We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday carvery”
Review of The Rhiw Goch Inn

The Rhiw Goch Inn
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bala, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday carvery”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food. Warm welcome .Lovely surroundings. Generous portions . Visited more than once and never disappointed. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    17
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Loved this pub. Reasonable drinks prices. Nice hearty food with great portion sizes.

Friendly welcome and dog friendly.... Perfect relaxation for a couple of wines in the evening :) children enjoyed it too.

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic welcome and great food.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

There is nothing to dislike.
Very friendly accomodating owner and staff. great food served - you must try the Sunday Carvery - superb - but don't have breakfast !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, Cosy Local Inn”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We received a warm and friendly welcome by the staff at this lovely pub. The log fire was just what we needed to dry out after getting soaked all day in the rain. We only intended to go for a drink but the food looked so appetising we ordered a meal and were so glad we did. The portions were enormous and very tasty. We arrived early Saturday evening and got a table in the bar easily, but it soon started to fill up so you may need to book a table if you wanted to eat later. The atmosphere was lovely and it was family and dog friendly. We found out they also do self catering accommodation and have just opened a bunk house so we are hoping to stay there on our next trip with our dogs. Cant wait to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING DINNER”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

2nd visit to the Rhiw Goch. The 1st was poor but we thought to give it another go - wish we hadn't bothered. We booked but there was no record of it. We sat in what is laughingly called the dining room - it is like a military cookhouse (and I have sat in many of them). We both ordered the poached salmon but we got different cuts of fish (one a steak, one a fillet, both very small for £15), both were cold, the side orders were wrong and when we complained we simply got the bill given to us. Never again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rhiw Goch Inn also viewed

Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park
Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park
 
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Rhiw Goch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing