We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping & Barn perfect for outdoors”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Camping & Barn perfect for outdoors”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the camping fuels with friends in the camping barn while we tackled the trails at coed y brenin. Excellent campsite facilities including very hot power showers and every detail thought of such as plenty of clothes hooks in the showers, bike storage and a bike wash point. The barn was the best we've stayed in with a full kitchen and tea/coffee and plenty of hangers etc for wet kit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penyjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Love this place.. Everyone's so friendly and extremely helpful .. they will even pick you up from local pub !!! Sheep,chickens,alpacas .. not to mention views to die for !weather it's camping or b&b everyone is welcomed in the same manor x Sue & Dave keep doing what your doing.. It works !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100sue_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Really friendly owners, stunning panoramic views, on the doorstep walks / mountain biking trails, clean, tidy and great value accommodation and good breakfasts.... Stayed here a few times both camping and in the B&B, always had a really enjoyable time here, I highly recommend it for people who like the outdoors lifestyle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattC455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Mountain bikers planning a trip to Wales......Five of us rode at Antur Stiniog on Sat Dec 28th and then Coed y Brenin on the next day. We spent the night at Cae Gwyn camping barn. For £12 each you get a camp bed with insulated mat;tea and coffee;kettle;cooker;heater;bike store/wash;hot shower and even a T.V.
Dave or Sue will give you a lift to a great local pub for a hot meal and pint if you pay their petrol costs and the landlord will bring you back if you've eaten.
The barn is clean and simple,the facilities clean and more than adequate. The service is first class and could not be friendlier.

Room Tip: 6 or more can reserve the enire 12 bed barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianemlynsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I just camped here for 3 nights and have to say that the views of the Rhinogs from the camping field is spectacular. Dave and Sue are very welcoming and work hard to help you have a great stay. All the facilities are adequate and very rustic as they are converted from existing barns so no 'purpose-built' blocks! The shower was great and we didn't have to pay extra for that. Wifi is also free if you need it. There is also use of microwave, toaster and fridge-freezer in the washroom. The campsite is ideally situated for the Coed-y-Brenin area and the local mountain bike facilities. However, traffic noise from the A470 can be heard from the camping field but, if you don't mind that, it's a great place to camp!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaandBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Great site, very friendly couple that own the site. Go that extra mile to make you feel welcome. Our clothes were drying after a long wet walk and they put a heater in the room to help dry the clothes ! You can't ask for more. Will come again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here as a family and friends group of 13, we used a mix of camping, barn and B&B accomodation, so we really tested these facilities.
The location is excellent, a central base from which to explore both coast and mountain throughout North Wales, with most major places within a reasonably short drive. The hills of the Rhinogs feature heavily across the vista as you look out from your tent each day, and walks start almost at the farm gate, with mountain bike trails available just a mile away at Coed y Brenin. There is even a river at the bottom of the track where if you are lucky you might just be able to land a few wild brown trout.

All the usual facilities are available for those camping or staying in the camping barn, with free wifi thrown in if you position yourself near the farmhouse door or yard. Not ideal when its raining but the very fact its provided at a location where phone signal can be a struggle is a good plus point.
The B&B is a great option for those who do not fancy the camping, the rooms are very clean and bright and provide tea making facilities and a tv to wile away any time you are hiding from the rain. Some of our group took advantage of the continental breakfast and were quite happy with what was provided. I am aware that previous reviews criticise the content of the breakfast but to be honest I have not seen many English (or Welsh) B&B's providing warm eggs, meat platters and cheese boards as part of their breakfast; that truly is a continental touch.

Sue and Dave are excellent hosts and will do all they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, they delight in sharing their vision of the farm and all that they are involved in, including the alpacca troupe !!

We will certainly be revisiting this little idyllic stop over next time we venture into Wales.

Room Tip: The Hayloft middle room is a little smaller than the others, still a nice room but if you have chanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichJCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trawsfynydd
3.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llys Ednowain Heritage Centre & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve

Property: Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve
Address: Cae Gwyn Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4YE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cae Gwyn Farm And Nature Reserve Trawsfynydd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing