We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, clean, welcoming B&B by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Einion House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Einion House
Ranked #1 of 4 Fairbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, clean, welcoming B&B by the sea”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were recommended this B&B by a local and stopped off here about 8pm at night after spending the day walking Cadair Idris. Alvin was incredibly welcoming considering we arrived so late in the day without much prior notice. This B&B is really clean, and modern. The views of the Mawddach Estuary were spectacular too.

We had a restful stay and in the morning we were served an excellent cooked breakfast...again with the views! Alvin was really chatty and helpful throughout and it was obvious he really enjoyed his job! We were recommended to walk up to the Blue Lake just above the B&B, which we did and it was fantastic. Go and see for yourself!

Eat at Cafe Indiana, about a mile away in Fairbourne.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back of the B&B for amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your very kind comments which we both greatly appreciate. We are really glad you manged to get to the Blue lake and enjoy the place and we hope you also enjoyed the great views from there looking over fairbourne and Barmouth. We think it is a magical place and now forms part of the All Wales Coastal Path.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
144
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our two night stay at Einion House was very enjoyable. We have a three year old and wanted a family room, it did not disappoint. All facilities were provided and in excellent condition with a TV in both rooms this allowed us to stay up longer when he had gone to bed. Views from our room to the rear of the property over to Fairbourne and Barmouth beyond were glorious. Alvin and David were very welcoming and the cooked breakfast was superb. They were very knowledgeable about the area and very interested in their guests. I also like the idea of the bar and next time we visit we will make sure we bring the baby monitor so we can make full use of it! The stay made my return to Fairbourne after 30 years very special.

Room Tip: If you have small children then the family room is perfect as there are two beds and a tv so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, which we greatly appreicate.
We hope your visit to Barmouth and Fairbourne brought back some fond nostalgic memories of the area. In addition we hope your son enjoyed his trip on the Fairbourne Railway, before heading back home.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

HAd a grand stay at Einion house. A genuinely warm welcome on arrival and our hosts were knowledgable about the area. Rooom of a decent size, recently refurbed to a good standard, breakfast excellent., Fab views and good value for money. We would certainly stay again and recommend to anyone in the area. Cheers A and D

Room Tip: Room to the rear have a grand view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and your kind comments. We are both pleased we were able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one, and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you were not aching too much after your climb up Cader Idris, and were able to make the most of the Sunday and your trip to Barmouth before heading back home.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned from an excellent two night stay at Einion House. Everything was to a very high standard with exceptionally clean rooms. Breakfast was delicious - a great start to the day. Lovely to return at the end of the day to a cosy lounge with a small and reasonably priced bar area. Thanks to Alvin and David for looking after us so well. We are looking forward to returning with the rest of the family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aholmes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, which we greatly appreciate. Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope your onward journey through Barmouth and Harlech and the Llyn Peninsula was a very enjoyable one, and also brought back some nostalgic memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our first visit to Einion House was lovely. The accommodation, the welcome and attention during our stay were fabulous. The scenery, area and weather were stunning. Our room was clean, comfortable, had a beautiful view and the facilities were far more than adequate. The hospitality was warm and friendly and attention to detail was evident from the range of both written and verbal information provided. Looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paws4thawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to write this review which we greatly appreciate. We are both pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to also enjoy your visit to this part of Mid - Wales, and Cardigan Bay. We look forward to seeing you whenever you are next able to make it back. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We visited Einion house for a night during our wales tour. We stayed in the family suite. The room was better than expected, so we all think that pictures and reviews do not do it justice. Everything was very clean and facilities were first class. Even the toilet paper was luxurious-not at all common in hotels and b&bs.
It is in an ideal location if what you need is a quiet holiday or just a bed for the night.
The owners were very helpful and accommodating. Communication was amazing and they always tried to meet our needs. Breakfast was fresh and tasty, although breakfast scedhule may be a bit limiting.

Overall I would recommend Einion house to anyone, as I think that it is a great place to be around Snowdonia.
Many thanks to David and Alvin

Room Tip: family room may suit groups of friends and family perfectly and it is much more affordable than two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmigol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your very kind comments; we both greatly appreciate it. We work hard to try and give our guests a home from home experience and so we were grateful to know your comments. We do also hope you managed to have a good trip through Snowdon and Chester and that you had an enjoyable trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have been visiting David and Alvin for a few years now and hope to continue to do so for many years to come. We try to visit 2 or 3 times as a year as we love it!!! The hospitality is second to none and because of their great attitude towards the way they run their business, and treat their customers, we have come to feel that David and Alvin are friends. A nice cup of coffee in the lounge on arrival is always a treat After a long drive. The rooms are spotless and we always feel like we are the First people to ever stay in there. I don't often have the full breakfast, as i love my morning porridge, however my fiancé always looks forward to them :) einion house truly is a home away from home for us.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watergate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we both greatly appreciate it. It was great to see you back here and we do both hope you all enjoyed being back. Fortunately the weather wasn’t against you which can be the case in February. We hope you enjoyed your Sunday morning going to Dolgellau Market and maybe even made it to Corris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairbourne
2.2 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
188 reviews
6.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,392 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.6 mi away
Brackenhurst House
Brackenhurst House
#1 of 1 in Fairbourne
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einion House

Property: Einion House
Address: Friog, Fairbourne LL38 2NX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Fairbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Einion House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales graded quality 4 star Guest House/ Bed and Breakfast(B&B) on the edge of Snowdonia National Park and 5 minutes walk from Friog Beach. Our B&B is in Fairbourne 8 miles from Dolgellau (15 mins drive) and Tywyn (15 mins drive) and across the Mawddach estuary opposite Barmouth in Mid Wales - 5 mins by train from Fairbourne. We offer views across Cardigan Bay to Llyn Peninsular. All our B & B rooms are en-suite and most have a sea view. Make us your base for great nearby attractions like the Blue Lake and The Wales coastal path, Fairbourne Railway, the Mawddach Trail and Barmouth bridge, cycle route 8, catch the train to Barmouth or along the Cambrian coastline, Cregennen Lakes, Cader Idris, Tal-y-llyn Railway, Centre for Alternative Technology, Coed y Brenin, Cycle route 8, Snowdonia, Port Merion, Harlech castle, Tal-y-Llyn Railway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Einion House Fairbourne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing