We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carling did Pubs...”
Review of Ty Coch Inn

Ty Coch Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Liverpool UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If Carling did Pubs...”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is all about location. We were on the Llyn Peninsula Coastal Path and as you walk Nefyn Golf course you come across this gem. Food and beer was good but the location at the bottom of cliffs on a small sandy beach make it excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baggo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    195
    68
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appauling service”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been there once before and was lovely, however this time we were waiting an hour and a half for a ploughmans and two sandwiches even though people who had come after us were being served hot meals before us and they were not over busy. When we got our food we asked to talk to the man in charge who was very rude with our comments on the service and was very rude telling us to calm down. Then a woman behind the bar was sarcastic and he shouted very loud 'we cant please everyone'. There was no apology and we were made to feel like we were in the wrong. Very dissapointing. However it is a lovely setting and it is a shame we wont be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Isobel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unique pub on the beach”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After a lovely cliff top walk arriving at the pub for a drink and lunch was very welcome. We were lucky the sun was shining and people were sitting outside. However we managed to get a table inside after a short wait. It is really popular so be prepared to stand or share a table. Its a classic small pub inside, shame they have put in a TV but I guess I'm in the minority with this view. Really efficient service behind the bar and after a short wait for food, understandable given the number of customers, we had a very hearty soup, and a sandwich with so much filling it wouldn't stay in the bread! This combo was around £10. Negative for me - the loos, really need an overhaul. However cannot fault the location, views, and food and drink offering. Do check when they are open however, think in the winter it is only on certain days.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nantwichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Literally the best pub in the world”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We go hear by boat at least two or three times each summer.
When the suns shinning and the seas flat the place is amazing.
The landlords a legend, service is first class and the foods excellent eaten on the beach ! Roll on June !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK BUT .....”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Most people probably think of beach bars as a place to relax after a day in the burning sun. This could be the case for Ty Coch on a rare blisteringly hot summer day in North Wales buto a dull and cold day in early November is probably not the ideal time to see it at its best. But as we were nearby we couldn't resist the temptation to visit "the third best beach bar on earth". Getting there involves a long trek over the windy golf course (or via the beach but we chose the golf route). Surprise, when we got there the place was full, and several hardy souls were even having lunch outside on the terrace. We ate inside - the staff were very pleasant and the food OK but overpriced. Was it worth the trek? Well, at least we've been to the "third best beach bar etc etc". Otherwise give me a Bali beach bar anyday!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skankoudamdoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ty Coch Inn also viewed

Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd
 
Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd
 

Been to Ty Coch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing