We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sleep and no Lounge.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Mill Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mill Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No sleep and no Lounge.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Uncomfortable beds which need replacing. We were not offered the lounge even though we had two bedrooms. The dining room was still full of Christmas decorations. Good location for mountain biking. No welcoming afternoon teas like all other farmhouses we had stopped in. The towels dont dry you maybe too much fabric condtioner.
The surrounding restaurants are not good.
Will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenacre27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

we stayed at the old mill farmhouse with our two children in august.
we had the welsh mountain family suite. which was really nice and cosey, even though its on a main road, we didnt get any traffic noise at all.

The children loved collecting the eggs in the morning for breakfast, and the sheep dogs were so friendly with the children, my one year son was sharing his yogurt with them.
they also loved the railway which was a great and a fun start to the day.

Breakfast was really nice and a high chair was provided for our little one,
We were given eggs that our children had collected that morning to take home with us, which was a really nice touch.

We loved our farm stay and would definatley recommend it and will definatley be returning next year .

The only thing i would say is it would be much easier if the room had a shower as well as the bath.

Penny and Margaret were verly helpful and really welcoming

we will see you again next year

Thanks x

Room Tip: if you have children the welsh mountain suite is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelley-baby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Stayed here for one night whilst cycling across Wales on a sustrans route. Chose it as near Coed Y Brenin mountain bike park (great place to visit). Accomodation simple but clean and very helpful owner. Local village doesn't offer much and the only pub had limited "pub grub". Reccommend biking around the lake - great views.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_at_Coachouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed in Snowy Peaks - the cosy 4 poster room - over the Bank Holiday weekend. This is the most expensive of their rooms but still reasonable at £66pn incl breakfast. The room has a lovely, new en-suite shower room with a large shower cubicle. The room was very clean and comfortable. Parking is directly outside. Breakfast was pretty standard but perfectly good.

I enjoyed meeting the llamas, hens and shepdogs. Margaret is very happy to show you around.

The accomodation is less than 10 minutes drive from the MTB trails at Coed-y-Brenin.
The village of Trawsfynydd is very small but has a bank and a small store and pharmacy.

We ate at the Bryn Arms in nearby Gelliydan on the first night. Not recommended. Food at the bland end of your typical pub fare at about £8-10 per main dish. All microwaved and not at all satisfying. The only plus points were the large portions and the friendly service. The pub itself is lacking in atmosphere and more like a rugby club.

On the second night we ventured a bit further to Blauneau Ffestiniog and ate at Bistro Moelwyn on the High Street. Completely delicious and thorougly recommended! 3 courses each and a bottle each of water and of wine between us came to £54. Starters: aspargus, parma harm and achovies / pear and Perl Las (blue cheese) crostini. Mains: black bream with orange and fennel / sirloin steak with Perl Las sauce. Desserts: Banana and passion fruit pavlova (homemade meringue!). Do try it out if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valleygirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

I came across this place whilst searching for disabled holidays in North Wales, because I’m an amputee and wanted somewhere that catered for my needs. In terms of that, Old Mill Farmhouse, can’t be faulted. The accommodation is in two barn conversions. Firstly I could get the car right to the door of our room, secondly the bathroom was a walk-in wetroom with a disabled loo....first class! The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable; big thick stone walls for optimum temperature. The hosts, Margaret and Penny, can’t do enough for you, and if you’re lucky, Margaret will appear in Traditional Welsh costume for you at breakfast, which will be tasty and varied.

They have a few more quirks up their sleeves; an amazing model railway out the back and a couple of llamas which will walk up to you and give you a kiss if you’re lucky (or unlucky).

As far as the location is concerned it’s very well placed. It’s on the A470 opposite the village of Trawsfynydd, and from the farm you get good views of the lake and mountains. We did Portmeirion (20 minutes tops), Swallow Falls, Conwy (40 mins) Caernafon, Harlech (see it at night), Snowdon (40 mins) and there’s lots more within easy reach. Margaret’s a fount of information and she has all the leaflets organised in a professional and easy to understand way.

If you want to eat, ignore the poncy overpriced places and go to the Bryn Arms about 4 miles up the road in the village of Gellilydan. Honest good food!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Falstaff1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trawsfynydd
7.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Treks Bunkhouse
Treks Bunkhouse
#1 of 1 in Llan Ffestiniog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Farmhouse

Property: Old Mill Farmhouse
Address: Fron Oleu Farm, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century farmhouse with attractive lounge and dining room. Seven en-suite bedrooms located in the Old Haybarn and the Old Stables, sleep a maximun of 19 people. The buildings have been converted retaining oak beams and exposed stone walls. Garden, with pool, waterfall feature, attractive Japanese garden and garden railway, overlooks Trawsfynydd Lake. Bedrooms are level access, ideal for disabled/less ambulant. Generous breakfasts. Excellent for small cycling and walking groups. Secure bike storage. Beautiful area for photographers. Owners are keen photographers, producing Audio Visual sequences. Bring your sequences and entertain us all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Old Mill Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Farmhouse Trawsfynydd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing