We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cake”

Blaenavon World Heritage Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 things to do in Blaenavon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World Heritage Centre is situated in Blaenavon itself, within the historic former St. Peter’s Church School, founded in 1816, and is the starting point for your visit to the whole Blaenavon World Heritage Site. The former heavy industries left their mark on the environment, which is full of hidden treasures to be discovered after learning what this incredible valley has to offer. St Peter's School, founded by Sarah Hopkins for the education of iron workers' children was the first school of its type in Wales. The visitor (whether tourist or group organiser) will find information on the World Heritage Site, its history and how it can be viewed today as well as a Tourist Information Centre. The main exhibition follows the words of historical characters so that visitors can gain an insight into the daily lives of ordinary people and understand the changes that they experienced during the 19th century. Self-led visits to explore the Blaenavon World Heritage Centre are free of charge.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice cake”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Was very hard to find using the map given at the big pit . Not much to see really but the homage cake and drink was a very welcome reason to stop there during our heritage day out .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our venue and cafe - I'm glad that you enjoyed it as part of your trip in the World heritage Site! The cakes here really are a must.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

There is so much to see. We are lucky, in Wales, to have this heritage which has been saved for future generations to see as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank McKenzie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right that there is a vast amount of heritage in this country but Blaenavon is one of only three World Heritage Sites in Wales. But there's a lot to see here to make an extended visit enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“1st class heritage centre and cafe in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Set in the beautiful town of Blaenavon, this heritage centre is a real jewel. Fascinating displays, videos, and exhibitions, topped off by a lovely cafe. The staff here are excellent and are real ambassadors for Wales and the surrounding area. If you're visiting Big Pit and the Ironworks, make this your first call.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dalekracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We're delighted that you've taken the time to review us and thank you for your kind words. We do encourage people to visit the Centre first so they can understand the whole of the Bleanavon Area and get more from their visits to the other main sites. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe at the Blaenavon World Heritage Centre”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I went to the cafe yesterday for 'brunch'. I have visited here before and the welcome and service was as good as always.
The menu has a variety of meals and snacks available, including breakfasts, sandwiches/baguettes, omelettes, baked potatoes and cakes.
This time, as well as a generous pot of tea, I had the vegetarian breakfast (glamorgan sausages, baked beans, fried egg, mushrooms, hash browns and two slices of toast and butter) which was cooked freshly to order.
The cafe was clean, you could stay as long as you wanted as they didn't rush you to leave (which was a good thing as I got engrossed in some sketching while waiting for my tea and food and then while finishing my tea).
The staff were friendly and courteous.
I would highly recommend it for a drink, a light snack or an unpretentious meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our cafe. We are as much a local cafe as a tourist attraction and have a strong local following throughout the year. I'm glad you took the time to sketch the view, it is possibly the best in Blaenavon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, helpful people and great food!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

These people went above and beyond in helping us!! Even helped me locate the college (long gone) my great, great grandfather had attended!

Really great historical overview of the area, your best first stop to tour the heritage sites!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teachur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We're glad that we were able to help you on your visit to our historic town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blaenavon World Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Blaenavon World Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing