We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true welsh gem”
Review of Llys Olwen

Llys Olwen
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morfa Nefyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Llys Olwen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morfa Nefyn
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this lovely little guest house which is tucked away in Morfa Nefyn. The area is stunning and the guest house is a beautiful detached house.
The owners were warm and friendly and two of the nicest people you could ever meet.
We were shown up to our room which was very Victorian looking. Lovely and comfy bed, great views and plenty if tea, coffee and hot chocolate plus homemade biscuits.
The room wasn't en suite but this did put us off whatsoever as a bathroom was literally 2 doors away.
We were kindly asked what time we wanted breakfast and if we knew the area.
The owners have a lot of local knowledge of the area and fave us some great tips about where to eat etc.
The breakfast at Llys Olwen was simply fantastic.
We were given a menu and we felt as if nothing was too much trouble.
Briefly there are about 4 courses for breakfast including: dried fruit with honey and yoghurt, full English; which i opted for scrambled eggs and I've never tasted any as delicious as theirs, fluffy and creamy. Then there's toast with homemade jams and preserves and homemade cakes and bread; which as we were far too full to eat, on both days the owners kindly let us take them with us to eat during the day.
All in all we had a perfect stay and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ebo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed three nights and we will happily stay again when we next visit the Lleyn Peninsula.
Excellent welcome, lots of advice on places to eat and drink. Great cooked breakfast with home made rolls and jams (we didn't need lunch during the day, but the home made buns were a treat on our walks). Comfortable double room, but do note there are no en suites.
The Bryncynan Arms and the Ship at Edern are both about 20 minutes walk and are both excellent food pubs with great beer, while the Ty Coch Inn on the beach at Porth Dinllawn is justly a legend.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Uncle_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Warm welcome at this typically welsh decorated B&B. Situated in a quiet location down a quiet lane. We only stayed for one night, but it was everything we needed. We were made to feel welcome and the rooms were clean and comfy. And as stated in the title of my review, the breakfasts were great. Loved the home made bread!!! (Don't forget to ask for a plastic bag for the bread you don't eat!!!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Warm welcome, we were made to feel really at home. Comfy beds, cosy bedding, awesome home baked goods at breakfast, vast selection of home made marmalades. Please look at the cut of bacon and the tinned tomato. We assumed grilled. Our fault maybe :) That's a small niggle. Would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed one night last night with my husband after attending a wedding. Lovely quiet location. Owners made us feel very welcome and were flexible with check in and out times which we found very useful. I would recommend this hotel. Great breakfast. Only down side was that it could do with updating and a bit more cleaning. Overall nice place and great price.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We booked this "guest house" at short notice via email and were a little apprehensive, as there was only a drawing of the building. No need, as it was lovely and in a beautiful, private position with off road parking and great views (especially rooms 5 & 6).
Our room was in good order (8, with sea view) plenty of tea/coffee etc, hanging/draw space, reading material and comfy bed..mmm, no en-suite but a sink in the room and plenty of loo's/bathrooms to hand suffice. Some may baulk at no T.V. but not us, too busy walking or cycling, then eating and sleeping..phew! There was a T.V. in the owners "shared" lounge, as long as you don't mind feet on the coffee table..by the man of the house.
Breakfast was scrummy and the "special" of Salmon with scrambled eggs, went down very well with her ladyship. The lovely homebaked goodies (donation made) were also very much appreciated and enjoyed, as were the homemade preserves. Ann was a great hostess, very helpful and informative.
This is a cracking place to base yourself, especially as Nefyn & District Golf Club is close by, the clfftop walks, beaches and quiet green lanes for cycling...bargain price too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Llys Olwen with 6 golfing friends for 2 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the highlight was the breakfast. Beutifully cooked with a range of home made preserves and the best hash browns I have ever tasted. Freshly baked bread and cakes to take with us, we were extremely well looked after.I would have no hesitation in recoomending Llys Olwen and would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineW1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Llys Olwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Olwen

Address: Morfa Nefyn LL53 6BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Morfa Nefyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morfa Nefyn
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Llys Olwen Morfa Nefyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing