We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Einion House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Einion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Fairbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a well kept secret in this wonderful part of Wales. Alvin and David were perfect hosts. A personal plus was having the joy of feather pillows and duvee. The full breakfast was delicious, especially the tomatoes.We have already booked for our next visit in September.

Room Tip: Just go for the rooms with a view! Amenities are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We would both like to thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us and also for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, which we both greatly appreciate. We know you enjoy visiting the area and your family but we would also like to thank you for choosing to come back to stay with us.
Thank you again very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
145
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We enjoyed an overnight stay here while walking part of the coastal path. We were made very welcome, and had a comfortable night's sleep followed by an excellent breakfast.
It's a little way from Fairbourne, so without a car it would be best to eat a meal in Barmouth as we did, if walking through there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We do hope you enjoyed and completed this part of the Wales Coastal Path successfully after leaving us and enjoyed going past the Blue Lake on your walk south. We are also pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay at Einion House B & B. Just to let you know that Fairbourne is a 12 minute walk from us which has a good fish and chip shop and Indian restaurant as well as a pub, for somewhere to eat; though if you are walking from Barmouth to Fairbourne, eating in Barmouth may be the better option.
We would both like to thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us and also for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, which we both greatly appreciate.
Thank you again very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had stayed at Einion House as a child in the 1960s so this was a noatalgia trip. The place still has is character but now has all mod cons and is impeccably kept. David and Alvin were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was cooked to order. Weather was baking hot so we didn't get to expericence the fluffy duvet which was put to one side but the room was comfortable and the bathroom bright and clean. It was lovely to have a sea view. We went with the intention of walking the Mawddach trail, which we did, and the short walk to the beach was great given the hot weather, It was also nice to get a drink from the bar and sit in the grarden to enjoy the warm evenings.

The Indian restaurant in Fairbourne is very good, but Fairbourne really does need more places to eat in the evening. However if you enjoy a walk before and after eating, taking the car ro Morfa Mawwdach then walking over the bridge gives plenty of options in Barmouth. This is why I've only marked location as average.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_from_Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
The walk along the Mawddach trail, your walk to Fairbourne and Fairbourne Beach to Penrhyn Point opposite Barmouth, and being back at Einion House B&B, we hope helped bring back some nostalgic memories for this area of Wales and helped you enjoy your stay here. Regarding location we would also like to point out that you can also catch the train at Fairbourne at 17:14pm to Barmouth and comeback on the 21:10 train which will give you more options with regards to getting something to eat though Fairbourne does also have a Fish and Chip shop as well as the Indian restaurant. We also have a pub in the next village 5 minutes drive away and a restaurant 10 minutes drive away at Penmaenpool.

We would both like to thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us and also for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, which we both greatly appreciate. Thank you again very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had a fantastic stay. Alvin and David do so much to make your stay great - nothing is too much trouble. My daughter was at Pantenion Hall with a school trip (I had to supervise her as she had a broken arm). The Hotel is gorgeous. The attention to detail and presentation is par excellence! - it is clear Alvins influence and taste is everywhere. The bedroom was of a quality I expect when I stay in a four star - in fact ive had worse - It was beautifully furnished. The finishing touches really do add to making your stay - ferrero rocher on top of the coffee cup etc. biscuit packs, tea bags coffee, shower gel and shampoo - all top quality - no temptation anywhere in the hotel to have done things on the cheap. The bathroom and shower were meticulously clean. The My vegetarian breakfast was excellent - cooked to order when I came down in the morning. Although I didn't use it there is a small bar with very reasonable prices - perhaps as well as Fairbourne doesn't have a pub...nearest is literally miles away. Everything was perfect - and that's down to the amount of hard work Alvin and David put into making your stay special - next time were down that way I have no hesitation in going back with the rest of the family. Beautiful people - beautiful hotel. Sending one of my Trip Advisor Decals - you deserve it you really do. Thank you. Ben.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a beautiful view of Fairbourne bay - the sunsets are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bj_the_dj_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We would both like to thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us and also for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, which we both greatly appreciate. We were very pleased to hear that we were able to help make your stay with us very comfortable.
We also hope you had a good day with your daughter and any excursion you may have gone on with her, as well as perhaps had time to visit Barmouth or Dolgellau before heading home.

Thank you again very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My father who is 97, my husband who has Parkinson's and myself stayed for 5 nights at Einion House and were very well satisfied. The place is extremely well run by Alvin and David who could not have been more helpful. Alvin greeted us on arrival and supplied a very welcome cup of tea then carried our luggage from the car to our rooms. He supplied us with all the information we needed for local train trips and a garage to deal with our flat tyre. We were able to take advantage of the free WiFi. The cooked breakfasts were expertly prepared by David and served by Alvin. The rooms were spotless and on leaving we had our cases brought down again and into the car. We would heartily recommend Einion House for able-bodied adults visiting Mid-Wales for a holiday. However, I would not recommend it for folk who are unable to climb stairs as there are no ground floor rooms and no lift. Anyone with children would need to be very careful as the car park is directly across a fairly busy and straight stretch of road where vehicles can travel rather fast. Although the accommodation is in itself first class the location is several miles from the nearest towns and the 'sea view' is actually beyond a large field and a railway line. Barmouth is visible across the estuary but the most direct route is by miniature railway from Fairbourne followed by a short trip on a small motor boat neither of which are suitable for those unable to walk. We found there was not a wide choice of local places for our evening meal. Having said that if you favour Indian cuisine we can highly recommend the Indiana restaurant in Fairbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We were pleased to hear we were able to help you enjoy your stay at Einion House. We hope you managed to enjoy the steam railway at Fairbourne and Tal-y-Llyn steam railway as well as your other excursions including your trip to Barmouth; and that you managed to get some more sightseeing done before proceeding home. We would both like to thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us and also for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, which we both greatly appreciate.

We also agree that we are not suited to guests who cannot climb stairs or may require a lift as our rooms are on the 1st and 2nd floor, and we regret we do not have a lift.
Also, although parking is opposite Einion House, it is possible to drop off or pick up people outside the entrance to Einion House, if safety is a concern.

We would just like to point out that we are 15 minutes walk from Fairbourne mainline train station which is also the quickest route to Barmouth being about 7 minutes by Train, and the best route if you do not want to drive. You can also park at Morfa Mawddach railway station and walk across Barmouth Bridge which takes about 20 minutes. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Indian restaurant, but there is also a very good Fish and Chip shop in Fairbourne and numerous restaurants within a fifteen minute drive from us.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place is great absolutely no complaints and we are tricky customers. Breakfast was amazing full english and sea view with cuckoos in the garden. Bar area is a real bonus as no local pub. sea view from room was unexpected but welcome. Alvins local knowledge was helpful and we will definitely be back very soon x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We hope your first visit to this side of Barmouth and your visit to Fairbourne and beach and the Mawddach estuary helped make your stay at Einion House enjoyable. We were also pleased that you managed to enjoy the view from your room. We would both like to thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us and also for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, which we both greatly appreciate.
Thank you again very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I previously stayed here and turned up late at night and Alvin quickly prepared a room for me. On my return this month he remembered my preferences and has catered for them! I can't fault Alvin for his service.

The rooms are spacious and the showers are very nice and hot! If there is a sea view room available get it as it is a good view out. Rooms and hotel is very clean and light. I also cannot fault either of the rooms I have had. I really do recommend this B&B.

Parking is on the other side of the road on the layby bit. The wifi is quick. If you want a swim the local pool is free (note this is also called the sea, its nice and shallow and was very warm for my dip today!)

While you are here I would recommend Indiana Cuisine in Fairbourne - amazing restaurant! I also recommend a walk up Cader Idris if you can manage it and Cregennan Lakes in Arthog, both are extremely stunning.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alv_P, Owner at Einion House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We would both like to thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us and also for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, which we both greatly appreciate. Thank you for coming back to stay with us recently; and for your recommendations to your colleagues to stay at Einion House B&B. We are pleased you hear you enjoyed your swim in our “free pool” the sea, and that you also managed to fit in and see the wonderful scenery of Cader Idris and The Cregennan Lakes, whilst also having to work your long and unsocial hours.

Thank you again very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairbourne
2.2 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.6 mi away
Brackenhurst House
Brackenhurst House
#1 of 1 in Fairbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einion House

Property: Einion House
Address: Friog, Fairbourne LL38 2NX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Fairbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Einion House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales graded quality 4 star Guest House/ Bed and Breakfast(B&B) on the edge of Snowdonia National Park and 5 minutes walk from Friog Beach. Our B&B is in Fairbourne 8 miles from Dolgellau (15 mins drive) and Tywyn (15 mins drive) and across the Mawddach estuary opposite Barmouth in Mid Wales - 5 mins by train from Fairbourne. We offer views across Cardigan Bay to Llyn Peninsular. All our B & B rooms are en-suite and most have a sea view. Make us your base for great nearby attractions like the Blue Lake and The Wales coastal path, Fairbourne Railway, the Mawddach Trail and Barmouth bridge, cycle route 8, catch the train to Barmouth or along the Cambrian coastline, Cregennen Lakes, Cader Idris, Tal-y-llyn Railway, Centre for Alternative Technology, Coed y Brenin, Cycle route 8, Snowdonia, Port Merion, Harlech castle, Tal-y-Llyn Railway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Einion House Fairbourne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing