einion House

Address: Friog, Fairbourne LL38 2NX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Fairbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbourne
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Einion House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales graded quality 4 star Guest House/ Bed and Breakfast(B & B) on the edge of Snowdonia National Park and 5 minutes walk from Friog Beach. Our B&B is in Fairbourne 8 miles from Dolgellau (15 mins drive) and Tywyn (15 mins drive) and across the Mawddach estuary opposite Barmouth which is 5 mins by train from Fairbourne in Mid Wales. We offer views across Cardigan Bay to Llyn Peninsular. All our B&B rooms are en-suite and most have a sea view. Make us your base for great nearby attractions like the Blue Lake and The Wales coastal path, Fairbourne Railway, the Mawddach Trail and Barmouth bridge, cycle route 8, catch the train to Barmouth or along the Cambrian coastline, Cregennen Lakes, Cader Idris, Tal-y-llyn Railway, Centre for Alternative Technology, Coed y Brenin, Cycle route 8, Snowdonia, Port Merion, Harlech castle, Tal-y-Llyn Railway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Einion House Fairbourne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing