We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view shame about the service”
Review of The Rhiw Goch Inn

The Rhiw Goch Inn
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice view shame about the service”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The view is beautiful but myself and 19 friends attended the Rhiw Goch expecting some good pub grub before a race the following day. An hour and a half later, some were left waiting for food. We were told that the food would be with us in 4 minutes but after 40 minutes, still no food so we decided to leave and ask for a refund. The staff were all very rude and asked to see a receipt when we hadn't even got one in the first place!! No drinks offered while we waited no apology, nothing. Worst service i've ever come across.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Emdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    17
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“View to die for”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Plain but well cooked food in a beautiful setting - may be advisable to book at weekends.

Service is friendly but limited - you are expected to fetch your own drinks from the bar although you are dining

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SC789_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice food, plenty of it, not a trendy pub but they had nice ale, didn't mind the children eating there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food ok, but treated very rudely. ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time we had visited the pub. The food is always ok.. It's not amazing but not terrible. In fact if you pick well of the menu I find it generally good. I had the steak and it was well cooked.

On the other hand the lady who appears the run the restaurant could have not made out evening more unpleasant. We were 11 minutes late and as soon as we arrived we were abruptly told we have 90 minutes left to leave the table as there was another booking. At this time I checked my phone and had 3 missed calls and one voice mail asking where we were! When we booked we were not told there was a time limit on the table. Throughout the meal we were continually reminded if the time limit. Towards the end of the meal when we were offered puddings we were told we could have the table for another 15 minutes. A terrible dining experience overall

Helpful?
3 Thank caam_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday carvery”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food. Warm welcome .Lovely surroundings. Generous portions . Visited more than once and never disappointed. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rhiw Goch Inn also viewed

Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park
Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park
 
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Rhiw Goch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing