We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional B&B”
Review of Einion House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Einion House
Ranked #1 of 2 Fairbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Apart from being spotlessly clean, having comfortable beds and fine breakfasts, Einion House has David and Alvin who are the perfect hosts: friendly and helpful, but not obtrusive. We enjoyed the location, with its mix of mountains, sea, farmland, and of course, great walking.

We shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donovan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and your very kind comments, we both greatly appreciate it. We do hope you managed to do all that you wanted and enjoyed exploring Fairbourne and surrounding area. Thank you again very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

My daughter and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Einion House.....and an absolute pleasure it was!! From the kindness and warmth of Alvin, one of the owners, and the very very comfortable (and spotless) room to the wonderful breakfast ..... it indeed was a joy! I would highly recommend Einion House, and it is my hope that we have the opportunity to return one day. Thanks you both Alvin and David.......you have created a true gem!!!

Room Tip: Any room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and for your very kind comments, we both greatly appreciate it. We know you had a detour to meet up with your friends but we also hope you managed to see some of Fairbourne and Dolgellau before heading on the rest of your travels which we hope you enjoyed. Thank you again very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I really loved my stay at the Einion and I already can't wait to go back. I had not visited the area before but the combined experience of ease of access (by train in my case), fantastic scenery and this delightful accommodation made it a short break that I will not forget. David and Alvin are the perfect hosts, charming and easy to chat to, and have a real eye for detail. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast, locally sourced, is delicious with plenty of choice. Many a starry hotel could learn a lot from the attention to detail that David and Alvin achieve here.

Room Tip: Garden view was quiet and pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review which we both greatly appreciate. We were pleased you enjoyed your visit to Fairbourne and surrounding area including Tal-y-llyn and Fairbourne Railway and your trip to Barmouth.
Thank you also for your very kind comments which we both greatly appreciate
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The B&B was very close to the beautiful Blue lake and Wales Path. The owners, Alvin and David, were very friendly and helpful, explained us were to go what to see. It was a nice stay.
The room was nice, spacious and clean, coffe/tea facilities, nice en-suite. The breakfast was also good. Will definitely recommend it.

Tanya & Kirill

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments which we both appreciate. It was great to meet you and we were pleased you enjoyed the Blue Lake and walked some of the All Wales coastal path. We also hope you enjoyed your trip to South Wales, and managed to go past Taly-Y-Llyn Lake and Cader Idris on your way south.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have just returned from our third short break at Einion House.

We have discovered a fantastic place to get away from it all. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable - on the last two occasions we have had the King Size, which is beautifully furnished and has every comfort. There are nice touches with the refreshments tray, which not only has tea and coffee, but hot chocolate drinks and a Ferrero Roche!

Once again we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast, with the option of melon and grapefruit as well as cereal. Everything was cooked with care and was sourced locally. There is a small bar with drinks very reasonably priced (£1.50 for a glass of wine!)

David and Alvin are wonderful hosts and provide a service which is second-to-none.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you again for chossing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write the review and very kind comments. We both hope that your trip gave you the R&R you wanted and that your trip on the Tal-y-llyn steam railway and your visit to Barmouth & Dolgellau helped in giving you an enjoyable and relaxing time in North Wales.
Thank you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Outstanding service - Alvin was outside the door expecting us as we parked the car. Room more than spacious and well-appointed, only the shower was a bit of a let-down (not much power). Breakfast great, both owners extremely knowledgeable and helpful and the walks around the area fantastic (especially the one-of-a-kind slate quarry with its miraculous blue waters). Was a bit of a drive from Cardiff, however perfect for a getaway. Would have been nice to see it in summer too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments, which is greatly appreciated.
We were pleased you enjoyed the walk to the Blue Lake and also your trip to Barmouth. We hope you managed to do the Precipice Walk and/or Torrent Walk near Dolgellau on the Sunday before heading back to Cardiff.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

After an excellent day's walk along the Wales Coast Path, I only made it to Fairbourne as darkness fell, and Einion House was a very welcome sight indeed. David greeted me with a much-needed cup of tea, and provided good advice about local eating places. My room was very comfortable, and I enjoyed a fine breakfast the next morning while watching sheep being rounded up in the fields below the house. A brilliant place to stay!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we both greatly appreciate it. We hope you completed the section of the All Wales Costal Path in good time and had a very enjoyable walk from here, Across Barmouth Bridge, through Barmouth and onto Harlech and beyond, and in particular enjoyed the scenery of the area. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairbourne
2.5 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
212 reviews
10.0 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brackenhurst House
Brackenhurst House
#1 of 1 in Fairbourne
70 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
2.3 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einion House

Address: Friog, Fairbourne LL38 2NX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Fairbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbourne
Price Range: £38 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Einion House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales graded quality 4 star Guest House/ Bed and Breakfast(B & B) on the edge of Snowdonia National Park and 5 minutes walk from Friog Beach. Our B&B is in Fairbourne 8 miles from Dolgellau (15 mins drive) and Tywyn (15 mins drive) and across the Mawddach estuary opposite Barmouth which is 5 mins by train from Fairbourne in Mid Wales. We offer views across Cardigan Bay to Llyn Peninsular. All our B&B rooms are en-suite and most have a sea view. Make us your base for great nearby attractions like the Blue Lake and The Wales coastal path, Fairbourne Railway, the Mawddach Trail and Barmouth bridge, cycle route 8, catch the train to Barmouth or along the Cambrian coastline, Cregennen Lakes, Cader Idris, Tal-y-llyn Railway, Centre for Alternative Technology, Coed y Brenin, Cycle route 8, Snowdonia, Port Merion, Harlech castle, Tal-y-Llyn Railway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Einion House Fairbourne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing