We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lion Hotel(Blaenavon)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
109
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig pitwarm welcomepot of teahost paulcoal mineoff road parkingbreakfast was amazingexcellent accommodationgreat hostshearty breakfasta great place to stayfamily roombrecon beaconson arrivalsteam railwaytake awayfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Good food, spotlessly clean, a 5 star B&B.
Even recommend a brilliant Pub to eat in.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NumquamCedimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was my second trip to Oakfield , a great B&B which in terms of facilities / decor / service etc puts many 5 star hotels to shame . Recommended without hesitation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JakJim1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Oakfield B&B comes highly recommended by all Bleanavon locals. i stayed for three weeks during a project in the area. This was my first time staying in a B&B and didn't know what to expect. It was homely, welcoming, clean and peaceful. Good sized rooms, very friendly hosts and tasty breakfasts. Heidi & Paul went above & beyond what you would usually expect going out of their way to make all guests welcome not only in the B&B but in the town of Blaenavon. Thank you for giving me a home from home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsquine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I chose this B&B for it's location close to the town... It is a short walk (Albeit over a lot of hills) to the town, and it's pubs.

Right from the start, Paul and Heidi made me feel very welcome, and I had a large, comfortable, well furnished room. The bathroom was spotless, and very nicely fitted out. Breakfast was lovely, and after the first day, when Paul realised that I liked mustard on my sausages, there was the mustard pot there on my table waiting... Only a very small point, but it showed that they were attentive to their guests.

The oakfield is well placed to visit the Blaenavon and Pontypool Railway, the Ironworks, and of course the Big Pit - Which was the main reason I went up their in the first place. If I could have been bothered to drive aout, then there appear to be many more places worth a visit!

Despite being very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, they were able to give me the space I wanted when on holiday. All in all, they were the perfect hosts, of a lovely establishment in a great location.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The Oakfield B & B exceeded all expectations for friendliness, a good breakfast, on-site (off street) car-parking, cleanliness, pleasant surrounds and tasteful decor! Definitely a place to return to when in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WenzandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews