We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly done”

Blaenavon World Heritage Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 things to do in Blaenavon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World Heritage Centre is situated in Blaenavon itself, within the historic former St. Peter’s Church School, founded in 1816, and is the starting point for your visit to the whole Blaenavon World Heritage Site. The former heavy industries left their mark on the environment, which is full of hidden treasures to be discovered after learning what this incredible valley has to offer. St Peter's School, founded by Sarah Hopkins for the education of iron workers' children was the first school of its type in Wales. The visitor (whether tourist or group organiser) will find information on the World Heritage Site, its history and how it can be viewed today as well as a Tourist Information Centre. The main exhibition follows the words of historical characters so that visitors can gain an insight into the daily lives of ordinary people and understand the changes that they experienced during the 19th century. Self-led visits to explore the Blaenavon World Heritage Centre are free of charge.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superbly done”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a lovely little visitor centre. It has one purpose in mind, explaining the story of Blaenavon, its history and people, and it does that incredibly well. I found myself going round the room reading the timeline and events on the wall before settling down and playing with the interactive screens. And yes I couldn’t make ends me. A good hour well spent and much appreciate how abused these people were.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review of the World Heritage Centre and we're delighted you thought it so good. We do encourage visitors to Blaenavon to visit us first so they can better understand the context of the other attractions in the area and the harsh life that many of Blaenavon's past inhabitants experienced. More interpretation is being installed in the next few weeks so we hope you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lots of information, lovely cafe, friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent a day in Blaenavon visiting the town and various attractions. This is the place to start for all the information you need, maps etc. However the only parking directly outside is for disabled persons. We parked up the hill at the Ironworks and walked down to the Heritage centre.

The heritage centre has a lovely cafe with great views, we had a light lunch here which was freshly prepared and excellent value for money.

It has an introductory film which explains all about how important the area was at the start of the industrial revolution, then there is a room with a timeline giving you information about the local history right up to the present day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank karenjaynecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We strongly suggest that all visitors do start their tour of Blaenavon and its attractions here so the whole World heritage Site is put into context and aids enjoyment and understanding. Our cafe is always popular and especially so on sunny days with such stunning views!

More interpretation is being installed in the next few weeks so p,ease do come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heritage centre”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very informative, friendly staff at the heritage centre. Great local crafts for sale, bought a fantastic Welsh cwtch cushion!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Visitor Centre and we're pleased you found our staff helpful and friendly. Our local products are certainly the most popular and the handmade cushions are best sellers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is done very well. With a visit for the tea and cake”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Party of the overall Welsh heritage trail in this area. Done very well and properly. Good cafe if you have already lunched at the big pit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Our cafe is certainly popular with great views of the valley and Big Pit too. Also, watch out for some new features in the World Heritage Centre in 2014......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting history centre and gallery in an old stone-built school”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This centre gives an overview of Blaenavon's amazing story as a cradle of the British Indsutrial Revolution. Set in an evocative location of the former Church School. There are photographs, interactive screens and, upstairs, a gallery which hosts a variety of exhibitions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks for your review of our Heritage Centre. We hope in the next few months that there will be further developments in the way we tell the Blaenavon story and the World impact this small town had. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blaenavon World Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Blaenavon World Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing