We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
120
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big pit warm welcome pot of tea off road parking host paul coal mine breakfast was amazing a great place to stay excellent stay family room feel very welcome full welsh breakfast entire house welsh cakes on arrival couple of nights comfy bed heritage centre
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Paul is a superb host and went out of his way to heat plates for our evening take away meal and tell us the best place to park for the Eisteddford. The B&B was so clean and crisp we instantly felt able to relax. Make the most of your visit by going down the Big Pit and asking the miner all about it, learn a little Welsh and try it out in advance with Paul, go on the steam train and photo the fixtures and fittings, loose yourself in the cottages at the steel works and then get the BBC DVD 'Coal House'...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryveryvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Paul, the owner does an amazing job of making you feel welcome. He made us a pot of tea when we arrived, conferenced with us individually to discuss what we each wanted for breakfast and helped us find an awesome restaurant for dinner. WHEN we return to Wales we will be sure to stay with Paul at the Oakfield B&B. If you are visiting you've got to make a stop by Big Pit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

An excellent base from which to conduct my weekend househunting in the area. Host Paul, who served magnificent breakfasts, gave me a much greater awareness of the history and development of the area. A very comfortable room with bathroom completed the package - thank you for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMWMIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We had a wonderful welcome from Mr. Scourfield. Very warm and friendly atmosphere.
Accommodation was absolutely first class. Breakfast - Delicious each morning and Mr. & Mrs Scourfield had thought of everything. We didn't have to ask for a thing.
Our room and ensuite was warm exceptionally clean and comfortable. We will definitely go back if occasion arises.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

An absolutely fantastic BnB hidden away in the south Welsh town of Blaenavon.
The owner Paul and his wife are of a warm and polite nature, full of local knowledge and history. There is much in terms of local attrctions from one of the world heritage sites, such as the big pit coal mine museum, which is free by the way.

Rooms at the oakfield are of adequate size and come attached with an ensuite toilet and shower. both of which are in excellent condition. They also posses a double room designed to occupy a larger family with a separate bathroom.
All rooms are well decorated with much thought put in the design and final touches.
The downstairs living room with sky tv is made available to all guests and has a very comfy feel.

The Full Breakfast is one of the best i have ever had and would urge the traveller to take a fancy as it Wont disappoint.

Availabilty for Off road parking is also a big plus.

Bad points are very few to none. I had spent some 6 weeks with them and did not have that "so far away from home" feeling. recommend highly to all ages.

Kam

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews