We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Old Mill Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Mill Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked in over the 4 day Easter break for a mountain biking holiday.

We were greeted by Margaret and had a very warm welcome. Our room was lovely and the location ideal for quick and easy access to Coed-y-brenin. Breakfast was ready every morning at the time we requested, and although basic it was filling. Easter Sunday we were surprised with a card and chocolate eggs from the hosts.

A few things that would make me rethink another visit; the boiler was only turned on twice a day, in the morning and evening. As a mountain bikers, my husband and I wanted to shower when we got in from a day of riding, but on two occasions we had to take cold showers as the boiler didn't come on until evening and we got in late afternoon (3-4pm). Margaret did turn on the boiler but it took to long to heat (at least over 30mins) and we took cold showers to make the most of our day and not waist time. Another small point is that the towels don't dry.

Apart from the two points, albeit the warm water a very important one to us, we had a very enjoyable visit with great hosts.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debsiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked over the Phone not knowing what to see when we got there. The welcome was one of the best we have had at a time when things were busy, nothing was too much trouble. the rooms were very clean and well presented, the breakfast was all you wanted, presented by Margaret in National Dress. the garden is well worth seeing, the railway is not to be missed, and the wooden bridge is the best outside America, we had a great time and we will be back to enjoy the hospitality of two lovely ladies.

Room Tip: any room will be good, no traffic noise, but check for the size of room you want they are all differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincolnlad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We loved this B & B. The railway was enjoyed by all of us, and the children enjoyed having the animals to go and feed. The breakfast was excellent. Margaret and Liz really made us feel welcome, and they were very helpful with suggestions for days out. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would have appreciated a shower instead of a bath. The rooms were on the small side. It was awkward for us all to watch the TV at the same time, but then we didn't go there to spend our time watching TV. I have been recommending this B & B to our friends, and would love to go there again myself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redfibee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here numerous times over the last 10 years and always get the same warm friendly welcome from Penny and Margaret - rooms are always spotless & breakfast perfectly cooked - plenty of secure parking space which makes it a brilliant stay for mountain biking with Coed-y brenin just up the road! Home from home.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jill2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Location just out of the village, right on the main road. No attractions within walking distance except the lake. No decent pub/restaurant where you can get without a car. Rooms are small - we had a larger one and I can't imagine it getting any smaller. Service is poor - we had to leave around 8 and all we got for breakfast were toasts and cereals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I along with 4 friends stayed here in June 2012 and I have to say the welcome was first class.

After cycling some 125 miles to reach the Old mill farmhouse we were met by Margaret who was very welcoming.

The room I had was very pleasant which was clean and tidy with an en suite shower.

The breakfast the following morning was top class with a selection of cereals an a full cooked breakfast on offer.

I can thoroughly recommend a stay here. 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Margaret was an absolute pleasure to deal with, both before, as I had to amend our booking and during our visit. Four shattered cyclist and our back-up man arrived at 6.30pm to a friendly welcome, safe storage for our bikes and a great recommendation for our evening meal.
Our rooms were walm and dry, the beds comfortable and shower hot.
In the cosy breakfast was large (we were offered fruit, cereal and cooked and had the lot!) The reason for the grade five hygeine rating was apparent, it was all simply excellent, as was the service from Margaret and Penny. When we told them we were riding for charity they even made a donation to our event. Wholly recommended, 5-star welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trawsfynydd
6.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
17.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
14.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
11.0 mi away
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Farmhouse

Address: Fron Oleu Farm, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Price Range: £64 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century farmhouse with attractive lounge and dining room. Seven en-suite bedrooms located in the Old Haybarn and the Old Stables, sleep a maximun of 19 people. The buildings have been converted retaining oak beams and exposed stone walls. Garden, with pool, waterfall feature, attractive Japanese garden and garden railway, overlooks Trawsfynydd Lake. Bedrooms are level access, ideal for disabled/less ambulant. Generous breakfasts. Excellent for small cycling and walking groups. Secure bike storage. Beautiful area for photographers. Owners are keen photographers, producing Audio Visual sequences. Bring your sequences and entertain us all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mill Farmhouse Trawsfynydd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing