We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cae Adda
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
US$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel(Porthmadog)(Great Value!)
US$76
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
US$180
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel(Nant Gwynant)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
54
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitwooden cabindrinking waterfriendly ownerscamping cabinstunning locationshort walknew ownersrecommend it to anyonecoed y breninmountain bikingfirewoodshorefishinglakefreezertoilets
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Took two different groups of Young People there in July and August
Fantastic and well cared for site, friendly and helpful owners
A little slice of heaven that i did not know about until now
Would reccommend to all

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Pine Tipi at Cae Adda Trawsfynydd. This was the most amazingly beautiful spot. The tipi is at the edge of a lake with woodland behind. The children were over the moon with it. The tipi was basic but had all we needed. The wood stove kept the tipi warm and there were mats to sleep on. It only rained once and the water came in a little at the door but it is a tipi after all! There was a dry shed to cook in and to keep your equipment in. Outside there was a picnic table, benches, chairs, a fire pit and a BBQ. All you need for a camping trip. We took a stove but there was a twin ring gas stove there. There was also a rocket stove which we sadly didn't get around to using. We were allowed as much wood to burn as we liked, in with the price of the stay which was £50 per night.
The showers and toilets were clean and there was plenty of hot water. The showers cost £1 for ten minutes which was good value. There was also a communal area where there was a fridge, freezer, microwave, washing machine and kettles for anyone to use.
We met the owners who were incredibly friendly and checked in on us on a couple of occasions to ensure we had all that we needed.
The site is in easy reach of plenty local attractions, including Mount Snowdon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This site is away from all the crowds and is well worth the trip, its position on the edge of Trawsfynydd lake and the far reaching views must be some of the best in North Wales.
Four of us had an excellent time staying in one of the lakeside tipis, it was very well equipped and the wood burner made it very cosy throughout the night.
We spent most of our time fishing 50 yrds from the tipi and spent the evenings cooking and relaxing around the camp fire, what a great way to watch the sunset over the lake!
The site has great facilities which are very clean and the owner Gwyn could not be more helpful.
Can`t wait for our next visit and I`m sure we will bring more friends next time.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the tipis.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Simply Stunning campsite. All you need to reconnect to nature :) basic amenities, but logs to chop to make your campfire, hot clean showers for £1 and even a little kitchen to cook in if the weather turns nasty! Amazing views and great walks around the lake. My new favourite :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rusty1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Girlfriend and I spent 2 consecutive weekends at Cae Adda (3rd visit!!). What a gem in North Wales!! worth the 2H drive from the Midlands. Amazing scenery specially if on the edge of the lake, peace & quiet guaranteed. facilities available (toilets, showers, kitchen) & various walking routes for those who enjoy. The owner Gwyn is an absolute gentleman. Best campsite i've been to and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: if possible choose the lake tipi, you'll get sun from early morning till evening.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank J_Couto1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews